We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gloomy design”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Hotel Grims Grenka
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gloomy design”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

You have to be really keen on design to give this hotel a good rating. If you like darkly furnished rooms, minimalistic designer light fixtures and bird size main courses, this hotel is for you.

The fancy shower didn't work, so we had to use the hand held alternative. The light over the sink was so minimalistic that you had to put on your makeup in semi darkness. The tv (Bang&Olufsen, of course) could possibly be swung so that you could watch from the bed, but we couldn't figure out how.

The biggest disappointment, though, was the so-called three course meal. The appetizer was a one-bite duck something (uncertain as to what - overheard other guest question it, too). The main course was smaller than a normal appetizer. The desert was good and reasonably portioned.

On the plus side: good location, really good mattress (Jensen, of course - but the fancy heating system was out of order - we were not able to turn down the heat at night), and friendly staff. Also, the breakfast was really good (we were starved due to the stingy dinner the night before).

Room Tip: We were told that we got an upgraded room - hate to think what a normal room looks like. The uncomfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuclearfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    213
    152
    94
    53
See reviews for
66
318
45
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

At my short overnight stay in Oslo, I ended up at Grims Grenka. From the time I set foot in the hotel, I felt extremely welcome by the staff. Check-in went great. The interior of the hotel is elegant and consistent throughout the hotel. The room was nice furnished and the bed was probably one of the best I have ever slept in at a hotel. The breakfast and the breakfast staff also topped the stay. The hotel show some sign of wear and tear after some years since last renovation, but all in all I can absolutely recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure stays in Oslo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just spent the weekend at Grims Grenka. You can read my first review that I posted after a stay last June. I had some issues with the room. Not on this trip, staying in a autumn suite. These suites might not be the cheapest, but I think for Oslo they offer good value and are well worth the extra money.

The rooms are very big. With a 8 seater dining table. L shaped settee, great beds. The bathroom is lovely with bath and separate shower. The toilet is also separate to the bathroom, which is a nice plus. It really made up for our last visit, and we have a more rounded view of what this hotel can offer.

The breakfast has always been consistently good here and the staff really go the extra mile to help, always friendly and welcoming. If you can afford to stay in a suite, you should.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MysticManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in a large 70 m2 suite. Large bathroom with both bathtub and shower and a fantastic Jensen bed. Great location close to Akershus castle, Aker Brygge, shopping centers and many restaurants. Public transportation by underground is only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast was very good. Nice & friendly staff. Overall a very enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Just sitting in the bar at Grims Grenka on a Sunday night. As expected its very quite but just enjoyed a beer at the lobby bar.

The main restaurant is close on a Sunday - its a raw food affair and said to be very popular. The lobby bar serves a sensible range of food for example Fish Chowder, standard cheese burger and a lamb shank. I've just had the lamb shank and served with creamed potatoes, set off by truffle foam and veg. Good food not the best but completely acceptable for a hotel bar on a Sunday.

Rooms are not cheap (this is Oslo) and I'd recommend getting a winter room if you can afford it. The basic room is fine but the winter rooms have a little more space.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Grims Grenka staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and attentive.

The hotel is very aesthetically charged, occasionally to the detriment of lighting, but a great example of a design hotel. We were upgraded to an incredible suite and our room overlooked the central lobby. Spacious bed, fantastic bathroom and plenty of space for the Oslo shopping purchases.

The traditional Nordic breakfast was delicious and the lobby/bar area were great to hang out in, with great attractions only a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svelvik, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have just been in one of the suites and it was a outstanding! unbelivebel beds, and plenty of room. The breakfast was really god. You have to be there yourself just to experience it!
it is very near the big shopping streets and transportation, easy to find other restaurants.
Dice 6!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linnmari75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
First Hotel Millennium
First Hotel Millennium
#47 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Grims Grenka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Grims Grenka

Property: First Hotel Grims Grenka
Address: Kongens gate 5, Oslo 0153, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Oslo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — First Hotel Grims Grenka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Grims Grenka in Oslo city center is no ordinary hotel. The design of the hotel creates a special atmosphere for its guests, one that needs to be experienced. The hotel has 65 rooms, all of which are larger than 20 square meters and offer high quality facilities such as Jensen beds, Samsung LED Smart TVs and personalized light controls. Hotel guests can also enjoy one of the very few rooftop terraces Oslo has to offer. Grims Grenka's own roof top lounge: Q Lounge. When the weather gets hot the drinks get even hotter. First Hotel Grims Grenka is a well-known design hotel to the citizens of Oslo. Press-conferences, photo shoots, product launches, parties and other events are frequently held at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Grims Grenka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Grims Grenka
First Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing