We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Hotel Grims Grenka
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

To be honest this was one of the worst experiences I have ever had in a hotel.

I won´t comment on the price level since compared to almost every other country Norway is just really expensive.

This is a really beaten up "design" hotel with a semi bad location with several serious problems. The rooms are in poor condition, the service is beyond all standards (try getting a cup of coffee) and frankly the staff are nowhere to be found, the breakfast was a big joke with food running out before the breakfast was suppose to end, the rooms were so poorly cleaned that our room had some stuff that the previous client had left, the shower was broken ... and the list goes on.

Yes, we did complain while we stayed at the hotel and yes, they gave us a discount. I also wrote a letter of complaint to First Hotels. First Hotels chose never to answer my letter but instead as an insult to injury they just listed me without my permission to their loyalty program and started spamming.

Oslo is a beautiful and nice city. You should not spoil your trip to Norway with this hotel. Avoid.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tämer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, General Manager at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Tangobeam,

We are really sorry that your stay with us was not up to standard. What you have experienced does by no means reflect the profile First Hotel Grims Grenka is known for.
We take pride in our great staff and rich delicious breakfast, as well as our popular rooms.
As a standard, coffee is free of charge 24h from our Nespresso macine in the lobby. All our suites also have this facility, so do breakfast/restaurant.
I assure you, your concerns have not been ignored. We have reviewed our ruitines in order to make necessary improvements based on your comments.
Thank you for voicing your concerns. Guest feedback provides us with the best opportunities to improve.

Yours Sincerely,

Linda Søvik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    216
    158
    96
    53
See reviews for
67
319
46
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wachtebeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for three nights at this so-called Design Hotel, and were slightly disappointed on the stay.
It all starts at the promises made on the website: recently renovated Winter Lounge Rooms, B&O televisions, a rooftop terrace open until the end of September.
However, when we arrived there the first room we got, was all but renovated: although nicely cleaned, it seemed like it already had quite some hard times. It took us some persistence at the reception to get another room (first they stated not all these room were renovated - we off course had already discovered that). The second room was a lot better, although not located to a quiet street, as they state, but with a very close view to another building. We decided to stay in that room because they made the effort to switch us.
B&O televisions is not entirely true either: it seems they are currently replaced by LG ones, which have a rather lower image quality, if you ask me.
The beds on the other hand are truly fantastic. These Jensen beds really are amazing. It was great sleeping in them. A pity the rooms are not really sound proof: we could hear the high heels from upstairs, and the vacuum cleaning in the hallway very well.

The breakfast was fantastic though, with great choice, high quality food & energy drinks. The staff at this point was very helpful and engaged.

The rooftop terrace (Q Lounge), which is stated on their website was closed too. I can understand it's not open on rainy days, but we had three days of great dry weather in Oslo, and it didn't open one of these days. We didn't really ask, but I think the restaurant linked to the hotel was closed every evening too.

The neighborhood of the hotel is great during the day: close to the city, practically next to the Architecture Museum (a must do!) and the contemporary arts museum. However, at night it becomes a popular street for prostitutes, which makes walking up to your car (at a nearby but expensive car park), an adventure as such.

All in all, it makes that this is an OK hotel (although labeling it 'Design' is overrated), but really too expensive for what it offers, definitely in September.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

In our first visit to Oslo, we followed a friend suggestion to stay in the Grims Grenka and do not regret to have done it. The building is modern, well decorated and a very attentive and proactive staff takes good care of guests. Cleaning is impeccable, rooms comfortable, baths have the best showers ever with warm floors. Breakfast are very good except that decaf coffee was not available. Hotel´s location is excellent, walking distance from anything and, since Oslo is a small city, everything is at hand. I will definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel´s area is not noisy so i believe any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndealmenara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A nice hotel. But some flaws. The check-in took 15 minutes. I had to wait without anybody at the desk. Nice and clean rooms. Excellent breakfast. Ok bar. Somewhat expensive compared to overall quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were looking for a hotel in Oslo in a bit of a hurry, and Grims Grenka was the most affordable we found.

The location was excellent: walking distance to the Opera house, railway station, bus station, the harbour area with the city hall... My husband and I like to walk, so we also went to Vigeland park by foot. Many nice restaurants and shops also nearby.

Our room had window to the lobby instead of the street, so it was darker and dimmer than we expected. Otherwise, the room was very modern. Nice and clean bathroom with good selection of soaps etc. Bed was comfortable, and it was really silent (once in a while it felt we were the only visitors!).

The breakfast was included and it was the best hotel breakfast I have ever had. My mouth is still watering when I'm thinking about it!

The staff was super helpful, printing us instructions how to get to one attraction in difficult location. They were always smiling and greeting us. In the last day, our bus left already around 4.30 am to the airport, and the girl in the reception brought us "take away breakfast" without asking.

If I ever go to Oslo again, I will definitely stay in First Hotel Grims Grenka!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anni2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Where to begin... The hotel does so many things nearly right, but nothing well. Desk staff is sincere but useless... How can they not know where the nearest metro stop is, or which tram to take to the sculpture park? Or if there is a nearby restaurant open after 21:00.. Lobby is chic till you see the art work which is dreadful. Rooms are chic till you cant see in the bathroom or figure out how to sort out the lighting system ( no simple on or off buttons but buttons that say things like Work and Party, seriously.. party? No a disco ball doesn't drop, so I don't get the point ). Shower is difficult to operate at first, though it looks good, however once you get it working it splashes water all over bathroom floor even though there is a door. No Bell staff. No check in before 3pm even if the hotel is empty, even though most flights arrive in the morning. Large rooms but dim lighting, and no outside light, so one wonders what the weather is like ... coolish design but odd proportions. Does it beat anything else on offer in Oslo .. Yes.. is it all it wants to be or should be? .. not even close ... but then for 200 a night .. I should just shut up.

Room Tip: your guess is as good as mine .. though one with an outside view would help with dictating the weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoshuaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was the last hotel on our holiday in Norway and we thought we would want to have a really nice hotel to end the trip.
It looked really great on the Internet and so we were prepared to pay considerably more than on the other hotels. What a stupid idea.

We arrived at 14.30 and were informed, that no room was available until 16.00

When we came back at16.00 it took us nearly 30 minutes to check in because the girl at the reception took for ever to deal with 3 people in front of us. When she finally turned to us she tried to get phone numbers and email addresses from us and insisted at first that this was obligatory for the checking in process. When I asked what they needed the information for she said it was for later communication. Only when I demanded to speak to the manager she would let us check in without handing out this information.

The room was very large in very modern design but completely without soul. Dark brown and grey and not a single picture on the wall. The heating in the bathroom and in the toilet were broken, both rooms were boiling hot and the temperature could not be turned down. One visit to the toilet and I was drenched with sweat. We told the reception but they could not fix it and another room was not available.

Then we inspected the minibar and discovered that there were two empty bottles in there and we had a hard time to explain to the useless reception person that we did not have this drinks and that we were not prepared to pay for them.

The only window in the room went to a dark little backyard and could not be opened.

Bedding and matrasses were dreadful.

At first glance breakfast looked good but when inspected more closely everything was of mediocre quality

All in all a hotel wich tries to be a top design hotel and does not at all reach these expectations and is highly overpriced.

Do not go there

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dilworth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
First Hotel Millennium
First Hotel Millennium
#51 of 100 in Oslo
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
778 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Grand Hotel
#14 of 100 in Oslo
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Grims Grenka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Grims Grenka

Property: First Hotel Grims Grenka
Address: Kongens gate 5, Oslo 0153, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Oslo
#22 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — First Hotel Grims Grenka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Grims Grenka in Oslo city center is no ordinary hotel. The design of the hotel creates a special atmosphere for its guests, one that needs to be experienced. The hotel has 65 rooms, all of which are larger than 20 square meters and offer high quality facilities such as Jensen beds, Samsung LED Smart TVs and personalized light controls. Hotel guests can also enjoy one of the very few rooftop terraces Oslo has to offer. Grims Grenka's own roof top lounge: Q Lounge. When the weather gets hot the drinks get even hotter. First Hotel Grims Grenka is a well-known design hotel to the citizens of Oslo. Press-conferences, photo shoots, product launches, parties and other events are frequently held at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your First Hotel Grims Grenka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Grims Grenka
First Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing