We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frogner House Apartments
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 25, 2014

If you are visiting Oslo for longer than 2 days, Frogner is indeed a home away from home. It is absolutely wonderful and homely. The location is perfect, 10 minutes walk to Oslo City. You should try it your self. All the best.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Good Morning Allene,
Thank you for your review! We are glad you had a good time staying with us.
Welcome back!
Kind Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 624 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned home from a trip to Oslo/Norway. Stayed for a week at the Skovveien 8 location (main building with the front desk).

Very friendly and helpful staff, easy check in and check out, and wonderful decor. The location was perfect; 15 minute walk from Oslo Central train station (great for day trips via the train around Norway and easy access to the Olso and Sandefjord airports), a 2 minute walk to the Royal Palace, and a 10 minute walk to Frogner Park/Vigelandsparken. There was a grocery store practically beside the hotel which was great as we cooked the majority of our meals in the well equipped kitchen in our apartment; the tea kettle boiled water so fast!

There were no loud bars or night clubs (we had an apartment over looking the street) near by and there was very little night time traffic, basically we had a peaceful sleep every night.

Would recommend this hotel/apartment to anyone staying in Oslo for more than a couple of days.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Sarah,
Thank you for your review!
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Frogner House as well as the location. We hope we will be able to welcome you back one day.
Kind Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

- i do not see the necessity to get 1500 kr. deposit from customers, i stayed in apartments before and was never asked to pay a deposit.
- the internet access is given for one person/one device, if one person has two devices (laptop + mobile device) then you have to sign off one in order to sign in the other. i find this a bit odd, especially in a geography where internet reach is easier in almost all hotels.
- 3PM check-in is late
- there was only one small bar of soap that was given for three people and it was never renewed the next day. i find this really odd. this is just soap, a very cheap item...
- we made the reservation for three people and whe we first came to the room we saw there was not an extra bed for the third person. we had to ask the reservation desk and it took en extra half an hour to arrange an extra bed, i wish this was arranged beforehand without us having to ask.
- there was a device hidden in the open kitchen cupboard that made a continuous humming noise that may prevent one from sleeping comfortably.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muratgermen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Good Morning,
Thank you for your review and for your valuable feedback on how we can improve our services.
regarding the extra bed it should of course have been prepared for you before your arrival, and I apologize that this was missed this time.
regarding the humming noise in the kitchen we have had our janitors to look at this and get it fixed.
Kind Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This small hotel is very beautifully decorated.
I stayed at the top floor in a reasonable sized bedroom with a great bathroom. There's a queen bed a small rounded table and a kitchenette, which was very helpful. There's a market just around the corner where we could buy everything we needed for preparing our meals.
We missed simple stuff that would made everything perfect: instructions on how to operate the oven (first time I had to go after someone to help me turn it on) and hangers in the bathroom (it was very spacious but there's no place to put your stuff).
I didn't like that I had to share a queen bed with my mom, apparently the hotel don't have rooms with two separate single beds. I asked for it when I booked and again at the front office, but they said they didn't have them.
Be aware that there's no one at the hotel from 11pm to 08am, so it's not good for people arriving on those hours.
Overall, it's a great location and a modern, clean hotel.
I would come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip_marylet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your review.
we are happy to hear that you liked the interior of Frogner House, and that you overall had a good stay. We are currently working on imrpovements,and since your stay in June we have now started with a 24/7 hours open reception, so if anyone arrives late they will have the night duty assisting them with check in. We do have a few studi apartments were we can make the double beds into single beds, and I am sorry we did not have any available for your stay.
Kind Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very clean apartment. Warm welcome by the receptionist and at home in an instant.
Only thing I missed in the studio was a chair to work at the desk and a powerplug other than for the lights. Located near City center with the Royal Palace around the corner.

Room Tip: all rooms are excelent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerrit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Gerrit,
Thank you for your feedback. We value your comments and will take them in consideration for future improvements.
We hope to see you back one day!
Kind Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Traveling for business can be stressful and exhausting, but the staff at the Frogner house made me feel at home in a new city as soon as I arrived. As a first time visitor to Oslo, I found the central location of the hotel excellent as I was able to walk anywhere in the city within 10-20 minutes. Staff were able to provide me with directions and advice that proved very useful. The suite itself was well appointed and furnished. The bed and amenities were comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Oslo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenFerguson545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Darren,
Thank you for your review!
It makes us very happy to hear that we were able to create an little more relaxed atmosphere on your business trip, and that you enjoyed staying with us.
Should business bring you back to Oslo again, please do not hesitate to contact us, we will be glad to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The apartment is well decorated and the facilities; lounge downstairs, kitchen within the apartment, launderette are very helpful.

We travelled to the apartments via tram (no 12 outside the Oslo train station on the left side of the building) and stopped at 'Niel Juels' tram stop before walking 5 mins to the apartment.

Oslo is not very big and I think we would have walked the whole city was it not for the snow everywhere when we were here in January 2014.

There are shops and restaurants, supermarket, 7-11, mc donalds and a lot of other shops around the area.

We read reviews before booking the place and it we really liked the place. Yes the shower does get messy as the shower doors does not keep the water in, and I couldn't see any plugs on the kitchen table, so if you wanted to use the kettle, toaster or coffee machine provided, you had to put it on the floor.

But the deco and the layout of the room is so nice and felt like we almost could move in here for a month. It is refreshing to have stayed here away from hotels, since we were travelling a total of 16 days through Europe.

Would recommend and would return as the price was very competitive in Oslo.

Room Tip: Since the room is on a side street, the noise was not that noticable. We stayed in room 308 (place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Good Morning,
Thank you for taking of your time to write a review! We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could feel Home away from home.
We hope that you enjoyed your trip through Europe, and we hope to see you as a guest at Frogner House in the future!
Best Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
866 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#21 of 102 in Oslo
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oslo
397 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogner House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogner House Apartments

Address: Skovveien 8, Oslo 0257, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Oslo
#6 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $107 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frogner House Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogner House offers you fully furnished serviced apartments imbued with more than 100 years' worth of homey atmosphere in the very heart of the most up-market neighbourhood in Oslo, Frogner.We offer Free WIFI, free laundry facilities, breakfast delivery to your door, and the comfort and freedom you appreciate in your own home.Your home when you are not! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frogner House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frogner House Hotel Oslo
Frogner Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing