We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Viking Ship Museum
from $68.04
More Info
from $92.62
More Info
Reviews (9,949)
Filter reviews
9,949 results
Traveler rating
4,996
3,404
1,255
246
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,996
3,404
1,255
246
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews artifacts burial boats history ship ferry video bygdoy wood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
585 - 590 of 9,949 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2019 via mobile

We took the nice ferry ride to this area under the beautiful summer weather in Oslo. The museum is about 15 minutes walking from the ferry docking station. It has lots of information about the history of the Viking and some ancient artifacts inside the museum. Don't forget the colorful slide shows and high tops areas for better view of the ships. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank hvu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

My wife and I took the superb public transport to the museum. When we arrived there must have been 20 plus coaches in the car park and more coaches were arriving all the time. The display consisted of three longboats, three sledges and a range of artefacts around the walls in glass fronted displays. There was a laser light display which lasted around a minute which had to be decoded if one was to understand it. We expected a film show of the archaeological excavation of one of the boats and another film show of a replica being constructed but there was nothing. Very, very poor for a museum not worth visiting.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank DungeonMechanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

If you have the slightest interest in Viking history and/or ship building and sea faring, this is a must-see museum. The sheer size and beauty of these incredible ships is breathtaking, and the stories of their discovery and restoration is fascinating. They bring to life the incredible saga of the Viking era in a vibrant and tangible way.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank ENCsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019 via mobile

This museum offers good exterior views but is crowded at most times and does not flow well. They tried adding a few video experiences to make up for the inability to board the ships like in other museums.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank SteveZ739
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2019 via mobile

A little inconvenient to get to if you are staying in the city center. We took the ferry across, but it is a little bit of a walk after you get off. Very do-able but something to be mindful of if traveling with older guests. Learned a lot, and I knew nothing about Viking burials so I definitely thought it was worthwhile. You can't bring big bags in, but lockers are free at the entrance. Also, a ticket got you entrance into the historic museum as well. If you intended to visit other museums, the Oslo pass is a good deal, as it includes a bunch of museums + bus/metro/ferry/train transportation for a set number of hours too

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank D6086QUnicolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews