We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tiny and Marvellous Museum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viking Ship Museum

Viking Ship Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.49*
and up
Oslo Walking Tour Including visit to Vigeland Park
Ranked #10 of 388 things to do in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Viking Ship Museum houses best preserved Viking ship in the world. These ocean-going vessels were drawn on shore and used at burial ships. The Museum also displays some of the fantastic gifts that were given to the deceased to use in the afterlife. Closed: 24-26 December; 31 December; 1 January.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Tiny and Marvellous Museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I took a bus in the early freezing morning of December'08 to Bygdoy Island. The place is magic. The museum is very interesting, despite its small size, and further the fact I do love Nordic History. There are three huge Viking ships and some infos about them, and some tools, and a lot of other objects and their stories. You have to pay a little tax to get into (I can't remember how much, I think it's about 10 krones). I liked it pretty much!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,688
    2,072
    827
    144
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“super cool place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Really cool artifacts and other viking type stuff. Considering how long ago this era really was they have some rather well preserved/reconditioned items. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
148 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Amazing history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This museum came highly recommended by family, so we went. The history is fascinating and the fact that most has been unearthed and pieced together, making the stuff here REAL, not a model. One downer is the information. All information is via smartphone. You scan the bar code and it takes you to a website and plays an audio clip about what you see. The museum does provide free WiFi, but this is a bit of a pain. The assumption is that everyone has a smartphone and a scanner app installed. Just give me or sell me a well written guide to the exhibits. Even as incredible the museum is, I felt they sold themselves short. This museum could easily be four times the size showing the history of Viking sea navigation. Maybe it is lack of funds, or a desire to stay focused on the specific boats they do have.

Either way, I didn’t feel cheated. I thought the museum was incredible, and would recommend it to everyone else.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 47Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A unique museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Well preserved viking ships and artefacts - truly breathtaking. Friendly staff who were very informative.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BegbrokeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome ship. Lackluster presentation.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

It was incredible to see the Viking ships and learn about the people and artifacts buried along with them. That being said, I was able to see everything there was to see in almost 15 minutes. The museum is put together quite carelessly and no detail is presented about viking life or anything about Norway's history past these two ships. Disappointing. A lot of potential.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viking Ship Museum also viewed

 

Been to Viking Ship Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing