We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talent!”
Review of Munch Museum

Munch Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.45*
and up
Visit Oslo Pass
Ranked #35 of 394 things to do in Oslo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Edvard Munch bequeathed a large portion of his work to the city before his death in 1940, and this museum is the result. It contains books, paintings, drawings, scuptures and letters. The Munch Museums have changing exhibitions. Please see website for updated exhibition program.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Talent!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We are not art wizzes but we so enjoyed this for many reasons. Going to an art gallery/museum with three children aged 7, 5, 2 can be...daunting. But, they have a treasure hunt for kids and even a drawing area at the end where they got to draw and display their works of art. The display of Munch's work is accompanied by interesting information on the different stages of his life and career. The shop sels a good variety of prints.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    473
    331
    147
    70
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A must for anyone interested in art”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Contains a wide range of Munch's work, including preliminary sketches. Works in various materials, crayon, watercolours, etchings, woodcuts, etc. Also many illustrations for Ibsen's plays. Shop with prints, etc. and a lovely coffee shop with snacks and cakes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart - Caroli... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Feeling Munch?”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Munch may be known for his paintings "the scream" and "Madonna". As walking through the museum, you will find that Munch is an interesting artist. I am not an expert at all, I felt that Munch was very good at characterizing people's feeling and emotion in his art work rather than complicated painting techniques. I think "the scream" is an excellent example. In this painting, everything including the person (main character) is very simplified, but his feeling is clearly transferred to us. Personally, I like his art work titled "sick child".
I visited this museum twice (one in July 2002 and another in Aug. 2013). Interestingly, both days were raining and moody … perfect weather to visit Munch museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sukgeun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A bit chaotic and not user friendly.”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Me and my husband are both interested in art, but for me this museum was a let down. I didn't like the way they had put the information about the different parts of Munchs life and his paintings. An example: they had put black text on dark blue walls. That may seem like a tiny detail, but for me the experience of a museum is not only the art but also how the museum makes the environment visitor friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Impressive!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

For Munch's works lovers this is the place. The museum is located a little bit far from city center but you can reach there by subway. A large and impressive collection of Munch works. The museum is located in a calm and beautiful place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ccabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munch Museum also viewed

 

Been to Munch Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing