We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant lunch”
Review of Albert Bistro

Albert Bistro
Ranked #144 of 1,560 Restaurants in Oslo
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Barbecue, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: When the French crave a simple and honest meal, a neighborhood bistro is nearly always their destination. In a lively yet intimate environment, locals and visitors dine on simple French dishes. At Albert Bistro we love this style of food and gives our own interpretation of classic dishes.With a great view of Akershus Fortress and the marina, Albert Bistro is a casual but stylish neighborhood cafe with tempting French classics on the menu.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a lovely lunch outside on patio. The waiter was very friendly and we had a very nice salad and sandwich.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jess1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Albert Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you so much for rating us on TripAdvisor - we appreciate all your comments, and hope for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards
Therese Bergerud
Bookingmanager
Albert Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 160 of 392 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

Visited here with a friend on our last evening in Oslo. The menu was great from outside and drew us in; a classic French bistro menu that looked to be delivered well. Front of house kept people waiting for quite a while and there was no obvious reason for this; there were many tables free. It appeared that perhaps there were too few employees on the floor to cope with the restaurant which wasn't even full.

The decor is beautiful. The restaurant was spotlessly clean and the location at the waterfront is amazing.

The staff we did meet were really friendly and helpful, spoke excellent English (unfortunately our Norwegian is effectively non-existent) and seemed happy at work. Simple things like bringing water to the table would have been appreciated. It took us about 10 minutes to get anybody's attention to ask for this (see above comment re having too few employees on the floor).

We both ordered foie gras for our starter. I was disappointed that this came fried (I love foie gras but eating it fried makes me feel a bit nauseous - gooey) and this hadn't been specified on the menu. We both enjoyed our main courses, although mine initially came with the wrong sauce. For dessert we shared petits fours and these were very disappointing. The chocolate offerings were tasty, but the lemon jelly was extremely bitter and tart and seemed very out of place.

This place has all of the ingredients of an excellent restaurant, but I probably wouldn't come back in light of the above points.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jmnire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Albert Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time write this lovely review and share your experience with other travelers. We constantly strive to improve our services and it is always refreshing to receive positive comments from our guests, so thank you!.
We look forward to see you again the next time you are in Oslo.

Most sincerely,
Therese Bergerud
Bookingmanager
Albert Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We visited on Saturday night. Having walked along the harbour area, Albert Bistro seemed to have the most reasonable prices for what we have seen and their menu had salmon on offer (what I set out to eat that evening), so we went in.
The restaurant has a very cosy furnishings with a few fires along the place - very comforting.
We had a salmon filet from the grill with the side of pommes dauphinoise as well as fish of the day - halibut, served on a butter sauce with cherry tomatoes, capers as well as the potatoes. Very fresh and very tasty. We also went for a side of corn, chillies and spring onion. For dessert, we shared a Tarte tatin which was made from scratch whilst waiting. For drink we ordered a local beer as well as tap water (free and tasty - no point paying for water in a plastic when Norwegian water is famously clean!). Bill came to under 600 NK, which is a very reasonable price in this very expensive city.
Recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GinaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Albert Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We appreciate all your comments and are very glad you enjoyed the food and atmosphere at our restaurant. We hope to see you again!

Kind regards
Therese
Booking & marketingmanager
Albert Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My friend and I went on a Saturday evening and sat outside on the terrace under the heaters and blankets, the waitress was friendly and attentive, with the food both tasteful and very filling. If I am to be in Oslo again I will be paying Albert Bistro another visit.

Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Albert Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate hearing positive feedback. It is a boost to morale and gives us incentive to continually strive to improve our product and service. We hope to see you in Oslo again soon!

Sincerely,
Therese Bergerud
Booking & marketingmanager
Albert Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The trendy "dockland style" area of Aker Brygge has lots of eating and drinking places, and Albert Bistro is one of the best. We sat on the terrace, safe from the summer rain, with a view to the steady traffic on the Oslo fjord. Service was quick and friendly, and our open steak sandwich was super. Tender filet, home made French fries and béarnaise, vegetables, very good value for the reasonable price (after Norwegian price levels). the place to have a tasty lunch and a nice glass of wine, or dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ithaca96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Albert Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

On behalf of the entire team at Albert Bistro, we would like to thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We could not ask for better comments, so thank you!

Most sincerely,
Therese Bergerud
Bookingmanager
Albert Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert Bistro also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Albert Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing