We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diner food, but be prepared to wait for awhile”

The Nighthawk Diner
Ranked #359 of 1,443 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic diner at Grünerlokka with hamburgers, steaks, pancakes, pies, milkshakes and other American classics on the menu. Good selection of quality beers and cocktails. Breakfast served weekdays from 7 am and on weekends from 10 am. Children's menu.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great diner food, but be prepared to wait for awhile”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I went here for breakfast with a friend, and they have the perfect breakfast menu. We ordered one of those sausage, bacon, eggs style things. Then we waited, and waited.. and waited some more before it arrived. I think it took close to an hour. When you're waiting for breakfast that is way to long. This is after all just a diner. The food really hit the spot. The perfect hangover remedy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lanfear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    163
    109
    51
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a little piece of america.. in oslo”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was quite amused to find such a good American-style diner so far from home! The service was really good - attentive and friendly, always a plus. The tuna melt and steak sandwich (and milkshake) were delicious! Wish we had time to go for breakfast as it looked pretty awesome. Quite popular and we just missed a massive queue - worth the wait though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngieFeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One helluva dame”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Fabby atmos, lovely food, amazing staff topped off by Sarah (who we tormented with our endless requests :)

Helpful?
Thank DirtyWeeHallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lackluster burger”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I'm American, so I like to think I know diner food. My partner and I ordered burgers here recently, and there was bone in the patty. Nothing else on the plate was exciting either. That said, the ambiance is amazing, and there's a good selection of beers on tap (although you can get those from Grunerlokka Brygghus right across the street). I will not be risking it by going back here again though since I care about the food (which isn't cheap either). I'm really puzzled by the popularity of this place; there are sometimes even lines out the door to get into this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodie_Aspirant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome milkshakes”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Really nice American styled diner that also does breakfast (pretty rare in Oslo). Burgers are big and hearty and the hand cut fries are really good.

Service in Oslo in general is awful but the staff here are quite good. There is almost always a queue out the front because of its popularity but it tends to move reasonably quickly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jezzalenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nighthawk Diner also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to The Nighthawk Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing