We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Statholderens Mat & Vinkjeller

Statholderens Mat & Vinkjeller
Ranked #50 of 1,410 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
LICHFIELD
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Still amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

At the start of a month long trip to Norway we added a 2 night stop in Oslo just to eat again at this restaurant (which we did on both nights). The restaurant was as memorable as we remembered and the food just as spectacular. On the first night we had the 10 course tasting menu ( note!! If you get served a mushroom butter with bread grab it before the rest of your fellow diners - it's wonderful) Highlights from the menu- which was fantastic thorough out - a potato and artichoke cake with anchovy sour cream, red onion, salmon
caviar and rye bread toast, the most wonderful Teriyaki salmon with mango and wasabi dressing followed by beautiful cod with creamed rissoni pasta, griddles mushrooms and red and yellow pickled beets. On our second night we shared a mixed "tapas" style starter which was a delight and beautifully varied with amongst other things:- sweetbreads, cheese, Palma ham, chorizo, spring roll all handmade and delicious ( Note!! If served a lemon oil and balsamic mix with bread try it it's lovely and then to make sure you have it all to yourself tell everyone else it's not very good - ) our mains were neck if pork with potato and horseradish purée , garlic chorizo sausage sweet and sour chicken jus with roasted hazelnuts- sounds like a strange mix - tasted Devine. Can't wait to come back wish it was closer to home.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tmlb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    45
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kongsberg
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“one of the best in Norway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

In a decent, slightly rustic atmosphere in the cellar or the Restaurant, well trained and knowledgeable waiters who are also very attentive.
The food was stunning and the wine went very well with it.
This is a place to be absolutely recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing for Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had high expectations for lunch at this famous restaurant but was ultimately disappointed. The lunch menu was an uninspiring list of cold sandwiches (smørbrød) with three choices for mixed platters. I ordered the "luxury plate" which consisted of the Christmas special pork rib, a meatball, some smoked salmon, a pile of shrimp, a breaded piece of fish, some herring and accompanying sauces. The shrimp was not fresh and from the look and taste of it, not much different from the packaged, deshelled shrimp one buys at any grocery store. The food was good but not great and definitely not worth the 350 NOK I paid for the luxury plate. The wine was very good but at over 100 NOK for a glass of chablis and 40 NOK for an espresso, the "extras" doubled the cost of the total bill. I would not recommend this for lunch unless it is convenient and you don't have high expectations for a special culinary experience. I suspect that dinner is much better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestravelling2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lack of advertised quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Based upon a five-course dinner with the proposed wine meny, I have become very suspicious as to the ratings given this high rated restaurent by professionals.

My disappointment may be caused by getting a discount offered by being member of the socalled A-Club (instituted by Norway´s leading newpaper, "Aftenposten"), the quality deliberatly reduced because our resevation was made with reference to said rebate.

The waiter made too much of himself and tended to dominate when introducing the food being served instead of being of discreet service. As for the main course he repeatedly emphasized it was deer from the south of Sweden as if that means deer-meat from this region is superior to other places, which it probably is not.
But when being served this, we could imagine the meat had been cooked in Sweden and then brought to Oslo for re-heating! It was not warm when served and gave the impression of not being freshly cooked.
The wine selected was not bad but more ordinary, however, since we all were high in age and seasoned international travellers with wine-knowlegde, better wines were expected in this reputed restaurent.
The conclusion is that, although there were also pleasant experiences, we could have had a more exclusive and better meal at another and less reputed restaurent at a much lower price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Proffen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had the 10 course menu.

Served as follows:

bread & fancy butter / oil
3 'courses' made up the first 2 plates.
a fish course
a lamb course
cheese
desert

Smaller portions than I expected, actually, however, the food was really very good. The bread stayed on the table throughout too so if you were hungry that helped quite a lot!
We had the matching wine menu, which was expensive but added greatly to the experience. The waiter was very well informed and passed on a lot of knowledge with each glass. There was also a lovely Masala wine with the cheese and a sweet desert wine too.

Overall very impressive, nice atmosphere. it wasn't cheap, but this is Oslo so with that in mind it was reasonable for the food we had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MattyG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Statholderens Mat & Vinkjeller also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Statholderens Mat & Vinkjeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing