We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way too high score” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kolonihagen Frogner

Kolonihagen Frogner
Ranked #262 of 1,405 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Way too high score”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I am using TA for most of my trip and was hoping for more from rank #15.
The food was gurme with very small portions... yet the service, teh location and the creativity were very good. Yet, for 150 Euros for 2 is expensive, I guess even for Oslo.

Gershon

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gersh0nD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    54
    26
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Charming little restaurant in the Frogner area. Great atmosphere. Good food. Good service. Not for business dinners but perfect for a nice, easy meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nadmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“Amazing food, wonderful service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My boyfriend and me where met by a very warm and welcoming waiter and chef, seated right a way in the most unique and beautiful surroundings. The restaurant is located in an old stable and the atmosphere is very warm and cosy with an open fireplace.

We had an unforgettable taste experience consisting of among others scallops with flambéed egg white, turbot and beetroot purée, reindeer heart, homemade cheese and delicious chocolates. I had no idea turbot could taste this delicious, and the scallops were more tender and tastier than I've ever experienced before. The way they combined the wine to the food was amazing, it brought the flavours to a higher dimension.

I appreciated the knowledge about the food that both the chef and waiter shared with us. They timed the dishes perfectly, my glass was never empty and they provided very good service throughout the evening.

Eating in a place like this is not only eating, it is an experience stimulating all senses. The places atmosphere, the music, the friendly staff, the visual appearance of the food, and of course the mind-blowing tastes where all a part of this extraordinary experience.
With out exaderating i can say it was a perfect night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsti_Moerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If you have the money they will give you an experience to remember.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Pros - A great atmosphere with the fire place.
Great service, easy and with a smile.
Me and my GF had the 7 course for both since we could not choose from the confusing options.
All the dishes were made for 2 with a great range of flavores and textures. Truly food that is an experience.
Cons - no English menu. At a place with such variety this is very confusing.

Expensive (800 Kronas), but then again everything is expensive in Norway, and They sure give you your money's worth.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank linis_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb service in cool surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We entered through a backyard with great expectations. We had prebooked a table as there are not many tables available. Our waiter for the evening were on the spot for us to order drinks while waiting for the rest of the party and returned immediately with everything. As soon as we were all in place he explained the simple menu in details. There are seven courses of which two are considered main courses, and you may select a 1-7 course menu all priced after number of dishes. Along with each course a suggested wine is listed. All wines and ingredients are ecological.
We all ordered different versions of the menu, and the dishes were delivered quickly. The waitor explained in detail the contents, and the presentation of each course was elegant. Each and everyone of us were really satisfied regarding the taste both of the food and the combination of wine with the dish.
Summing up, we had excellent service in cosy surroundings, and topping it all by excellent food. As the outside tables weren't an option in -15 degrees, one may still note that this should be a very good choice of restaurant also in summertime.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IngridReiseglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolonihagen Frogner also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Kolonihagen Frogner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing