We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service! Grazie!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruffino Ristorante Italiano

Ruffino Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #5 of 1,406 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Ruffino is an authentic Italian restaurant that smells, tastes and feels Italian. The menu includes a large selection of antipasti, home-made pasta dishes, seafood and meat dishes, as well as dessert favourites like fondente, tiramisu and gelato. All dishes on Ruffino's menu are available as children's portions for half price. The restaurant is located in Henrik Ibsens gate, close to the Royal Palace and Karl Johans gate.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service! Grazie!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I`m impressed with the restaurant and strongly recommend it to everyone who would like to taste Italy in Norway. The food is delicious and the service - including waiter and waitress - fantastic! It`s nice to eat something prepared just in front of your face. Delicious food and super pleasant service! Must visit! :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    963
    352
    65
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful after theatre dinner here. The service is excellent, (Alessandro was such an attentive waiter). We asked for a starter to share, and no trouble at all - they split it on two plates. The main courses were delicious, and the home made passion fruit sorbet to die for.
We will surely be back!

Helpful?
2 Thank MaritandPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Italian food, good service, Oslo prices :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I've been twice to Ruffino in the last two months, and I am certainly planning to go back. The food is very honest Italian fare, with many dishes being nothing highly sophisticated (the lasagna is as homely as it can get) but very very tasty. They do make a successful effort with some more refined dishes (the tuna tartar is nice both to the eyes and the palate). This won't earn any Michelin stars, but who cares -- sometimes you just want something good, not fancy. Be warned about bill shock, however: this is Norway, and I find it a little expensive for what it is, even for Norwegian standards. As a frequent business traveller to Oslo, I am always looking for reasonable alternatives for dining that will not break the bank. Ruffino more than satisfies the first condition; as for the second... :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kanelboller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cosy but classy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Me and my colleague had only one night in Oslo and wanted to choose something we wouldn't go wrong with - thus this highly rated restaurant. I am happy to say that I agree with the reviews I read. The food is delicious (I had Ravioli filled with ricotta, mascarpone and truffle oil served with rucola), it is a lovely place - cosy but classy. Service warm with a nice Italian flavour. If I lived in Oslo, this would be the kind of place I would go regularly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Salla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stange, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for couples and friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Nice atmosphere and great food. We enjoyed our time at this place! The menu is perfect for men and women.

Helpful?
2 Thank LMMauset
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ruffino Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Ruffino Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing