We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch for 3”

Bolgen & Moi Briskeby
Ranked #229 of 1,465 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Modern bar and brasserie with an international, relaxed atmosphere. The building was originally an eletrical transformer station, and the 12-metre ceiling gives a unique atmosphere to the room. Bolgen & Moi's brasserie offers innovative food and will recommend wines from the extensive wine list. The restaurant serves everything from oven-baked pizza to 5-course menus, and a popular breakfast buffet is available Thursday-Saturday. The large bar serves a great selection of cocktails, snacks and treats from a wood-burning stove, and in summer you can enjoy your meal on the large outdoor terrace.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lunch for 3”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

perfect looking place. Fully packed with people all the time. Seems like a great meeting place for a drink and a quick bite. Looks more joyful and live in the first part of the restaurant. More funky feeling. We were seated in the 2nd area. Service was good, but food was of mediocre taste and rather expensive. Very few salads to choose from, and too few light alternatives for lunch plates.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank marina0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    34
    31
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome place, kind of crappy food”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is rocking - particularly if you come for the Saturday brunch and then just staaaaay and party :) Any other night, the place is kind of quiet (although very cool venue), service is not awesome and food is definately so-so. Recommended? Yes for a Saturday, no for other nights...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ms_brett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maybe trendy, but lousy service”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were a group of old friends having dinner at B&M, last week. The food was OK, but the waiter was not at all interested in his guest and did not show even the basics of a service attitude. No smile and no interest. He forgot to serve one of the group the dessert, but no excuse from his side. The experience was rounded off with a presentation of a bill which was too high as there were more drinks than we had! But even then, no excuse from the waiter!
Defenitly not a place to recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lars58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loud cloub music made it impossible to communicate with our waiter, who did not know anything about the menu at all. Did the "Champagne Lunch" actually come with champagne (no it didn't)? Could you ordera la carte from the 5- course menu (yes you can, although the waiter instantly replied " i don't believe so, but I'll check"). No smiles, no charm.

The Cote de Rohne wine was actually sour (!), strange for a place where wine-expert Toralf Bølgen has lend his name. The waiter exchanged it, without appologising, with a Ripasso, and without asking us if we actually wanted another wine than the one we had ordered.

The head waiter and the waiter who took our check smiled and seemed friendly, which almost gave them another star. 4 small slices of duck at NOK 275 took it away.

So disappointed, as Bølgen & Moi at Tjuvholmen has always been a favourite of ours.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan Rogge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spoiled wine, too expensive, rude waitor!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I had our first, and last!, visit saturday nov 3rd. The music was so loud we could hardly hear what each other and the waitor said. And it was 6 o`clock in the evening! The music was more suited for an Ibiza night club, in the 80`s..
Our waitor was newly hired and apparently not a very serviceminded person. He did not smile once and had no knowledge regarding the menu or the wine selection.
When we pointed out that our wine tasted like vinegar he just took out glasses and went away. He returned with 2 new glasses and a different wine. We did not receive an apology, info about the new wine or an explanation to why we now had a totally different wine than what we originally wanted.
Our food was ok, nothing more. But paying 275,- kr for 4 tiny slices of duck with a few pieces of carrot and potato is way too much!
Seeing as there are sooo many other good places to eat in Oslo we will not return to this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolgen & Moi Briskeby also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Bolgen & Moi Briskeby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing