We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
171
27
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
171
27
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast was amazing business school recommend this hotel excellent hotel room was spacious t bane free coffee hotel is located stayed here for nights a great stay metro station perfect location minute walk city centre shoppingmall bi rom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 202 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2019

Rooms are not huge but spacy enough. Comfortable bed. Bathroom is fine. Safe in room. Overall what you would expect from a decent hotel.

The location is maybe some 5km from the city center. You can take the circle line metro/subway (line 4/5) from the Storo or Nydalen station. I believe the Storo is closer but not too long either way. About 5 min walks.

There is a scenic route if you want to take a walk along the nearby river, you can walk along it to downtown. Or rent one of the electric scooters that litter the city now. You just need a smartphone and a credit card.

The gym opens at 7am and closes at 23 or 11pm. It is tiny, at 7 it was crowded with just 5 people in it, you could not fit to do much than pedal the pedelec for a while. After 8 it was quiet and enough space but maybe not an option that late for many. Hence the silence, I suppose.

Breakfast is good. Very broad selection. Free coffee can be had from lobby Nespresso style machine at any time.

In the evenings the hotel bar closes at midnight, as most places in Norway. Like in Sweden, it seems letting people decide for themselves to drink till morning hours would be a sin. Some night they had this Jazz evening with some jolly two stereotypical bar-musician style fellas playing. Was a lot of fun to watch them go at it. With bar-type I mean, the guy would perfectly fit an old movie bar scene, sitting down with a keg of beer. In a positive way.

There was also a nice lady at the bar named Charlie, who provided nice drinks and sharp comments. She seems to promote her Femme Fatale drink, fittingly. Give it a go.

Staff is helpful, although giving directions seemed a bit off as they were not quite on par with all the construction around. Had trouble finding a bus-stop for visiting some of the maritime museums.

Wifi is free and worked fine.

It's a bit off from downtown if just "sightseeing". The gym is smallish and has inconvenient opening hours. Other than that, the facilities and service for this price-range were great.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kojonootti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina H, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Storo, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2019

Dear kojonootti,

Warm regards from Team Storo. Thank you for sharing your experience with the entire Trip Advisor community!
I am glad to see you were happy with rooms, breakfast, bar and wifi. Your comments will be shared with all our proud hoteliers, and give them a great boost.
We certainly hope to welcome you back upon your next visit to Oslo.

Kind regards,

Karina Haukali
Administrative manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019

I liked everything about this hotel except for its location. The area seems to be one large building site, with unfinished sidewalks and construction wherever you look. It's located about 15 minutes by metro from the center of town, so you should plan on commuting. In retrospect, we probably would have stayed at one of the Thon hotels closer to town. Having said that, the amenities in this hotel are very good. The breakfast was excellent and there was nothing to complain about in the room.

Room tip: Buy a 24-hour metro card if you plan on staying here
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CANUCKINBETHESDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina H, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Storo, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Dear CANUCKINBETHESDA,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are happy you enjoyed the hotel amenities and breakfast!
The Storo area is a new area in town and is still under construction unfortunately.
Hopefully it will be ready should you decide to stay with us upon your next visit to Oslo.

Kind regards,

Karina Haukali
Administrative manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

Everything about this new hotel was great. Loved the decor, furnishings, and colour scheme. The breakfast was amazing with more than enough variation to cater to any needs. The room was spacious (we had a superior room) and the bathroom fantastic. They even had two peep holes in the door, one for adults and one lower down for kids. The staff was very helpful and service minded. Location-wise it was a little out of the centre, but it was only a 5-minute walk to the no. 11, 12 and 13 trams which would take you straight there. The underground station is also close. The hotel is right next door to the Storo shopping centre. We will definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggyt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina H, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Storo, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Dear peggyt2013,

Warm regards from Team Storo and thank you for sharing your experience with the entire Trip Advisor community!
So glad you were happy with everything during your stay, from interior to food and service.
We look forward to greet you upon your next visit to Oslo.

Kind regards,

Karina Haukali
Administrative manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel to stay at. The staff is really nice, the resepsjon/lounge/hallways/rooms are modern and clean, the restaurant and bar has great vibes, the gym has an amazing energy with its bright green color and fun patterns, and I immediately felt at home❤️
The placement of the hotel it self is also really nice, right next to Storo’s huge shoppingmall and with many restaurant options just out side it’s walls.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank lenemariaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina H, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Storo, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear lenemariaka,

Warm regards from Thon Hotel Storo and thank you for sharing your experiences with us and the entire TA community! Happy to hear you felt like home, our ultimate goal is to deliver true service to our guest.Your comments will be shared with all our proud hoteliers. We are very glad to know you were happy with the hotel overall. Welcome back!

Kind regards,

Karina Haukali
Administrative manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

New hotel appr.45 min from the AirPort by bus FB3. Bus stops close to the hotel, around 5min by walk.
The location of the hotel is not very centralized, it takes around 1hr by walk to get to the city centre. Hovewer nearby are 2 train stations Storo and Nydalen. By train it takes around 15 min to get to the city center. There is also possibility to take tram or bus.
The hotel room is equipped with safe, fridge, tv, fan, AC.
Perfect breakfast with a lot of choice.
Oposite the hotel is a very good japanese restaurant SUMO.
There is also supermarket if you would like to buy some alcohol take in account norwegian law - you can’t buy it on Friday after 8pm and on Saturday after 6pm, dont know the rules for other days .
For nature lovers I definitely recommend the trip to Holmennkollen and further to Frognerseteren. It is possible to get to Songswann by walk / ski / bike and from there to Nydalen by train.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Mato80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina H, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Storo, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Dear Mato80,

Thank you for visiting us and spreading the word on Trip Advisor!
We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and room amenities.
Come back again any time.

Kind regards,

Karina Haukali
Administrative manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews