We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

The hotel has friendly and helpful reception staff.
Cozy bedroom gave me good nights' sleep.
Typical Norwegian breakfast.
Multi-cultural dish for light evening meal.
Located at the heart of Oslo City.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jBzce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Jabez E,

I am so thrilled to hear your experience at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret was wonderful. Thank you for the taking the time to share it with us. We look forward to amplifying your next Clarion Collection experience. Please come back to stay with us again soon.

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    429
    124
    53
    23
See reviews for
135
623
115
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Location is great, just 5 minutes from the central train station, and 5 minutes from the centre of sightseeing district. Room is very spacious, although our "double bed" is practically two single bed next to each other. Buffet Breakfast has a wide variety of choices and serves till 11am on a Sunday! They also provide free dinner but the choices of food is quite limited.

Design is stylish.

Staff are generally helpful, and checking in and out are very quick. We arrived at noon after a long flight and were given a room at 2pm after we headed out for lunch (even though they officially allow check in at 3 pm).

Will definitely recommend this hotel, also taking into account the price is quite a bargain in Norway and even in Europe.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear FunHK,

Thank you so much for your review; we are thrilled to hear your time spent at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret was memorable. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not so distant future.

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
241 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent design hotel located in the centre of Oslo. A joy pricy, but the hotels in Norway is in general pricy :D

5 minutes to walk to the shopping street. However, many shops are located closer to the hotel.

On the bright side you get an evening "meal".

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyTraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Palmontana,

Thanks for such a great review. We love hearing from happy guests and are thrilled that you love staying with us while in Oslo. We certainly agree that having a barista making you a cup of fresh coffee is a great way to start a new day.
We hope to see you back very soon.

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

We also stayed here during the infamous heat wave and had much the same experience as others have mentioned with an extremely warm room, no fans available and little ability to open the windows. But what are you going to do? If you live in Norway you usually need a/c about one week per year (normally) I'd imagine. None of the museums had a/c either. So yeah - hot. And for our room at least - noisy. The hotel is on a road with many bars that are open late on Saturdays, and since we absolutely had to keep the windows open, it meant we were up all night on our first night in Oslo since our room faced Storgata. Oh, and the second night/morning someone started using a jackhammer at 5am - maybe in the lot across the street? I was so exhausted I started laughing. That's the bad news.

The good news is the standard room was a nice size and modern. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is amazing and having the dinner there as an option was great. And the location in central Oslo - near to Oslo S and most tourist locales - was very convenient. When you stay near a train station in Europe you always see the people who are hanging around, but we never felt unsafe. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jj4580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear jj4580,

Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate you taking the time to reach out and share your comments. As you rightfully pointed out, the heat wave that we experienced during this summer was quite unusual. I am truly sorry for the experience you had during your stay and we do apologize for any inconvenience.
On a positive note I am happy to see that your interaction with our staff was great and that you loved our breakfast.
Be sure to let me know when you are visiting Oslo next time so I can oversee your reservation.
wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We spent there just a couple of days. We liked the hotel because it's very close to central station and secondly, the breakfast there was diverse, delicate and tasty. The only thing that may cause dissatisfaction to someone- the noise from the street club around the corner was very intense and the cleaner only made a bed without making a proper washing. The room itself looks like "boudoir".

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Artyukh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Artyukh K,

Thanks for the feedback. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share.
While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by disturbing sound. Fortunately most of our rooms are located far away from the club you are refering to. We hope that you will afford us a second chance the next time that you are in Oslo.
Please reach out to me directly prior to your next arrival so that we can make sure it is a flawless experience. wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

I have stayed here many times, and it is my favourite hotell in Oslo.

Located in the middle of Oslo centre, and it is priced reasonable compared to other hotels in Oslo

The staff are always friendly and helpfull and the breakfast and the Barista making you coffe is the highlight.

Spacious room and good beds.

Will come again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Palmontana,

Thanks for such a great review. We love hearing from happy guests and are thrilled that you love staying with us while in Oslo. We certainly agree that having a barista making you a cup of fresh coffee is a great way to start a new day.
We hope to see you back very soon.

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel's air conditioning does not work. Their solution is to lend you a fan, if they haven't already lent them to other guests. We cancelled our second reservation with them a couple of weeks later when the front desk told us the rooms were 28-35 degrees F and there were no fans available.

Other than that, the rooms are great and the evening and morning meals are excellent. Just don't go when Oslo is having a heat wave!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Frances P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.
I can inform all the readers of this review that our ventilation system has been fixed and that it is working perfectly fine again.
I am truly sorry for the experience you had during your stay. On a positive note I am glad that you appreciated our rooms as well as the evening and morning meals.
If you decide to return to stay with us, please reach out to me directly prior to your next arrival so that we can make sure it is a flawless experience. wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing