We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, sleek, and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Perfectly located walking distance from Central Station in downtown Oslo, the Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret is a hip, modern and very comfortable hotel option that won't break the bank. The service is excellent, and my room (a double) was roomy quiet, with a mini bar, seating area, and mini desk. The bathroom amenities are a bit sparse. But no complaints here. There is a roof terrace, light evening snacks, and the breakfast provided at the adjoining restaurant each morning offered a huge, delicious spread, in an absolutely beautiful dining room. Plus there is always coffee of tea available in the lobby. Single rooms a a bit small, so if you want a bit more space upgrade to the double. There are great restaurants within the Folketeateret complex, as well.

I couldn't have been happier with our choice of hotel.

Room Tip: A double room offers a bit more space, a large bed, and plenty of places to store your belongings. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimJDolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Friendly check in. Hotel and its facilities explained by the receptionist. The bedroom was very satisfactory. Bathroom with shower only had under floor heating which was great - even in July! The evening light buffet meal was of a good standard. A limited choice, but hey hoo the facility is not meant for fine dining. The buffet breakfast was well presented, plenty of choice. Hot items were however a bit cold. That was the only negative during our 2 night stay. Would use this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank JohnEDINV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

With an excellent train connection from the airport to Oslo center, the hotel's location around the corner from central station (where one can find an excellent and reasonably priced wine shop) is perfect for travelers doing things on their own. The room was large and comfortable, but the bathroom was a little strange with no shelves and no shampoo or conditioner. However, the food made up for the bathroom deficiencies -- an outstanding breakfast, nice afternoon tea, and abundant, light evening meal all included.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flg1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The staff are excellent, food excellent, site great, really near town centre.
However the designer rooms fail miserably, first no place to do your make up ladies, nor to layout your bottles etc. Not enough space to hang your clothes. Lighting in the bathroom blinding if trying to make-up. Shower soaks the bathroom floor, the towel hangers just above the loo what a really stupid place. No where to hide cases. Clearly a designer's dream provided you do not have to use it! In our room the basin's drain was partially blocked and the lighting switcherie bizarre. Despite the room we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Wonderful food is included, evening meal and fantastic breakfast!! Really. However got charged a HUGE amount for 2 apple ciders at dinner without prior consent. NO SIGN anywhere at the drinks!
Ask prior to moving in How to convert bath to shower, there is no indication anywhere of how to do this, or where.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Overall, I would recommend the hotel and say that it was above average, but it was rather pricey and I would check before staying again to make sure I got a bigger room.

It's always hard to judge a hotel in a new place in a foreign country without a gauge of what can be expected for the price you pay. I know Norway is notoriously expensive and I was expecting to pay decently for the location, but the room I had was fairly unimpressive. It was clean and neat, but quite small. The bathroom was also small but exceptionally modern and very nice. I was hoping for a little more room for what I paid. Having said that, the lobby, breakfast area, and evening reception areas are all some of the nicest I've seen in a hotel. The breakfast included in the hotel rate was probably the best hotel breakfast I've ever had included, there were small fruit smoothies of 2 different types. The location was very good, a short walk from the central train station and pretty much everything in downtown Oslo.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed 2 nights during business. Very clean hotel, comfy beds, friendly staff, easy connection to bus etc right outside the hotel to commute. Else the hotel is very central down town Oslo to you can walk to everything down town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 952abbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#10 of 102 in Oslo
872 reviews
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
369 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $177 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing