We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great location in the center of Oslo with easy walking distance to the train station and the magnificent Opera House.
Very friendly and helpful staff. The standard rooms are a bit on the small side but there is everything you need. The breakfast is among the best I've had in any hotel. Wide choice, great attention to detail, freshly prepared eggs, omelette etc. Freshly baked croissants, tasty yoghurt in nice glass containers and a very nice breakfast/dining room. The only thing missing on the breakfast buffét is really good coffe - like an espresso or a cappucino. There is not even hot milk for your coffee which you find in most better hotels.
This is definitely a place I will keep coming back to over and over again since I'm often in Oslo for business.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolfsdotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Excellent hotel and very close to the central station in Oslo (walking time less than 10 minutes)
Rooms comfortable, clean and superb shower rooms
Probably the best breakfast in any hotel we have stayed in, superb varied choice and plenty of it and caters for all dietary requirements (lactose free options, gluten free options, and others)
Staff friendly and helpful, great location for going out in the evening or visiting the city and you get a great night's sleep (although we stayed Friday night and Saturday AM was dead in the city)
Dinner was good but not fantastic and a set menu - although you can of course eat out
On arrival added bonus of finding out that in the PM you get pastries and tea / coffee for free if you are around.
Definitely worth checking out if you get a deal especially to include the meals.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I am a silver member of "Nordic Choice Club" and always had great experiences with this hotel-chain.
I had a weekend BONUS STAY (1 night) in the Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret for 10.000 Bonus Points.
My stay was overall excellent (except unfriendly reception staff) and I enjoyed the great free evening dinner and a wonderful breakfast buffet.

A few weeks after my stay, my credit card company notified me about an unauthorized credit card charge by this hotel. That was very shocking, but I was able to cancel this transaction.
A few weeks later, I received my "Nordic Choice Bonus"- Print-out and saw, that the very same hotel made a false deduction here as well (they deducted the 10.000 points twice instead of once). Also here, I could cancel the wrong deduction without problem directly through Choice-Club.

I found it very strange to have a false credit card charge and a false Bonus charge in ONE stay.
I wrote to letter (registered mail) to the General manager and asked him to investigate how that could happen. NO REPLY. One month later, I sent my request again to the Manager (e-mail).
Again, no reply.
I thought, it would be be obvious for a Manager to apologize for those very delicate incidents, but apparently it was not.
I recommend this hotel, because it is very good, but I advise you to check your credit card statements thoroughly after completing your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cremerata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, in March, in a Superior Room.

This is a straightforward well run hotel in a good location in Oslo.

Some key points -

- 5 min walk from the railway station
- located close (10 min walk) to main tourist areas. 20 mins walk to the Castle/seafront.
- rooms well appointed with good beds, hair dryer, small bathroom but adequate for a short stay.
- no safe in room was surprising - but these are available free downstairs in the luggage/safe room!
- very nice free tea/coffee in the lobby 24 hours.
- included breakfast was good with lots of choice.

On visiting would recommend seeking out Tim Wendelboe for a coffee tasting session, dinner at Hos Thea, walking everywhere!

Top tip is that you do not need cash in Oslo so don't waste time changing cash ..... Just use your debit/credit card.

Prices are expensive with .5l lager around £8 and main meals starting at £16.

Any q's on Oslo just ask and I will try to help!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank adamcaulfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed for a long weekend and had a great time. The service at this hotel is excellent, the rooms are very good and the breakfast, well ... you want to sit for hours. Smiling and helpfull personnel. Location is very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Bodil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We live in Oslo, but stayed one night at this perfect hotel. We got a big room, which was very stylish. The breakfast was perfect. The best hotel breakfast I've ever had! The location was perfect. Quiet at night, and a very short walk for shopping in day time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Marianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

First I have to say: wonderful breakfast!
But on behave of myself: thanks to all the staff members: you did your job well.
Nice location for a trip in Oslo. Felt safe also at night after a walk outside.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Koen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#10 of 102 in Oslo
873 reviews
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
371 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $177 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing