We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best part of Olso”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best part of Olso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was undoubtedly the highlight of our short weekend trip to Oslo. Despite the amazing reviews, I was still blown away by the value and quality once I got there. The breakfast was taken seriously with plenty of options to indulge foodies and great consideration given for gluten and lactose intolerant hungry people. The "light" evening meal also felt like a feast. I don't usually eat at hotels and this one was better than most restaurants on town. If you have this kind of service then you know the rest will also be to your liking.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    432
    124
    54
    23
See reviews for
136
631
115
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel states that is walking distance from Central Railway Station, which it is, although trudging through slippery slush and snow with suitcases took some perseverance. But once there we were pleased with the immediate environment and decor. We were efficiently checked in. The room was just a standard one, so understandably it was small with no street outlook, but very smartly and appealingly decorated. A nice touch was the fluorescent sheep on the wall which faded after the lights were turned out. The shower had no door - why do they do that? - so the water splashed out onto the floor. Also no shampoo provided. These are not major problems.
The hotel is quite near the main drag of Oslo, but a bit less conveniently near to the port area especially an issue in cold snowy weather.
One of the nice things about Clarion is the inclusion of a "light evening meal" - the menu rotates through the week and really the term "light" is unnecessarily modest - we were more than satisfied with the quality and quantity of what was available. The lounge where it is served is warm and cosy. Breakfast (in a different location) was also very fine.
Comfortable and welcoming experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baudolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Resepsjonssjef at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at our hotel.
To read your review plastered a smile on all our staff - be sure all of us read all the reviews we get. To know you had an enjoyable stay when staying makes us all very happy.

Welcome back any time.

Sincerely,
Lars Erik Stavik
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have spent nearly 50 days in this hotel on business in the last 6 months and so I am probably more qualified than many others in commenting on this place.

The key USP of this hotel is the food - the sumptuous breakfast spread and the light evening meal - however for someone who has walked in to the restaurant on 50 different morning I can say that the variation in food is absolutely zero. In fact I can walk in blindfolded and know where the omlettes would be where the smoked salmon would be etc.

The light evening meal once again is good for occasional leisure travel who can save some money in a extremely pricey and gastronomically starved Oslo - but for frequent guests it is as unappealing as the breakfast. The cooks probably need a few lessons. Only good thing is the desserts.

The level of professionalism you expect from a business hotel is completely absent. Inspite of staying so many days in the past few months and nearing Platinum status (the highest grade) I have not had a single upgrade so far. The standard rooms are horribly cramped and you have to go to at least Superior grade to have some breathing space.

The loyalty program is one of the worst I have experienced with literally no benefits (all I get as a Gold member is one free soft drink a night!)

The art decor feel might appeal to some but the hotel is located in a drab part of Oslo where the immigrants and homeless congregrate

The less it is said about the laundry the better. I have run out of energy complaining about it to the manager of the hotel Lars Erik but haven't seen any improvement so far.

Having said it all I know that the hotel will keep earning good reviews primarily due to its location and free food service - but my next business trip will probably find me in Radisson

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the street. Try the lounge on the top of 7th floor - can be accessed from the di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelust72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very nice hotel in the heart of Oslo. The hotel has a nice atmosphere and the room had perfect temperature, ensuring a good night's sleep. Not the biggest room, but clean and functional. The hotel is located in the center of Oslo, and if you are going to a concert/show you will find great venues like Rockefeller, Oslo Spectrum, Sentrum Scene within walking distance. Have a nice stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Erling W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Resepsjonssjef at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Erling,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.
And you gave all some great tips for what to do when staying at your hotel - please contact us for any recommendations for shows or concerts showing in our surrounding arenas.
I am happy you had a good night sleep and could use our hotel as a base for your trip to Oslo.

Welcome back.

Sincerely,
Lars Erik Stavik
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed in this hotel over the weekend based on the good reviews from trip adviser. It was a good choice as the hotel was superb. It was well set up for leisure travellers but i'm not so sure about business.

Location - Very central, 3/4 mins walk from the central train station. 3/4 mins to the main shopping area and start of the majority of tourist attractions.

Room - Very large and comfortable and well equipped. Lighting was a tad dark for working but did create a nice atmosphere.

Hotel - The breakfast was brilliant as many others have mentioned. They serve a light free meal on an evening in the lounge which was fantastic and far from light - what a great idea!The staff were hugely helpful about everything and provided some great tips and advice on getting around including buying the oslo pass which i would recommend as well. My only slight problem was with laundry as it was advertised as being returned by 6pm the same same yet i had to stay up until 11pm to get it back and was then charged huge amount for the delayed service - this was unacceptable and the staff didn't acknowledge the delay nor seem to care about the problems caused to me. Free coffee in the lobby, although pretty standard in Norway was available in a take away cup and a nice way to start a walk around town.

Overall a great hotel and a one i couldn't recommend highly enough. The breakfast is very good and the free evening meal is a cut above any other hotel. The place to stay in Oslo!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamsimsafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Resepsjonssjef at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We are so happy to know that you let the feedback on TripAdvisor guide you to us and that you also gave us your feedback from your stay so other travellers can do the same. So thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I hope you will come back for a visit on your next trip to Oslo.

Welcome back anytime

Best regards,
Lars Erik Stavik
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

A very friendly hotel,great location, atmospheric breakfast restaurant plus free coffee served all day, on top of that,complimentary meal in the late afternoon which can help considering Norwegian prices!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank iwona1d1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of your recent stay at our hotel. The feedback we get from our guests is what drives us forward - so again thank you for sharing you experience with us and the users of TripAdvisor.

Welcome back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Easy to reach from central train station. City centre is nearby and in walking distance.
The best: Breakfast!!!
Could be better: Gym was not available! Not well communicated.
Evening meal was good and with a good variety!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Sebastian,

Thank your for your review our hotel here on TripAdvisor.
Our gym was the offer for a water leakage and was flooded - I am sorry if this was not communicated correctly. This happend quite suddenly but we will do better in the future if something simiral will happend. Our guest had the opportunity to use the gym at one of our sister hotels nearby in the time the gym was closed.

I hope to be able to welcome you back on another occasion.

Wish you a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing