We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great hotel - very close to central station and can walk everywhere! The breakfast was great with pancakes, hot choices and lovely fresh fruit. The evening meal made an expensive city good value. Unfortunately we never made it back for the afternoon tea but it sounded lovely. Amanda in reception is an asset to the hotel - she offered great service and made us feel at home. Room was clean and beds were very comfy. If travelling with just hand luggage do be aware there's just multi-purpose hair and body wash provided rather than little bottles of shampoo/conditioner but this is clearly better for the environment!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I will be sure to give Amanda your excellent feedback, thank you. I am happy you had an enjoyable stay with us, and i hope next time you will get a chance to enjoy the afternoon in the hotel as well. But I understand the need to explore the city off course.

Welcome back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here our first 2 nights in Norway, took the train from Gardermoen Airport, and the hotel is a short walk from the Central Station. We had a standard room which faced the courtyard. The room was small, but nicely decorated and comfortable with a sofa, chair and a desk, great wood floors and large windows. It was our first experience with showers that are not enclosed, and it was not a problem at all. There is a half door which contains the water quite well and a small wooden stool in the shower that was convenient to put toiletries on if you do not like the soap/shampoo from the dispenser. Everything was spotlessly clean, as it was everywhere we stayed in Norway. Free wifi in the rooms was also nice and worked well. We did not have any problems with air conditioning or noise. It was a very convenient location to many of the attractions in Oslo as well as to public transportation.

The breakfast buffet was the best we had in the 16 days we stayed in Norway! The breakfast room was very pleasant with candles everywhere, and the food was excellent. The evening meal was also a nice bonus and not really "light" as there were several entrees, soup, breads and desserts.

But the reception staff was truly the icing on the cake. They could not have been more pleasant. We are especially grateful to Sarah, who insisted that we had to see the Opera House, as it was one of her favorite places. It is indeed magnificent and unique, as well as fun to walk around, and we were pleased that her persistence convinced us to see it.

We booked this hotel because of the excellent reviews it received and we were even more impressed than we anticipated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank micheleaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us your review of your recent stay at our hotel here on TripAdvisor.
It makes all of us extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I´ll be sure to give Sarah your positive feedbacks.

Welcome back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

great place, bed amazing, very friendly service got a room with a beautiful view of the city, the food delicious, close to the city center, nicely furnished room and bathroom, luxurious, beautiful hotel, I was very impressed and will certainly be back here once more.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oleczek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Oslo and for taking the time to give us your review here on TripAdvisor.

Welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is my second time to stay at this hotel this year and I was not disappointed. Since I was staying for 18 nights, I wanted a hotel with a very helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms, great food (breakfast, afternoon snack and light dinner included!), with easy access to public transportation and within easy walking distance to Karl Johans Gate - my expectations were exceeded. And to top it off, all these at a reasonable price. I know where I would be staying next time I am in Oslo. You should check this hotel if you are planning to visit Oslo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayani2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Oslo and for taking the time to give us your review here on TripAdvisor.
I am very happy to read you had a great stay on your long stay with us. I hope to see you again.

Welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel experience was as good as it gets. It was not expensive by Oslo standards, and it included breakfast and dinner. In Oslo those, alone, could add up to the price of the hotel and the food was excellent. The breakfasts were up to typical European standards and the dinners were as well. Both were buffet style and had an infinite variety. The hotel is within a short walking distance from the main Oslo train station which connects easily to the airport. It is also a short walk to the main pedestrian avenue through the city with shops, restaurants and pubs. Coupled with the Oslo Pass, the location is perfect. The rooms are not large, but they are efficiently laid out and very, very clean.

The hotel personnel are very friendly and helpful. We dealt mostly with a handlebar mustachioed Swedish fellow who could not have been more friendly and helpful. Many rooms have a view of the harbor and the views will only get better as a park being constructed is completed. The street the hotel is located on is not attractive, but not littered, dirty or unsafe. It appears that many of the buildings are scheduled for rehab. All in all we felt that ambiance enhanced the Norwegian experience for us. If we return to Norway we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If possible, request the 8th floor. Some of the rooms have a balcony that is quite a nice place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Reading your review it may look like you have stayed at our sister hotel Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion since not all of the details you are describing match our location.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay at their hotel, since they have a beautiful hotel. I hope next time you will try out our hotel. We are located in Storgata 21-23 a couple of minutes north of the Central Station.

Welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

The hotel was well placed for the centre of Oslo, very close to both the central bus and train stations. 30 metres up the road was a combined bus and tram stop that had direct trams to Aker Brygge (number 12) and bus to the Folk Museum (number 30).

We stayed in Room 714 which was really good. It had a separate lounge area and a lovely balcony which you accessed through French doors in the bedroom. It was also next to the lounge where the afternoon tea and evening meal were served. These were both included in the price we paid and were both very worthwhile as Oslo in not a cheap place to eat out.

The afternoon tea was served from 3pm to 6pm and consisted of either cake or waffles and as much tea/coffee as you wanted.

The evening “light” meal was served from 6pm to 9pm and consisted of soup, a main course and an extensive salad and cheese board. Even though there is no choice of soup or main, both soups (we stayed two nights) were very good. In fact the fish soup on night two was one of the best I have ever tasted. Both the main courses (lasagne and turkey meat balls) were too bland for my taste, but were well cooked. The salad bar was great. You had the option to purchase beer or wine with the evening meal. Flavoured water was provided free of charge.

As previously mentioned the breakfast (serve 6.30am to 10.00am on the ground floor) was truly spectacular in both choice and presentation.

One point to note is that in the early morning a long line of Eastern European “street people” formed on the other side of the street. The numbers diminished during the morning, moving to other parts of the city, but a few remained throughout the day. I did not feel threatened and they were very passive, just sitting there with their paper coffee cups in front of them.

In conclusion, a first rate hotel in a well placed location with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMSBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Oslo and for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your nice recommendations to other travellers.

I hope to see you again, welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is a mere 5 minute walk from the train station, and the new and gorgeous Opera, and therefore walking distance or a short tram ride from most other attractions, restaurants, and parks. The staff is unfailingly helpful and friendly. The breakfast is lavish, with delicious breads, cheeses, fruits, vegetables, and even cod oil for those who are so inclined. A bonus was the opportunity to fill a lunch bag from the breakfast offerings, for a very reasonable price. Unexpected but very welcome were the complimentary coffee and cakes in the afternoon, and the complimentary "light" dinner offered nightly to hotel guests. The decor is modern and very appealing. The rooms are on the small side, but similar to other hotels in the city centres of major European cities. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are larger, and quieter in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Oslo we appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your review here on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely happy to know that you had a nice stay when visiting us so n behalf of all the staff here at CCH Folketeateret thank you for sharing your experiences.

Welcome back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#11 of 103 in Oslo
438 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 103 in Oslo
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $185 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing