We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
milano
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but some issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at Folkteatered only one night travelling for business. The hotel is close to the train station and bus terminal which can be reached by 5 minutes walk and is in an area with many reastaurants and pubs.
The hotel has been refurbished very recently and has the ambition of beeing an example of modern architecture which can be more or less appreciated.The statue of a traveler in the lobby is for example somewhat disturbing.
The staff where very fiendly and ready to help in any case. The only minor issue is that we had to ask for the free wi fi connection password while i would have expected to be informed at the check in.
My room was a standard single room small but clean and with a more than sufficient bathroom with a luxurious shower. However the main issue of the room was the complete absence of shelf or wardrobe where to put clothes. I was even wondering if i was not able to find it but there was none. It was the first time in my experiece of a seasoned traveller !
As far as the food I appreciated the light dinner served in the lounge with a reasonable choice of good quality dishes. Unfortunely I had not the possibility to eat breakfast as I had to leave at 7 am in the morning and as it was saturday the breakfast was served from 8 am which is strange because this would be justified on Sunday not on saturday.
In conclusion a nice place with some issues that in any case i would recommand for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilanoSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest from Milano,
Many thanks for posting this review from your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our concept of the complimentary evening meal served in our Lounge but I am sorry that you did not get the chance to eat breakfast. During the weekend we serve the brekfast from 08.00-11.00am as a part of our "sleep in" possilibilty for our guests. For those who leave the hotel before the breakfast opens, we offer an "early bird" option which is a juice and a sandwich that you can grab and go. I hope you got this with you from the reception.

We appreciate your comments since they help us in our strive to become better.

Hope to see you as a guest at the hotel again,

Best regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    432
    124
    54
    23
See reviews for
136
631
115
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel september 21st-23rd...the room,though small by english hotel standards was clean, and well maintained...breakfast and a light evening meal was included in the price and both meals were great value...breakfast consisted of a full english and also some scandinavian dishes, if you eat well at breakfast you shouldnt need to spend much on food during the day as Norway is a very expensive city..light evening meal was also very well presented with a choice of a hot dish or a cold one....this hotel is very well situated near the train station.about 300 meters away...the saff were very helpful and friendly...check in was quick and easy...well situated to visit all attractions..oslo.catherdral...the royal palace..and the parliament building etc...plenty of pubs clubs and restaurants in the vacinity...i was very satisfied with this hotel and would recommend it to anyone travelling to oslo on a budget..i would definitely stay at this hotel again..we had a room on the 3rd floor and noise was not a problem

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback from your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us to others. To us, this is the best result we can get from you as a guest.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you at the hotel again shortly,

Warm regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for 3 days last week and all was great. The hotel is easy to find, very close to the station and well situated for trams, taxi's etc and the rest of the city. The location offers great access to the theatre and a range of restaurants, cafes bars and shops.

I had a standard room and it was fine, nothing special but was perfect for a business stay. The hotel gym is great, nice feel to it and good choice of equipment. The restaurant attached to the hotel is superb with a fantastic breakfast buffet and in the evening the chef's n the open kitchen produce some really brilliant food. Overall the staff througout the hotel were friendly and very helpful.

I stayed regularly at the Radisson Plaza and this Clarion is far superior in every way. I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest from Dubai,

We humbly thank you for this amazing review from your stay with us. We are very glad to hear that we are your new choice of hotel in Oslo.

Until next time, have a great autumn!

Warm regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a great find, thanks to all the previous reviewers. As nearly everyone says the front of house staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the choice at breakfast is almost overwhelming!

I travelled with a friend and when I booked the room I specifically made a request for twin beds. When we went to the room we were presented with a double bed. The lady on the front desk was very helpful and managed to find a superior room (the last one) for an additional charge for the each of the nights we stayed, apparently unlike most hotels the doubles are unable to be split into twins. I have left a comment with the site that I booked the room saying that this should be made much clearer when booking a double room.

The complimentary evening meal was much better than I had expected and we ended up eating there most evenings, this made our whole stay in Oslo much more reasonable. The lounge area which is above the eating area is a lovely space, it's rare to stay in a hotel where there is a lounge area where you feel like you want to stay, so it was a shame that you had to leave by 22:00.

Finally, if I had to have a small grumble it would be about the room service, I thought the beds were made up to a very poor standard during our stay. However I could only give this hotel 5 stars, for someone who travels regularly to Norway and knows what an expensive country it is, this really was a fantastic find, and great value for money.When I am next on Oslo I will return and I sincerely hope the standards will be made.

Tussen takk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorgeChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We say tusen takk back to you for this fantastic review. We apologize for your experience with the poor standard of the room - this is not acceptable and your comments have been forwarded to the Housekeeping Manager who will take action.

Hope to see you at the hotel again shortly!

Warm regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Good locattion if not driving, central to most things

If you are bringing a car, ensure you park and be prepared to pay heaps or carry your stuff around the city!!

Reception at checkin-out were great

Really good breakfast, complex at hotel has restaurants etc. around it as well if you don't want to venture out, if you do go out then everythings in the city is close

What really put us off was the decor and room, bed was comfortable, wireless in room free but climate control and toilet floors heating made room really stuffy, in the end turned most things off!!

Lighting, painting, ambience was like something out of the 70's not our cup of tea but I amsure some will think it hip, chic or cool or a combination of all!

I would give 3.5 out of 5

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MadaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time writing this review from your stay at the hotel. Your feedback is important to us in our strive to become better.

We are sorry that the decor and design of the hotel was not for you - we hope that this did not ruin to much of your visit with us. Regarding the heating regulation in your room, the reception can help regulating from a central system and we would more than like to help you with this if you would stay with us again.

We hope to see you as a guest with us again shortly,

Until then, all the best!

Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Good location for business and pleasure. Kind and helpfull staff. The rooms feels new and fresh, all in all a very cool hotel. Cool Kate Moss statue right outside. Free evening meal and free cofee all day. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel was very good in every respect, except that there were no shelves in our room, so our clothes (apart from the ones we could hang up) had to stay in our suitcases for the duration of our 3 night stay.

The breakfast was excellent and the hotel was in an excellent location, just 5-10 minutes walk from Oslo Central Station.

In the foyer, guests could help themselves to free coffee and tea whenever they liked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing