We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, best breakfast ever...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice hotel, best breakfast ever...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Warm welcome in the reception :) Small, but nice room, comfortable bed, very nice bathroom. Unfortunately the cleaning was poor... Even though, it's the breakfast I will remember... gave me a kick start of the day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest from Sandefjord,
Many thanks for your feedback from your stay at the hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and that the breakfast will be remembered.

We take your comments about the cleaning with us - this is not the impression we wish to give our guests. Action will made for this not to happen again to you or any other guest staing with us.

Hope that you will choose us as your hotel also on your next visit to Oslo!

Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Best regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    429
    124
    53
    23
See reviews for
135
623
115
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at Clarion Hotel Folketeateret for 7 days for a business trip. This hotel is completely newly refurbished and reconstructed. If it comes to the general design, it is quite dark as it is situated in the middle of the high buildings and the view is not nice. The location on the other side is very good, just a few steps from the Karl Johans Gate and a few minutes by walk from the harbor, close to the Oslo Congress Centre and train station. My room was nice and spacious, but there was no wardrobe!! If you travel for more than 3 days, it is someting you will be missed in this hotel. There is no safe in the bedroom as well, you have to keep your valuable and personal things next to the reception desk and I did not feel comfortable with this.
The breakfast in the hotel restaurant is very good, wide range of choices for sweet or salty breakfast. There is a free refreshment in the evening in the lounge on the 7th floor, but be careful, the DRINKS are NOT for free!!!
In general I enjoyed my stay in this hotel and I would recommend it to any business traveller.

Room Tip: Some of the guests complained about the size of the room - too small, but my room was quite spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gajdik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest from Prague,
We thank you for taking the time giving us feedback from your stay with us. Your comment about the storage in the rooms have been noted and we are aware of not having a large wardrobe in the rooms. I hope this did not lead to too much inconvenience for you. On your next trip to Oslo, ask for a larger room. They offer more storage space for clothes and suitcases and are more suited for a long-term stay.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope that you will stay with us again!

All the best,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nice rooms (I understand that some of them may be very small), good location. The arcade from where you enter the hotel provides a nice 'continental' feel. Some nice restaurants there.

Breakfast: Outstanding!

Supper: Ok +.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OutsideLuxuryTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest from Norway,
Thank you for this fantastic review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the "continental feel" of the passage in which we are situated. Stay tuned for more exciting news that will occur in the passage and in the hotel in the near future.

Hope to see you as a guest with us again soon!

Best regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The "good" was provided by very helpful staff, great breakfast and a functional evening meal - our special food requirements were met far in excess of expectation - Wonderful.,
The "bad" - dreadful decor (to me) Air conditioning problem (solved) Bad lighting - no porter, and a long haul to the taxi if with baggage. Nightclub noise was a real pain until the wee hours. Exercise extreme caution in the adjoining mall (and elsewhere) Some bad iPhone thieves working this beat!
Curtains did not close fully adding to sleep deprivation issue...

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank grjayBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest from Brisbane,
First of all, we appreciate you taking the time giving us feedback from your stay with us. Your comments are important to us since we are always striving to become better for our guests. I am sorry that our design was not for you - the design and focus on darker colours in some aspects of the hotel has been our choice of decor and I hope that this did not have a too much affect on your stay. Your comments for improvement has been taken into account and we hope that you will try us again on your next trip to Oslo.

Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Warm regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I need to start by making it clear that there is nothing fundamentally wrong with this hotel. The staff are very helpful and it does a lot of the important things right (free wifi , breakfast, clean, free evening meal, near to transport links, good gym).

However it was a number of small niggles that have reduced its rating, especially if you are a business traveller or spending an extended time in the hotel. 1- no plug for the sink by design , and reception were not able to supply one. Shaving was fun and a slight waste of water. 2 no draws for clothes, so the suitcase had to stay out all trip. No safe in room. 3 no obvious room service.

I would stay somewhere else of I returned, but wouldn't kick up a fuss if I 'had' to stay there again :-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nautair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest from Cheltenham,
Thank you for your review from your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you would "not mind" coming back to us :) To inform you, we will look into options for plugs to the sink - thank you for this idea! Regarding the roomservice - this is not part of our concept as a
Clarion Collection Hotel, we offer complimentary breakfast, afternoon coffee and light evening meal to all our guests by concept today. However, we have noticed that we do have guests at the hotel asking for roomservice and therefore there will be some news about this shortly. Stay tuned for more information about this on our homepage.

We hope to see you as a guest at the hotel again shortly!

Yours sincerely,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flekkefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here over 10 times for the last 2 years. A very convinient Hotel with perfect location to explore Oslo's restaurants, bars and nightlife. I have stayed here for business purpose and it is a very good Hotel for that purpose as well for the leisure travel. Nice evening buffet, but quality can vary if you stay for a few days. I recommend to try the restaurant Cantina Cortina just opposite the entrance from the Hotel. Good Breakfast.
The Beds are really comfortable. Rooms are nice decorated. I like the 7th Floor best and especially the rooms with Balcony.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for this fantastic review from your stay with us!
We are very happy to hear that you are a frequent guest at the hotel and that you also enjoy the service offers in the passage with its different restaurants.

As your favourite hotel in Oslo :) - we wish you a great summer and hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Checking out today and had a pretty decent stay here.

Liked: close to train and shopping, comfortable bed, free wifi, great hair dryer, great breakfast and coffee. Free evening light foods.

Disliked: the wall units that try to look like trendy compact storage - the door doesnt open all the way since the unit blocks it. Temp is too warm for us at 23c and not adjustable. Hallways are very hot. Lack of flat surfaces in the bathroom to set things and the shower water goes everywhere (although I understand open showers are standard in Europe).

Warning: pack your own toiletries, as no shampoo or bar soap is provided. You must purchase it from reception.

With all the freebies I could not understand the lack of basic toiletries, especially in an American chain. Other than this everything is just fine. Great location, comfortable, pleasant. Overall a solid 4-star.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest from New York,
Many thanks for taking the time posting this review from your stay with us. We are glad for your positive notes about location and the offers at the hotel.

We have noted your comments abour storage in the room and the lack of toiletries in the bathroom. We are always looking into ways to improve our products and we are open for all suggestions. Together with my colleagues at the hotel we will look into improvements on this matters. Regarding the warm room and hallways - this was unfortunately a result of a defected server on the roof of the hotel and this has now been solved. I am sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you at your stay.

All of us at the hotel wish you welcome back to us and we hope to see you again shortly,

Until then - enjoy the rest of your summer!

Best regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing