We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more, not convinced, not very exciting food or service”
Review of ORO Restaurant

ORO Restaurant
Ranked #692 of 1,446 Restaurants in Oslo
Price range: $33 - $67
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expected more, not convinced, not very exciting food or service”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

When going dining at place like this the reference-level is somewhat raised even if this in the bar & grill section of the restaurant.

The service was mediocre and under pair for what one could expect and the food was not very interesting nor particularly tasteful. We all had different courses but all had starter, mains and dessert. The soup with scallops was tasty but the scallops themselves could might as well had been left out as they had no texture or flavor. The main courses around the table was fish and poultry with beans and mashed potatoes. Once again one is expecting a whole lot more either tasteful or more exotic dishes than this: boring in taste, presentation and garnish.

The dessert was unexpected and not very tasty, a mash-up of ice-cream, crackers and powdered chocolate, salty and sweet, described best as weird and cheap.

Then there is the issue of the price. All-in-all it is not much more to say than that this place is overpriced compared to expectations and what you get - from the food itself and the service level.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReginaldSpecter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    55
    21
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I loved the private setting of this restaurant. The two menu choices are either a four course or a ten course, with or without wine pairing. We chose the four course which was deliciously prepared, high quality regional and imported ingredients. Its classic food but prepared in a modern way without being pretentious. The cod was fantastic as was the Iberico Ham and the dessert was light, innovative and satisfying. The wine pairings where safe choices, nothing unexpected, but solid and good quality. I will return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik_M_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Used to be my favourite lunch restaurant..”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

But then they changed the whole team a year ago (-ish) and never came back.

Food was still very good, but waiters rarely managed to deliver the food in an ok manner (either 5 minutes between meals for 2 persons, wrong course, one hot and one cold course etc). It took 5 lunches before they got it right.

The warm, cozy atmosphere turned into a place trying to be professional with a cold face. At least - then do it right!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OmarOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I had a business meal here, very pleasant. The starters were excellnet, the main (I had fish) was delicious and the dessert was also fantastic. Combined with an acceptable wine list that compliments the style of food this is a very pleasant restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I was there today with my friends for dinner. Food was delicious and service was amazing. It was one swedish girl and one girl which was speaking norwegian but she wasnt norwegian. They were both very nice. We also liked the atmosphere :) i can only recomend. We were very satisfied

Helpful?
Thank Simona V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed ORO Restaurant also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to ORO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing