We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine food, but expensive...”
Review of Big Horn - Majorstua - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Big Horn - Majorstua
Price range: $69 - $69
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Big Horn Steak House på Majorstua er en uformell biffrestaurant med lun atmosfære i særegne, rustikke kjellerlokaler. Gjester hygger seg i et avstressende miljø der de kalkede murveggene og mørke treverket er dekorert med stemningsskapende elementer fra den amerikanske westernperioden. Hovedretten på menyen er møre og saftige biffer i alle størrelser og spennende varianter, men salat, kylling og fisk er også faste innslag. Restauranten på Majorstua har alle rettigheter og sitteplasser til 116 personer. Velkommen til et saftig biffmåltid i et avstressende og hyggelig miljø!
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Fine food, but expensive...”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Nice steaks, but too expensive.. will cost around 300-400 NOK for just the main course. Nice located at Majorstua, but the restaurant sadly has no outside seating.
However, a great place if your up for fine meat.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FyFazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant - knowledgable staff”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Not the cheapest place (hey its Oslo after all) but the quality of the food was fantastic and the product knowledge of the staff especially around the wine was amazing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A place my kids liked a lot”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Not a place to go when the sun is shining, but otherwise cozy enough. My teenager kids and I had a lovely afternoon here before the movie at Colosseum. The chef had a lucky day and the steaks were not perfect, but almost perfect. We ordered a lot of extras like sauces, creamed mushroms and onion rings - and enjoyed it a lot. The service was very good and friendly.The kids were thrilled and said we had to come back to this place. And we did, but to Aker Brygge which was a disappointment to us all. This is not really a surprise. The small Big horn restaurants are usually much better than the big one at tourist trap Aker brygge. Go to Majorstua instead. It is also close to the big cinema Colosseum and not too far from Vigelandsparken.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luhlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
1,054 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“OK - but forgettable”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Better than it's cousin on Aker Brygge, and OK if you want a fast meal with no fuzz - but the whole concept, which was new in the early 90th is no a bit boring.

Helpful?
Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cramped place, average food”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Cramped place, average food. This is a cellar-restaurant at upper Majorstua. It's quite small and feels cramped, with unattentive waiters and average food. Still, it's an okay place for steaks and overpriced cava. But there's certainly better places in Oslo to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Horn - Majorstua also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing