We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saga Hotel Oslo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saga Hotel Oslo
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and I would definitely stay there again. The entire hotel is lovely and upscale. The location is wonderful and the staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast room is so inviting and pretty. The breakfast buffet was huge, everything was very clean and the staff very friendly. The only issues we had was that the room was small, but then this is Europe, and the shower is a European style with the shower floor being flat with no edge. The water leaked out from under the shower doors and we had to use towels to keep it from spreading. We told the manager and he was going to get it fixed. This is definitely the European experience of grace and good taste.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OkTravelingGirls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    216
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
87
313
41
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jerusalem
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

After a 10 day trip in the nature of norway we were a little concerned how we were going to readjust to the city. Arriving at Saga - was just perfect. The vibe of this hotel is just on the mark. quiet yet has a great positive energy. we had a great room - it was large and clean. The staff was extremely helpful and we had free parking and wifi. We met interesting people from all over the world in the lounge.
We loved the area and were thrilled to be more with the locals. we took a ten minute walk and we were at the park of the sculptures and four minutes away from a main shopping area (of course everything in Norway is sooo expensive who wants to buy anything).
IT's a great choice to feel the real city of oslo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brendann20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Saga was our last hotel in Norway and made for an excellent end to a two-week vacation. We chose the hotel based on reviews and because it promised to be quiet. Although it's distance from the city center might appear to be a liability, it's an easy walk from the National Theater and you still get the benefit of a quiet street with little traffic. It's served by the Briskeby tram line (terminating two blocks from the hotel) if you're not in the mood for a walk. The rooms are spacious, the windows of excellent quality, the beds comfortable, and they have blackout curtains (if you're traveling in the summer). The included breakfast is generous, offering much more than the standard cold cuts and jams. While there are few restaurants near the hotel, I'd recommend Bolgen & Moi (corner of Briskebyveien and Lovenskiolds Gate).

We had a late flight our of Gardemoen airport so we spent some time in the reading area of the lobby and the hotel allowed us not only to store all our bags, but to access them several times throughout the day. My only suggestion would be to suffer through the tram-to-the-train to get to the airport. Though they called in a taxi quite quickly, the hotel staff underquoted the cost of the taxi significantly (though to be fair part of that was a time adjustment for when we actually left). All in all an excellent hotel that I would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We started a week long trip through Norway & Sweden at the Saga Hotel Oslo, and the hotel was easily one of the the best parts of our stay in Oslo. The neighborhood was great, the staff was super friendly, and the breakfast was just fantastic. I wish I had the recipe for their lefse, because it was the best we had at the places we stayed in all of Norway! The hotel is well located, just short walks to the palace and Frognerparken, and still walkable to the center of town. We loved everything about the Saga Hotel Oslo, and hope to come back and stay there again. Tusen takk!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having walked just 10mins into town we appreciate how well placed the hotel was in this quiet neighbourhood - the staff are charming and always with a smile and very helpful - great breakfast and very comfortably designed rooms. We write this 6 days later having travelled across southern Norway - the Saga hotel was the best overall and the cheapest and anybody who complains about details like soap dispensers has missed the point - we would recommend the Saga in a heartbeat! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VivekaNeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A little out of the way, but well worth the quiet!! The Saga is in a great neighborhood. Close to the Vigeland Park, and a nice walk to everything else!! Great service, wonderful room! Highly Recommended!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasCouple66047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I've stayed for a weekend and was disappointed by the fact that the room I have reserved online was not available when I arrived. Instead of an upgrade, I got a downgrade. Good thing the reception on duty was very polite and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagahoteloslo, Front Office Manager at Saga Hotel Oslo, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Clayton,

We are sorry for your trouble this weekend. Actually we hade a problem with the former guests who broke a bedleg and therefore we had to give you another room. We where fully booked and could not give you any other room. I trust my colleagues deleted the upgrade and gave you the price you deserve. As a small and the only independent hotel in Oslo we always do whats best for the customer, but sometimes unforseen things happend and for that we are sorry.

Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of the hotel, a one star rating is never positive and a big disappointment for us, but if you ever return we will hopefully give you the room you orderd and truly deserve.

Have a nice summer:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
The Thief
#2 of 88 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 88 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel Oslo

Property: Saga Hotel Oslo
Address: Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saga Hotel Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Saga Hotel Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing