We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Saga!”
Review of Saga Hotel Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saga Hotel Oslo
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning Saga!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in August, 2012. The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from the royal palace and park in an area of lovely old mansions, most now occupied by embassies. A main shopping street with lovely shops and restaurants (curently torn up during construction of a new subway line) is only a couple of blocks away. The harbor and city hall are about 15 minutes away by foot.

The hotel is beautifully decorated with a lovely lounge area just off the reception desk. Our room was spacious and attractively decorated. The bath was quite large, but had a very small, corner shower which invariably leaked out unto the rest of the bathroom ( think ship's bath). There were a few inconveniences in the room such as the switch foe the desk lamp was behind the desk; there was no electrical outlet near the desk; and no place to place personal cosmetics on a shelf or stand in the bathroom.

Our loft room faced a busy street only a half block from the street where the streetcar ran, so it was rather noisy. In addition, we were there on a Saturday night and a wedding party staying there was very noisy. I mentioned it to the reception staff in the morning, but she was unapologetic. In fact, the staff was a mixture of very pleasant and helpful folks, and those who seemed bored and unfriendly.

The hotel advertises on-site parking, but this is limited to about 6 highly sought after spots in front of the hotel. Our first night, we parked behind the building where there are 1 or 2 additional spots, but it is very tight quarters.

The breakfast was very good, although located in a mostly windowless room in the lower level.

All in all, we. Might stay at the Saga again, but there is room for improvement.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank glenbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    246
    52
    13
    6
See reviews for
104
382
52
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My experience: Great location, great, friendly staff, nice, quiet room. What more can I say. Some commented on slow response, I would term it chilled out atmosphere. As I see it, stuff takes time, and there is no reason to stress about it. The staff were attentive and we had a good chat while my issues got sorted out. Would definately stay there next time. My biggest issue was lack of black ink in the printer, but all got resolved in good time ;)

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Shmoopty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here my own whilst catching up with several friends in Oslo. I loved the quirky styling - with images of old Oslo on the walls and furniture. My room was spacious and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent, and the staff friendly and helpful. This is the place to stay if you want to be away from the centre but in easy walking distance. I'll definitely be back - and have recommended it to my Norwegian friends too - they were very impressed when they came to meet me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkelandmask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The pictures in the internet and the comments here were very promising.
The experiences made during my 3-nights-visit though ended up in my decision not to book here again!
The facts in short:
- after checking in (could be quicker) i informed reception that there were no towels at all in the room. i had to call reception again after a 4 hour reception tour through the city. then the were brought up by the girl at the reception.
- reception and 'bar' (in 1) are staffed with just 1 employee (untrained) per shift.
- guest rooms are ok, but no personal, 4-star touch.
- beds not comfortable
- bathrooms are very basic and not practical in use. no interior design bonus here at all.
- breakfast area in the lower basement very dark and again no highlight reagading interior design
- quality of the breafast food: ok. but not more than that.
- quality of the breakfast beverages: poor. e.g.: coffee in thermos jugs on the buffet.
- service during breakfast: non excisting. one day i got to the breakfast room a few minutes after the official breakfast time was over. the employees (including housekeeping) was having breakfast. none of them asked me if they could be of any service. the not even told me the breakfast area was closed
- check out took nearly half an hour. the recptionist had to call 'a manager' to devide the bill into room charge and food&beverage
- housekeeping needs improvement. hairs (not ours!) in bed, bathroom. soap dispenser empty.
- comment of the management at check out regarding the service of housekeeping: no the beds only get new sheets when the guest checks out.
- i guess all this says enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BMactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagahoteloslo, General Manager at Saga Hotel Oslo, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments.

As stated in our website and from what you can see in the picture, the hotel is completely renovated and re-opened April of 2011.

Our main goal since the very beginning was and still are is to give our guest a homely atmosphere, which separates us from other chain hotels. “We are a small hotel with a big personality” is our slogan which implies that we aim to be a little different among other hotels. We have conducted a survey as to what a hotel should have and these are the following feedback we have received: Top quality beds, Air-condition, hearty breakfast, quietness and calmness, and good personal service – these are things we have in focus. Would you rather have absolutely everything you are accustomed to in all your travels, then we are not the alternative for you.

The hotel has 47 rooms, one staff working every shift is sufficient unless there is a necessity for another, in which case the hotel manager on duty will lend a helping hand. The reason the bar and the reception is so close to each other is because we wanted to be able to serve our guests some drinks in case they want one.

Our house keeping department is good in what they do, but sometimes it could happen that a hair strand might fall off from one of them while making the hotel guest’s bed, this, we apologize for. I will see if they could start using a hair-net later on.

Each and every person has their own preferences about a hotel’s design and its personality. We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your standard while you were staying here with us. However, we are still proud to say that Saga Hotel Oslo was the only hotel in Norway which has received a recognition for its outstanding design in 2012. You may wish to read about this in our website if you have the time.

With regards to the frequency of changing bed sheets, we usually do this every third day for long staying guests (unless they request for it to be changed sooner than what we normally do). I have tried to talk to you on the phone regarding this matter one night, but you did not want to talk to me.

Again, we would like to apologize that the quality of our hotel and service did not meet your usual expectation in all your travels. Given another chance, we, of course would like to welcome you again here at Saga Hotel Oslo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Nestled in a pretty part of Oslo (15 mins by #19 tram from Sentralstajon), Saga hotel had a lot of promise. For a frequent traveler however the omissions are glaring. I place most of my criticism at the room which fail to have any of the following:
- safe
- luggage shelf
- kettle
- bathroom fan
- space in bathroom for toiletries
- soap/conditioner/facewasher/shower mat

In contrast, the room did have nice soft beds and adjustable windows overlooking a courtyard which were plusses.

Things like waiting almost 5 minutes to check in, clean linen trolleys in the corridor at 10pm, average directions and incorrect information can, in isolation, be forgiven. But that all, rather than any, occurred makes this hotel's position in the top ten of a cosmopolitan city as wonderful as Oslo incomprehensible.

For the sophisticated of seasoned traveller, my recommendation is to explore elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pkirbyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagahoteloslo, General Manager at Saga Hotel Oslo, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hello and thank you for your comments. The management is in the process of discussing this matter with all its employees. Please allow me to say something as well.

Since the beginning, our impression of the frequent travelers we have and we’ve had is that they want to have a home in a city when they are far away from home, so to speak. Of course, this “homey feeling” at Saga Hotel Oslo isn’t always preferable to some and this, we truly understand and respect.

During the hotel building, we have asked our regular frequent business travelers and some guests from different walks of life about what they think would be the most important aspects of a hotel they wanted to stay for a number of days or for a day. This is what the feedback we have received from them: Heavenly beds, delicious breakfast, air-condition, free parking, quiet and calm atmosphere and personal service. We set our focus based on these when we re-opened our door to our guests.

The hotel also offers a centralized safe for our guests (the said safe is in the reception’s office), the electric water boiler is available on upgraded rooms only. It is requierd to have ceiling fan or regular electric fan in all rooms. Of course this is also the case concerning soap.

I have to agree with you about the trolleys with clean sheets standing in the corridors sometimes. Those were usually delivered at 09:30 a.m. every day and we apologized that you felt uncomfortable seeing those upon leaving your room at 10:00 a.m..

Saga Hotel aims to be different from all hotel chains, in a sense that we do not want to follow any hotel’s dogmatic way of running things, hence, we consider our hotel an alternative to those who want to experience the feeling of being at home when they are far away from home. This might be the reason why the hotel is on the top 5 among hotel choices in this beautiful city of Oslo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Saga Hotel is a well appointed boutique hotel that is within walking distance of some very nice restaurants. That being said, be sure to get a room on the Eilert Sundsgate side. As the other street is very busy with people and traffic at all hours of the day and night. Closing the window is helpful, but some warm evenings preclude this. When you do get up in the morning, though, the breakfast is great- lots of choices from healthy fruit and cereal to bacon and eggs.
The location should be noted as a little off the tourist path- Tram 19 stops a few blocks away, and it is a 20 minute walk (mostly uphill) from the National Theatre, where the airport express train departs.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoulieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 951 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We really liked this hotel. Oslo is an expensive city, and this hotel was a good value for the money. It has parking behind the hotel and the best breakfast buffet we had on our three week trip. Wireless was reasonably fast. Comfortable beds and nice staff. Beautiful room. On a great block; close to mass transit, in a cool area. Great choice.

Room Tip: I bet they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwelshCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
1,499 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Grand Hotel
#14 of 100 in Oslo
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel Oslo

Property: Saga Hotel Oslo
Address: Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saga Hotel Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Saga Hotel Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing