We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK food, incredibly rude staff”

Kafe Oslo Litteraturhuset
Ranked #615 of 1,427 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Cafe, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: On the ground floor of the House of Literature you find Kafé Oslo - Litteraturhuset's café, bar and restaurant, with tables both indoors and outdoors. Here you can get lunch or dinner, or just something to drink. The menu at Kafé Oslo's is changed frequently. The kitchen is open Monday-Saturday until 10 pm (closed 3.30-4 pm) and Sundays until 6 pm (lunch menu only). In the innermost end of the café you find LesBar (=Readable), with deep chairs with reading lamps and a comprehensive collection of newspapers and magazines. Kafé Oslo is a literature café with its own stage and regular events. Litteraturhuset (the House of Literature) opened in 2007 and is the first centre of its kind in Norway.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK food, incredibly rude staff”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A friend invited my wife and I to join her for dinner at Kafe Oslo. We were happy to go try it. Unfortunately, the waiters were all very rude throughout the entire meal. We've lived in Norway for two years and are accustomed to low-key, Norwegian-style service, but this was just rudeness. My wife liked her meal (herring), and mine was slightly above average (pork cheeks), but the service left a bad taste in our mouths.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    42
    24
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great atmosphe, good wine and good food.”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

I have been here a couple of times just to have a drink. Very nice location and atmosphere, you can just sit on the stairs outside the restaurant and enjoy the sun and a drink, or get a table and order food inside or out. Have tried the shrimp salad and it was very good, I highly recommend it. This is a place to visit on a sunny day. If in Oslo, try getting here. Just 5 minutes from the castle thought the park.

Helpful?
Thank Perry3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent for children”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you go though the rear door and up a lift you will come to a most fabulous children's playroom which is completely free of charge

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
229 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Simply love this place!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I love the mix there. You may go for a meal, a drink, tea with a friend, a seminar, a chat, to watch writers of all nationalities out with their publishers, and sit midst budding writers with their laptops and an ever near-empty cup of something. Cool and relaxed staff. Tasty food, a bit on the expensive side considering the portion you are served. Drop in to read a paper, or for a full evening with or without joining one of the mny programmes they offer over various floors and halls. Even theatre and music! Televised debates every Thursday, directly on NRK (Norway's BBC). My favourite in town!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Norwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good cheerful place for a drink”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had a few drinks here on Norway day with friends and it was a really nice atmosphere with friendly service. We didn't have any food but the people around us who had eaten seemed to have had decent sized portions and very happily tucked in.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kafe Oslo Litteraturhuset also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Kafe Oslo Litteraturhuset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing