We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eating out in Oslo - Bambus is a value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bambus Sushi - CLOSED

Bambus Sushi
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Thai, Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Oslo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eating out in Oslo - Bambus is a value for money”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Bambus is located in different places in Norway; my presentation of Bambus is from their restaurant in Majorstuen in Oslo. The restaurant is easily accessible by public transport.

Eating out in Norway is very expensive, so use your money wisely. Bambus offers excellent food at reasonable prices (in Norway).

They offer varied dishes like Thai dishes, Sushi and other Asian cuisine dishes.
Bambus is often crowded in the early afternoon because people go out to dinner straight from work. It is advisable to book in advance during weekends. When Bambus is crowded it may take time to get the food you ordered, but it is really tasteful when it arrives.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prospin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    17
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad acoustics, slow service, but okay food on a Friday evening.”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

It took about half an hour before we were offered drinks and prawn crackers. The restaurant was almost full, and service was slow. In addition the noise level was too high to make conversation easy. It's a pretty small place, and they definitely need more stuff on the walls to improve the acoustics.

I had sushi, which was well presented, and tasty. Not the best I've had, but at least the fish was fresh! My company had green and red Thai curry. Unfortunately, I prefer the curry I make. Their curry was very creamy, and not as bursting with flavour as a good Thai curry should be.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maia1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Mmmm!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I like this restaurant:) We've been a couple of times, and havent been disapointed.
It's actually really nice, if you want sushi this is the place to go (in Oslo) And there
are multiple locations too! And of course this seems expensive, but i mean everything in
Norway is expensive so:)

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerRr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fairly good Asian quisine for Oslo to be”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

A little noisy and crowded, and still a good choice for food after a visit to the nearby cinema.
They serve cross-over Asian food and my favorites are the Japanese Teryaki box and of course their fantastic Thai quisine Tom Yum Goong! This is the most Thai-like spicy clear soup I've had outside Thailand! Go for it!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knutmosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great service.”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stylish asian restaurant, serves excellent dishes. Great service.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ver1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bambus Sushi also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing