We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant evening”
Review of Feinschmecker

Feinschmecker
Ranked #99 of 1,480 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $113 - $113
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Feinschmecker is one of the best known restaurants in the capital city, ranked among the top in Oslo since it opened in 1990. Yet its doors are open to all. Guests receive a warm welcome, whether it be for a gourmet meal or just for a glass of wine. Feinschmecker also welcomes parties and caters for a variety of events! You and your guests can start the evening with a visit to the wine cellar, move up to the kitchen and then end with a meal in the restaurant's chambre separée.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were three people going for a seven course dinner, including wine menue.
It was a pleasant welcome, a good table and an exciting menue. We enjoyed the evening, even if we had a feeling that the waitress was very bussy and had not time to give us the extra little chat/comments that makes you feel beeing taken care of. The chef and his/her team had done a good job. Every dish was well presented and tasted fine, but we felt that the main dish, the lamb, lacked something.
Feinschmecker had for 19 years a Michelin star, but lost it this year. I think the team has to work hard to the star back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Odd Karsten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    24
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good but not perfect”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

After having experienced a perfect evening at hos Thea the day before, my expectations for Feinschmecker were very high, too high I assume. The half dozen oysters were alright, close to freezing temperature and somehow not as fresh as he ones I ate 2 days before in a restaurant close to the harbor. I repeat they were alright (not bad). The turbot itself was perfect, the sauce and chanterelles too salty. Here again, it was not bad but by far not perfect. The desert wasn't too special either. The coffee came out of nespresso machine. The set up is nice, the atmosphere Very Formal, the service was average, boring. The crew performed their duty in a robotic way, nothing special, no fun.
All by all by far not worth the amount paid

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rybremnazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Classy restaurant and delicious food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a very nice dinner at this restaurant. Food was tasty, and the wine menu was specially tailored for each course. Suitable for business, celebration, friends, dates and people with a lot of money who like good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frasti001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“still a well kept secret in Oslo...”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

from the limited amount of reviews, I can gather that this restaurant is still a well-kept secret in Oslo. we had white asparagus with hollandaise sauce - delicate and superb; fried foie grass - melts in your mouth; grilled crayfish tail - you will go back again and again for this one; wild boar in cranberry red wine reduction - a seasonal delicacy; poached veal shiitake mushrooms - the best veal I've had (and I always order veal of on the menu); our deserts included milk chocolate and pineapple coconut ice cream with passion fruit gelee - have it and your life will be changed forever. wines included the sommelier's recommendations of red bourgonne and a desert wine of note.
ask your waiter for wines he would recommend with each dish - he is knowledgable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoolRamblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food - excellent service”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one of Oslos finest restaurants. The menu contains traditional international dishes, made with a Michelin touch.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tommy6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feinschmecker also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Feinschmecker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing