We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oslo's oldest restaurant”
Review of Engebret Cafe

Engebret Cafe
Ranked #52 of 1,697 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $37
Cuisines: Deli, Seafood, Norwegian, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant Guests enter the low corner building originating from the 1700's, Oslo's oldest restaurant, where staff and guests could celebrate Engebret Cafe's 150th anniversary in 2007. When it opened, the restaurant was located right opposite the old Christiania Theater and was often visited by actors and audience. Engebret also provides banquet services, designed to accommodate both small and large gatherings.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Engebret Café is the oldest restaurant in Oslo originating from the 1700's. We chose this restaurant for the special occasion motivated by its old-fashioned decoration, artistic aura, and a traditional Norwegian cuisine of the highest quality. The restaurant is situated on the quiet nice square in the heart of old Oslo. There are many paintings on the walls of the restaurant's hall demonstrating the famous writers, artists and actors who visited this café. The restaurant offers traditional meat and fish courses however the vegetarian dishes are also available. Besides veal and beef you can taste the dishes cooked from reindeer and whale served with the delicious sauces. You are also welcome to order the fish and seafood dishes cooked by traditional Norwegian receipts. As to the starters do not miss “A taste of northern Norway” with gratinated king crab, caviar, smoked fillets of whale, salmon tartar, slices of reindeer meat, and cod tongues. It is an opportunity to taste the most famous gourmet items all-in-one. The waiters were kind, the service was rather fast. We were a bit disappointed when the house special dessert – Engebert’s cream pudding – was not available but the other desserts were also good. The prices are high as it is usual in Norway and higher than in the most similar places in Oslo but if you wish to feel an atmosphere of old Oslo and enjoy the delicious food it is the place to visit. I shall certainly recommend Engebret Café to my friends.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nikolai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 247 of 672 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

beautiful interiors and easy food. We didn't have much time for lunch and this restaurant was perfect. There was a buffet with local sandwiches made with salmon ,other fishes and herbs. Not too expensive(at least in Norwegian parameters since everything is super expensive..) and in a very nice position close to the castle

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

A friend of mine recommended this place to me, as a place with good food and experience. I have already thanked him for this since it was good recommendation.

This restaurant offers indoor and outdoor seating, the second is especially great in long summer evenings when it is still warm and sunny. They have a nice summer menu put together form variety of dishes. There is something almost for everyone, but they do not offer typical dishes on top of everything like they do in so many restaurants.

I had a Taste of northern Norway for starter. This is a combination of several small dishes: gratinated king crab, caviar, smoked whale filet, salmon tartar, reindeer carpaccio, Norwegian shrimps and codfish tongue. The codfish tongue was not that good, but everything else was great.

For my main dish I had roasted arctic char with potatoes, spinach and radish salad. It was really great with just a bit too much butter.

They also offer nice selection of Norwegian beers some standard brands and some from microbreweries.

Altogether it was a great experience. The waiters are very pleasant and even with quite high prices it was wort it.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CirilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Had dinner with a bunch of colleagues on the square in front of the restaurant. Engebret serves traditional Norwegian dishes, such as reindeer and, very politically incorrect, whale meat. The food was good, as was the wine, and the service friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PMK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

First thing first, the Engebret Café is not a café but a restaurant! One of the oldest (if not the oldest!) in Oslo. Even Edvard Munch went there... So the venue has a special atmosphere!!
Food-wise, it is very good! I went there for a business dinner, and all the guests were delighted with their salmon! I got some duck and beef, it was very good too! The wine selection was good, especially the desert one!! I feel the dessert could have been better as it was way less tasty than the rest of the meal (we got some sort of whipped cream "mousse" with apple mousse).
The service was excellent! Since we were a big group (around 35 guests), we had a room upstairs all for ourselves where we hung out long after dinner was finished!

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MamCandig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Engebret Cafe also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Engebret Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing