We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic-chic, superb and authentic”

Gamle Raadhus Restaurant
Ranked #118 of 1,795 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 27, 2019

Gamla Radhus is one of the more authentic restaurants you can find in Oslo. It is in a very old but beautifully restored building. The decoration is a mix of rustic and elegant. The menu has some very interesting choices. We stopped by here for lunch and tried the fish soup, beet salad and crispy toast with braised pork's neck. The fish soup was served with freshly baked bread and it was excellent. By far the best fish soup we had in Norway. Beet salad was very fresh, the dressing was perfectly balanced and toasted pumpkin seeds gave it just the right amount of crunch. The open faced braised pork's neck was supremely tender and rich with flavors and the pickled onions provided the perfect amount of acidity to complement the savory toast. Presentation and service was excellent. We will definitely come back to Gamla Raadhus for dinner next time we are in Oslo.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ravelshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 217 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2019

First night in Oslo and after a superb concert at the Opera House we stumbled upon this
Old fashioned dining room that was like a gentlemen’s club.
The decor was old world and had the fine dining touch with linen table clothes candle light and friendly service without being pushy.
Our starters were exquisite with wonderful flavors
and our wild turbot was superb.
We had a chilled bottle of cava served in proper stemware and our evening was a memorable experience.
Having had a restaurant for 32 years personally the only suggestion I would make was a little background music would liven up the atmosphere.
We will definitely return on our next visit to Oslo.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank danmullane3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

One of the oldest buildings of Oslo houses this restaurant. They serve delicious cod with carrots and potatoes. Friendly staff and good wines.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank matthijsds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

This place is great. It has a very traditional layout, with well spaced candle lit tables, coat racks in the entrance way, etcetera. The food is the best we had in Norway. There is a choice between a set menu and a la carte. The set menu looked like it was high quality and good menu, but we opted for a la carte. That said, we requested a couple of things off the set menu, and this was no problem.
This was the first place we had found in Norway that offered langoustine—oddly, as these are also called Norway lobster. I had had these before, and encouraged the family to have them as entrees. To the English, they are scampi, and to us Australians, they look like freshwater yabbies, but the Europeans really know how to cook them, so they earn the more stylish name; and the Gamle Raadhus does them brilliantly. We opted for various meat or fish mains—all done perfectly, we decided, after exchanging tastes. Being in Norway, I couldn’t pass up the reindeer. Then the desserts were a work of art.
The service is friendly and professional, although the mains weren’t exactly fast, given that it wasn’t a busy night. Still, one has to accept that it takes time to cook differing dishes that beautifully, and serve them together. There is a good selection of wine, and when we asked for something by the glass that wasn’t offered by the glass, this wasn’t a problem. We came early on a quiet night, so walked straight in, but it is probably wiser to book.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Southtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2018

This must be the best traditional Norwegian restaruant in Oslo. The food is exactly how it should be, tasteful, fresh and plenty of it. It is not cheap, but well worth the price. We had "pinnekjøtt" - dried, salted rack of lamb ribs and "lutefisk" - the Norwegian speciality, dried cod fish prepaired in potash lye served with plenty of pease pudding, fried bacon cubes, bacon fat, good potatoes and mustard sauce. This served with aquavit and beer. Perfect! Two servings, and great service too. We had cream bruleé with black currant sorbet for dessert. Plenty and very, very good. All in all a great evening in very nice looking surroundings centrally situated in Oslo city.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IVerE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gamle Raadhus Restaurant also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Gamle Raadhus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing