We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Option In An Expensive City”
Review of P-Hotels Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
P-Hotels Oslo
Ranked #87 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Oslo is a city known to be very expensive. I agree to that but there is always a good option - P-Hotels Oslo is one of them.

The hotel is strategically located - heart of Oslo is just one block away. Oslo S is also near the hotel. The building and its interior is quite old but still presentable. The room is big and spacious unlike other budget hotels in Oslo which are like matchboxes. The toilet and bathroom is quite spacious too and I must say, above average when it comes to clealiness. I also commend the reception staff who were very genial and accommodating.

The hotel is worth your money!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarloLazado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 512 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on three occasions and in four rooms. So quite an experience. The location of the hotel is great. it is in the city center and next o the marina (and other places of intrerest) - so it is a nice walk. The SAS bus from the airport stops right next to the hotel making it more convenient. The hotel itself is simple - no frills. The rooms are neat and basic; nothing fancy; breakfast is a paper bag left outside your door in the morning with a sandwich, juice and fruit. So you would want to have a 2nd breakfast elsewhere. Tea and coffee is unlimited; the receptionist was helpful each time I went; free internet in rooms and have a spare one in the business center. but I feel that your stay in the hotel depends on the room you get; the last room was tiny and was the most uncomfortable. if you are on a short trip/a stop-over and on a shoe-string budget, this place would fit the bill

Room Tip: Rooms are better onto the road as gives more privacy; do check before taking the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I spent 3 nights in this hotel with my family. It's a pretty simple establishment, no frills or fancies but that's fine. Check in was less than stellar however. The receptionist was quite surly and curt with us and almost seemed annoyed that we disturbing her.

Aside from the less than warm welcome, I found our rooms to be quite efficient. Small and rather sparse but we didn't spend much time in our rooms. The only thing that bugged me was the bathroom, which was elevated off the ground. Honestly, going to the bathroom in the middle of the night ended up being quite hazardous because I kept forgetting I had to step up to avoid the height gap. Also, the shower partition was uneven resulting in water leaking out all over the floor. Something should really be done about this.

The hotel's location was brilliant. Across the street are convenience stores, it's near transport including the tram and the metro. Shops abound at every turn including bars, restaurants and cafes so you're quite spoiled for choice.

Overall, it's an okay hotel if you don't plan on spending much time in your rooms. Price comes with breakfast, which you have to decide upon when you check in. The breakfast was so so; sandwiches and an apple a day isn't exactly my cup of tea but again, the hotel's location means you can find a heartier breakfast elsewhere. The hotel also offers free internet, coffee and tea as well as a lounge where you can use a computer or simply sit down and hang out.

I think that this hotel is good for short stays. If you're looking for something more lavish, this isn't the place for you.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, I would suggest requesting a room that doesn't face the main stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warriorbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel is in a great neighborhood, Walking distance to the train station and most of the main attractions in Oslo.
One of the most affordable hotels in Oslo, it is perfect for a short stay (one – two days.) The staff is very nice and they provide free internet and breakfast, but the property is in need of renovation and the internet is very slow.
For longer stays, you may be better of spending twenty dollars more to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are usually quieter as Grentsen can be a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eli_puszkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I decided to stay at P-Hotels based on the recommendation from my travel hero Rick Steves. Rick has never steered me wrong, but I didn't agree with him on P-Hotels Oslo. We arrived at 11 pm and checked in ok. We requested a room with three beds and it was all set up for us. I forgot to ask when I made the reservation for a high floor or back-facing room and of course we were set-up in a low level, front-facing room. It was a Sunday night, so traffic was limited, but an electric bus cruised by often. I wouldn't have been able to stay in that room if it was more than one night. The walls in the room were pretty banged up and a window curtain was off the track, but the bathroom and bedding was clean.

The breakfast sandwich was ok. As an American, it is still odd to eat a ham and cheese sandwich for breakfast. Complimentary coffee and tea was available in the lobby.

The location was good for the limited site seeing that we were doing in Oslo. The front desk let us keep our bags in the locked luggage room off the lobby for 6 hours before we headed out to our next destination.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel has fantastic location in the centre of the city and is a 10min walk from Oslo S and next door to an entry into the Stortinget T bane station. The hotel is 2 blocks from Oslo’s main shopping street Karl Johans Gate.

The rooms are clean and an average size. The bathroom is also clean and of a good size but the main feature is the under floor heating. The hotel is quiet.

Breakfast is delivered to your room in the morning in a pack consisting of a sandwich of your choice, a piece of fruit and juice box.

The staff are helpful and friendly.

Olso hotels are not cheap but this hotel is the most affordable given its location and quality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank White_T_Shirt_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very good prices for a small hotel in the centre of Oslo. Take the SAS Flybus from Oslo airport and get off near the Bristol Hotel...it's a short walk back along the road. Good internet service, friendly desk staff, free American style coffee. They deliver breakfast to your door and were able to provide gluten free bread...good location for wandering downtown Oslo. great value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocBrown55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Gamle Oslo
Norwegian Hotel
Norwegian Hotel
#66 of 102 in Oslo
24 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#20 of 102 in Oslo
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#36 of 102 in Oslo
977 reviews
Anker Hotel
#46 of 102 in Oslo
1,433 reviews
Scandic Grensen
#33 of 102 in Oslo
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P-Hotels Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P-Hotels Oslo

Address: Grensen 19, Oslo 0159, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $74 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — P-Hotels Oslo 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your P-Hotels Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
p-Hotels Oslo Hotel Oslo
p Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing