We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Base for Visiting Oslo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Note: this is a 5-star rating *considering* the price. The lack of desk, poorly designed bathroom, limited towels and room cleaning service would not be acceptable in other hotels but these things affected my stay to a relatively small degree. In short, none of the faults are enough to drop a star. On to the review.

I stayed here while attending a conference which was being held at the Hotel Royal Christiania. That hotel was far too expensive for my budget so I stayed at this Xpress hotel instead. It was about 5 minutes walk from the conference hotel (and therefore 5 minutes walk from the center of Oslo downtown) so very convenient.

The room was quite small but brand new and comfortable, and had a trendy design. There was unfortunately no closet (hooks on the wall and some hangers) and no desk (a large sitting chair was unfortunately chosen instead of a small desk, which just ended up collecting all of the stuff I would've normally put on a desktop). As others mentioned, the soap dispenser fell off the wall (twice, once after being re-affixed). Not a major problem and I expect that once they actually affix them with screws rather than glue that won't be an issue anymore. Also, the "open plan" shower in the bathroom tends to get stuff awfully wet, particularly the toilet paper rolls which are just in the wrong spot and not covered up. Putting the toilet paper rolls up on the ledge above the toilet basically solves this problem but it would be nice if the hotel did something about this.

Breakfast was not included but I would not expect it to be for the price. It was available for 85 kronor, a real bargain in Oslo if you can believe it. It was quite high quality - I ended up eating there every morning and I was very satisfied. The granola in particular was fantastic - mix some yoghurt with oatmeal, raisins, dried mango and papaya, whole hazelnuts, whole cashews and coconut and you're ready to take on the world! The sandwiches available for breakfast were also brilliant (like my brie, apple and honey sandwich - yum).

The staff were very helpful. The checkin and checkout process is manual using their terminals but there was someone there always to help me out when I got stuck. Always very friendly and chatty.

Wireless Internet access was included, in the form of scratch cards that gave you a username and password for 4 hours of Internet access. I just always went back down when I needed a new one and was given one no problem so it was not an issue for me, but the 4 hour time limit might affect you if you rely on a consistent connection for multiple hours at a time (don't want to be dropped in the middle of a conference call or important download y'know).

The towels are not refreshed daily, though they can be for a nominal fee (30 kronor I think it was). In addition, you can get a complete room cleaning every day for something like 90 kronor (again, something like that - I don't recall) so that's an option. I did not do this though I was tempted since I only was given a single bath towel, but it dried quickly in the room so no problem there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ubernatural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,998)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,097 - 1,103 of 1,999 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

I chose this hotel because of the price and the fact it was new + close to the city centre of Oslo.
Compared to other rooms at other hotels, this is value for money. Its a funky hotel - modern.

The rooms are small, so if you plan to spend a lot of your stay inside the room, then you might want to go somewhere else (if you are sharing a room with another person).

Check-in and out is done through a self service machine - staff is there to help you if you need it.

The rooms are clean, comfortable beds etc. Looks like the photos on the web.

There is free internet access, and in the room there is a flip-down desk for your laptop.
You get towels, and if you want to get new towels every day - this costs an extra 30NOK, to get your room made up (including towels) is an extra 100NOK (this is if you want to have this done every day after your first night). Breakfast is optional and is 85 Kroner.
Allowing guests to choose what they want to spend money on is great! This pushes down the price of the room.

Location wise, it is a 10 minute walk from Oslo Central Station, in not the most beautiful part of the city centre, but a few minutes away from the main shopping street.

I would definetely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSBNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

If you get a 299 or 399 NOK per night deal from Choice's low price calendar, that's a really nice deal. But even full price (780 NOK) is not bad for this room, as the hotel is brand new. Rooms were not big, but I had a nice and quiet room. (The bathroom was small, and designed so that the toilet paper got wet from showering, otherwise great.)
I Never tried buying the breakfast (85 NOK).
It's a 5-10 min walk to Stortinget/Egertorget (The Parliament), but only 1 minute to Youngstorget and great restaurants, like Fyret, Hell's Kitchen and Santinos (Italian cuisine). So, I like the location.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flips01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimenV, Hotel Management at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2011

Wow - thanks for an amazing review. We like that you love our location (we love it too).

Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Nice and fresh hotel. Great service from a sweet danish girl in the reception.
Rooms are nicely sized- perfect for two travellers. Big bathroom is nice.

Missed MTV/music channel on the TV for early Saturday night..
And the soap dispenser fell twice from the wall. Except this- I had a great stay at the Xpress!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian19822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimenV, Hotel Management at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2011

Hello Christian,

Thank you for a great review and great feedback! We've fixed the issue with the soap dispensers, and solely because of your tip about music early Saturday nights - we're adding a music channel to our television channel package (see - TripAdvisor works!).

Thanks again, and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Cheap hotel in Oslo, not so easy to get the best rate from there website.
The room is small, just enouch for the bed. Was not very good cleaned.
When you shower the toilett paper gets wet, and also my soap dispenser fell of the wall.

But it's a good location, and cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank theBobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimenV, Hotel Management at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you for good feedback.

We have addressed the issues you mentioned:
- We're aware of some issues with our booking engine and are currently working on making it even easier to book our cheapest rates.
- We've mounted the soap dispensers once more (with good glue this time)
- We're moving the toilet paper holder to a more water proof place in the bath
- We're constantly working on keeping room cleaning to a level as high as possible and will assure you that you won't experience that again.

Again, thank you so much - we need feedback like this to improve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

This hotel is brand new and is situated in the middle of the city. If you are lucky enough to get a room here for 299 NOK, it is probably the best deal you can get in Oslo.

The rooms are very clean, bigger than most budget rooms, and have a very nice bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank bobby44Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimenV, Hotel Management at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2011

Very central, good value - exactly what we want to be. Thank you for an awesome review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

This hotel takes the hotel experience to a new level. We played pinball in the reception, and foosball in the basement, were we also had breakfast. Had to pay extra for breakfast, but when the room is so cheap, it's worth it.
Great location, only 5 minutes from Oslo S.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimenV, Hotel Management at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2011

Great to read that you enjoyed our pinball machines, please come back for another shot at beating the high score - and thank you for taking the time to review us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#19 of 102 in Oslo
1,613 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#40 of 102 in Oslo
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget

Address: Moellergata 26, Oslo 0179, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $94 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfor Hotel Xpress Youngstorget. Opened 2011. Youngstorget, Oslo. Budget hotel. Small rooms. Plenty of attitide, low rates & love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing