We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for short trips to Oslo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good value for short trips to Oslo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have stayed here 4 days during NewYear holidays and it i believe it was the best time-value-location choice for us. Here are a few tips about the place we liked: 1) Location - only 7-10 minutes by foot from the Cental railroad station (do NOT try to take a taxi - it will cost you 170 NOK or 20+Euro for a 5minute ride); 5 minutes from Gronerland ,which is a very cool and creative area of the city; 20 minutes by foot from key sightseeing areas such as Opera House and BarCode district, Akershus fortress and Aker Brygge district. 2) Quite area almost without any traffic 3) A few nice bars nearby 4) Fast check-in and check-out (mostly self-check-in|outs via special terminal at reception) 5) Girls at receptions were always very helpful and polite. 6) Free unlimited tee and coffee at the reception (which is a huge benefit in such expensive city as Oslo) 6) you are able to order simple breakfast at the bottom level, but it is more convinient to find some other place in the city. 7) You can purchase some light alcohol at the reception, but you are not permitted to take it away - it is strictly forbidden by local laws. 8) rooms are very simple yet not so dull as you can usually find in hotels of this level. 9) bathroom was clean and showergel+shampoo+hairblower were provided. 10) And wi-fi was really fast and sound.
Here are some negative parts of staying in the hotel: 1) Room service is provided only once per 4 days and our stay was exactly 4 days - so all trashbins in the room were bursting of garbage and towels were far from being fresh by the last day of our stay there. 2) During the day you can by only some light snacks like chips and ramen noodles - it would be much healthier to eat some sandwich or yoghurt.
Thus, i would say that if you look for a place to stay for a few nights for a resonable price in Oslo - Hotel Xpress is a fairly good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolveigVoldheim, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi there!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We’re really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here and your visit to Oslo.

PS: We’ve stocked our lobby shop with some new and healthier snacks recently; yoghurt, fruit, juice, sandwiches etc.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    785
    254
    75
    44
See reviews for
134
799
210
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel was perfect for our needs. Stayed for just one night. The rooms are small but clean and nice. The staff in the reception are helpful and the price for a simple but clean and awsome hotel was just right. I'm staying there next time I'm in Oslo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fidel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolveigVoldheim, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Wow – thanks for a great review!
We’re so glad that you enjoyed it here and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Nice hotel not too far from the Centre. Kiosk style service, I opted against the breakfast as I was leaving early for another destination. Room was clean, maybe a little on the small side but was only there for the night. I would stay here again as the plus points outweigh the few bad points.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil_37025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolveigVoldheim, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi!
Thanks for your review and we really hope to see you here again soon!
Our rooms are on the small side (as stated), but as a result we’re able to offer more rooms at a better price. So we think it's a good thing.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Some itens to be considered:

- Cleanliness: perfect
- Room size: enough
- Breakfast: there is no breakfast, but a very good room with equipaments to make your own breakfast.
- Treatment: very good staff to support the guest
- Proximity to the city center: excelent

Average: 9.

Well located hotel, which allows you to easily reach the railway, as well as the city center. Everything can be done from there on foot.
If the hotel had a breakfast, for sure I could say that the grade would be 10.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ulisses r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolveigVoldheim, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi there,
Being that we don’t have a restaurant, and will not be able to offer traditional breakfast, we are very happy with the score of 9! Thank you!
But: since your review we’ve upgraded our lobby shop and now offer a selection of breakfast items such as yoghurt, müsli, fruit, juice etc
We’re very glad to read you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you here again!
Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on a business trip. First of all, I booked through booking.com and my reservation confirmation said 'bed and continental breakfast' - it was more expensive than without breakfast, of course. But once I got there, they told me there's no breakfast included and that I have to pay extra for that, even though I showed them my voucher.

On their website it says that the rooms are soundproof. Well, it's far from that, you can constantly hear the traffic outside and what the neighbours are doing. I even heard a phone vibrating in the next room at some point.

The room was very small, hardly any place to move around, poorly illuminated and not at all very clean. It was dust everywhere and the floor was filthy. They don't clean the room or change the towels at all during the stay (it says so on the website though), but it seems that they don't do a very good job to clean between guests as well. It leaves you the impression that this 'save the environment' hotel policy is just an excuse to minimize service costs and gain image by doing it.

They also emphasize that every room has a big flat screen TV. It does, but only 10 channels are available, most of them local channels (there are only 2 international channels I think).

The location of the hotel is great though and the staff is friendly, but it's a filthy place with poor service and false advertisements.

To be avoided.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolveigVoldheim, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to review us!

We’re really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here.

As we don’t have a restaurant, we are unable to serve traditional breakfast. We’re very sorry if you were misinformed by your booking agent.
Breakfast items can be purchased in our lobby shop, but is not included in your room rate.

We normally receive great reviews about our cleanliness, but it seems that we have not met your expectations. We’re really sorry for this and your review has been discussed in the housekeeping department. Please accept our apologies.

Regarding sound travelling through rooms, this is not an issue we’ve encountered before.
You should be expecting some street noise as we are located in the midst of Oslo, but not as you describe. We will have our technical manager check windows and doors, to see if there is any room that doesn’t meet our standards. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
As we understand our hotel is not to your liking, we hope to see you at another Nordic Choice hotel on your next visit to Oslo.

Thank you for your review and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a great hotel if you just need somewhere to sleep and shower. Check-in is kiosk style with the option of early check-in for an additional cost. The room is basic, small, but comfortable. The bath room is much the same, however both are functional. The bed is comfortable, and we both slept very well with no noise from other rooms or the street.
Highly recommend if you're not interested in all the fanfare and ad-ons that larger more expensive hotel offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolveigVoldheim, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi!

Thank you for a great review and for recommending us to your fellow travelers.
We hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We just stayed for two nights, but everything was fine during this time.

There were no real minuses for us, so there's only a plus list this time.

+Free coffee and tea in the reception 24/7
+Clean and modern design
+Walking distance downtown and train station
+Great restaurants in the area

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolveigVoldheim, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your review. Short and easy – we love that it’s only a plus list!

We’re really glad you enjoyed your stay here. Hopefully we'll see you again on your next visit to Oslo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#36 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget

Property: Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget
Address: Moellergata 26, Oslo 0179, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfor Hotel Xpress Youngstorget. Opened 2011. Youngstorget, Oslo. Budget hotel. Small rooms. Plenty of attitide, low rates & love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing