We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meals in a lovely environment”
Review of Art Cafe

Art Cafe
Ranked #2 of 139 Restaurants in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
Description: In Art Cafe we care about the entire experience for our customers and pay attention to details. You will feel warmly welcomed by our staff, can enjoy a nice music and the authentic artistic atmosphere of our cafe. All the pieces of art presented in the cafe can be purchased. We serve delicious homemade food (Austrian, Hungarian, Italian cuisine), desserts, tea, coffee and various alcoholic drinks. You are welcome to drop by for a coffee, come for a lunch in the afternoon or enjoy a fine dining in the evening.
Restaurant details
Description: In Art Cafe we care about the entire experience for our customers and pay attention to details. You will feel warmly welcomed by our staff, can enjoy a nice music and the authentic artistic atmosphere of our cafe. All the pieces of art presented in the cafe can be purchased. We serve delicious homemade food (Austrian, Hungarian, Italian cuisine), desserts, tea, coffee and various alcoholic drinks. You are welcome to drop by for a coffee, come for a lunch in the afternoon or enjoy a fine dining in the evening.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

We found this little place just around the corner from our hotel. The lunch was so good that we went back for a second meal. The goulash and fish/mussels soup are delicious as are the pasta dishes. They cut fresh herbs for the meals. Decent wine list. The couple who run the restaurant are taking some weeks off to renovate, but it will reopen soon.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CANUCKINBETHESDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olgasK6179DX, Marketing Manager at Art Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Hello and thank you for your kind review and the high score you gave us! We sincerely appreciate your attention. :) It is great to know that you enjoyed our family restaurant on multiple occasions. Welcome again!

Warmest wishes,
Art Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 561 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2019

The food was brilliant but the service was quite curt and a little rude at times. I asked for some tap water for the table and was sharply told that it would be coming anyway. My sister accidentally spilt some tea on the table whilst pouring from the teapot and the staff were on her in seconds reprimanding her for spilling tea - which she clearly didn't do on purpose! We all felt quite uncomfortable after this. It was a shame as the food was very good.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hannahbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olgasK6179DX, Marketing Manager at Art Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Hello!

Thank you for your feedback! Your opinion matters a lot for us, and we appreciate you finding time to write us a review.

We are deeply sorry for the uncomfortable experience you had in our restaurant. We will make sure that this does not ever happen again. Again, sorry, and hope to see you some time again!

Warmest wishes,
Art Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

A very relaxed and cozy place for a light meal. The service was good and it was relatively good value for Tromso

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olgasK6179DX, Marketing Manager at Art Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Dear Andy,

Thank you for your kind reply! It is great to know that you enjoyed your visit to our family restaurant. We sincerely hope to see you again!

Warmest wishes,
Art Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019

We had a really delicious lunch here. I had tomato soup and my husband had goulash soup. They were both hearty and excellent. The art and decor are inviting and comfortable. It is right across the street from the art museum and in the heart of town.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olgasK6179DX, Marketing Manager at Art Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2019

Dear Jane,

Thank you for your kind review and the high rating you left us! :) It is a pleasure to read feedbacks like yours. We are truly happy that you enjoyed both the food in our family restaurant, and the atmosphere. Hope to see you again!

Warmest wishes,
Art Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019 via mobile

Cozy and beautiful place! It is very comfortable with sofas, good temperature and soft music. My first time eating reindeer and I love it, the meat, the sauce, the potato ,the bread and butter. Everything great!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank LuizB953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olgasK6179DX, Marketing Manager at Art Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2019

Hello!

We would like to thank you for your review. It is very important for us to know that our guests enjoy their meal, as well the the atmosphere we create in our family restaurant. Sincerely hope to see you again!

Warmest wishes,
Art Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing