We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK 3-star - but no room cleaning!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Skansen Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skansen Hotell
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“OK 3-star - but no room cleaning!”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights after rejecting a studio apartment in another block run by this hotel. The studio was simply awful - very poky and small, and nowhere to put away your clothes! Also, it was up the street where the footpath (such as it was) was terribly icy and dangerous.

Having paid on arrival, it was a little bit awkward that I did not want to stay in the apartment. But the young man on reception gave me the last room available in the hotel itself. It was quite a large corner room overlooking the street - so no nice views. Room itself was nothing special, but comfortable enough with double bed, 2 chairs, 2 stools and a desk. Bathroom was quite large, although disconcerting because the blind was broken, which meant you had to shower and otherwise use the bathroom in full view of anyone in the building across the road. Ended up having to shower in the dark to preserve my modesty!

Breakfast was plentiful if a bit dull. 2 kinds of cereal, boiled eggs, bread, a few cold cuts and jams, as well as orange juice, tea and coffee.

The location is about 5 minutes walk from the centre of town (and from the airport bus stop) and up a bit of a hill. Probably not an issue most of the time, but in the icy conditions I was nervous of slipping. The free wifi was great and the decor was quite pleasant. And I really appreciated being able to control the heating in the room.

My main gripe about the hotel is the total lack of cleaning. I stayed there 4 nights. When I mentioned my room had not been serviced on Day 2, the receptionist brought up clean towels. But other than towels, no cleaning or servicing was done at all during the four days!

Room Tip: As other reviewers have said, ask for a room with a view. But if the view is not important to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethattravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
32
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at the Skansen in July 2011, and had an excellent stay. We had requested a view of the Arctic Cathedral -- only available from the upper floors -- and were well rewarded with an exceptional view across the fjord to the cathedral and the mountains above. The only challenge: around 3am the sun swung around the city and began blaring in through the very, very thin drapery over the window...the second night we actually rigged something with our blanket to better cover the window so we could sleep for a few hours.

That said, the Skansen was an excellent value, and Tromso is compact enough (and has a good enough transit system) that I was very glad we stayed there rather than at a more expensive hotel a bit closer to the "center" of the action. Said "center" was at most a 10 minute walk away. Very clean, very quiet...other than the gulls that are the plague of any seaside town. We actually had a gull nest not far from our window, and other than the noise got some excellent photographs of a mother feeding her young. Don't expect luxury, but very adequate comfort, good prices, and a great location.

Room Tip: It was worth it to us to request a view. The staff seemed a bit amused that we had requested by ema...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davenpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed for four nights. On arrival, we were greeted with a very indifferent young girl. We had to pay our full tariff before we were shown our room (which I think is very odd). The room was small, but comfortable. The worst part were the pillows - I think they were 20 years old! Really lumpy and had that musty smell. We went downstairs and asked for a firmer pillow, but were given another 2 lumpy ones! Slept badly the whole time, which was pretty annoying as we had jetlag. I understand Norway is expensive, but good sleep should not be an 'optional extra' in a hotel. Shower seals were bad, so the bath mat was saturated every morning. At least they replaced towels, etc. daily. Wouldn't stay there again, would pay the extra for a better hotel. Breakfast was very good. The other staff were nice, but still very distant, which i found strange if you work in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finedinermelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Four Marks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in early February and chose it based on being cheap enough to afford without going too downmarket.

The location is very good for the town centre, being a walk of less than 5 minutes to the main shopping street and a further 5 minutes takes you to the waterfront and several restaurants. The room itself is small but functional. The bathroom was excellent and had gently heated floor tiles and a spacious powerful shower but no bath. The bed was not so good, the mattress was too soft and the bedding was 2 small single duvets rather than a double. Pillows were totally inadequate. There was a wall mounted flat TV but it had only 4 channels - all Norwegian. I would have expected an English speaking news channel as a minimum.

Housekeeping arrived at seemingly random times and often we were in the room at the time. On these occasions they gave us some towels and didn't return when we were out. On days when we were out when they arrived beds were not made up and bed linen was not changed at all during a 7 night stay. Breakfast was provided in a small room with 5 tables seating 20 maximum and was typically Scandanavian. There was bread, cooked meats, tinned fish, cold boiled eggs, jams, pickles, pate, cheese (very bland) and muesli. There was a coffee machine and orange juice dispenser. On 3 out of 7 mornings the orange juice ran out and was left for almost 30 minutes before being replaced. If you like the option of a toaster, hot food items or breakfast pastries then look elsewhere.

The hotel has a decent size seating area beside reception with a pay per cup coffee machine and a vending machine selling crisps and chocolate. There is free wi-fi for all guests, just ask reception for the password.

We paid the equivalent of 600 GBP for 7 nights bed and breakfast and given the location and expensive nature of Tromso it was pretty good value for 2 people.

I am saying I would not recommend this hotel but neither would I advise you not to stay. It was OK. Nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richy280983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Situated near the bridge and within 5 minutes walk of Tromso's, er, city centre. There is wif-fi in the rooms and the breakfast is quite good. Staff were helpful and generous with offering to keep our luggage, etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevewado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The hotel is not fancy but it's clean, quiet, service is good, breakfast is excellent, location is right in the center of town. The bathroom floors are warmed up, so it's pleasant to step out of the shower. Free Wi-Fi and computer in the lobby. You can get sandwiches for lunch at the breakfast room -- good option especially if you are planning to drive around the area, like we did.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aperel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Given the prices in Norway my 85 E / single sounded reasonable, but it is far from what you would get anywhere in Europe for this money. Tromso is a small town, so I did not realise that most hotels are in the central area :-).

Very basic hotel, room was quite rusty, definitelly needed a lot of fresh air, courtains not very effective against the overnight light. Braekfast just decent, the scandinavian way with dfish, cheese, boiled eggs, etc.

Since I was there to enjoy the Midnight sun I do not use the room to much, but a couple of hours.

I would recommend this hotel for definitelly no frills att all but overnight accommodation...although its lobby is decent, with nice armchairs and main street view.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvdima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.4 mi away
ABC Hotell
ABC Hotell
#17 of 18 in Tromso
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#14 of 18 in Tromso
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.3 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skansen Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skansen Hotell

Property: Skansen Hotell
Address: Storgata 105, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Skansen Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skansen Hotell Tromso is located very centrally in the city centre of Tromso. From the hotel you will have everything within a few minutes walking distance. It is a 10 minute walk to the Express Boat/Hurtigruten quay and Tromso Airport is a 15-minute journey by taxi. We also have guest car parking facilities available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Skansen Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing