We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local food”

Compagniet Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 114 Restaurants in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Norwegian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tromso's oldest restaurant in a manor house dating from 1837.Enjoy a gourmet dinner in historical and cozy surroundings.Open from 4pm. Sunday closed
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited Compagniet in Feb 2013. The food was superb and worthy of any fine dining restaurant. The king crab starter was beautifully presented and delicious. The main course comes as two smaller tasting plates which is a great way to experience the local flavours. The reindeer steak with white chocolate foam was amazing, as was the moose sausage. Cannot fault the food and the service. As all things in Norway it is expensive, for two persons with two courses and two drinks it was £150. Can highly recommend this restaurant for a special night out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    34
    17
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We went to the original restaurant on the main street, not the one on the harbour. We had the traditional Cod local specialty, with the freshest fish we have ever tasted! Wonderful food, great service, and a lovely, traditional intimate room, decorated with dark blue wood panelled walls, timber floor, either damask table cloths and simple white wooden chairs. The deserts were also fabulous. Quite an expensive meal, but so worth it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Clarendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very very interesting”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Superb food with a twist - most of it works but the odd does not. Reindeer fillet was superb and whilst the truffle foam worked well. I was less convinced by the chocolate foam. Staff were very attentive. Not cheap but nothing is in Norway. It is easy to pay more in London. If you have limited time in Tromso but want to have at least one eating experience then go here.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenerBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sf Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“nice quaint dining”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I had a nice dinner here tonight. The service was very attentive (more on this in a bit), and the food was very nicely prepared. Portion sizes were a bit on the small size. They sent out an amuse before my appetizer, which was absolutely delicious. I'm not sure if this is common practice here, or something new they're trying.

Now about the great service. I should note that when I arrived for dinner at 5PM (without a reservation), I was the only person dining in the place. A few minutes later a couple arrived, but that was it the entire time we were there. Considering how this was a Saturday night, it seems a bit odd, and not good for the restaurant if they can't attract customers. So yes the service was great, but they only had two tables to wait on, so anything less than great service would reflect rather poorly on them.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank netllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Crabs and shrimps on the waterfront”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

ate crab legs and shrimps which tasted good though I had the impression that the crab legs had come frozen.The restaurant is lively ,it has a huge window overlooking the waterfront.Great service ..I had a table by the window though a solo traveller.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cemre_birand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Compagniet Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Compagniet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing