We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steakers”
Review of Steakers

Steakers
Ranked #35 of 112 Restaurants in Tromso
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Steakers”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A great place to go if you're looking for a good steak or meat- dinner. They have a wide variety of meatselection and some fish as well. They also have combo platters and sharing platters if you can't decide what you're up for. The waiters are known to be very helpful, nice and all over not too pushy, and they do live up to their reputation! At arrival when seated you receive a paper note where you write your order. So, starter 4, main 8, and cross of if you'd like baked potato, chips, and so on.

The food came about 30 mins after we ordered, to be a party of 5 on a saturday when they were packed wasn't a long wait at all. The portions are not a joke tho, I'd recommend starving yourself for the entire day when going here, because very few people can actually finish their meals. The dessert selection isn't very big, but you'll find the usual suspects such as creme brûlée, fondants and ice-cream. They're fairly priced, probably a bit over average, but you're sure not to leave hungry anyway! I know they offer seating for quite big parties as well, up to 1- 20 I think, and people are quite pleased with the service they get.

Must admit that the baked potato I had was slightly undercooked, and I did find a splinter of bone in the mix platter I had. When I told the waitress she was very helpful and also offered free dessert as a compensation. The atmosphere is nice, but you'll find all kinds of people there. The big trucker guys to the fancy people out on a christmasdinner with work. The restaurant is a bit packed in a sense of the tables being a bit close to each other. We did feel that the three drunk middle-aged guys next to us could hear everything we were saying. But i guess you'd have to expect it to be crowded on a Saturday.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    136
    72
    39
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Toughest Sirloin - not worth the stop”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I do not understand why this restaurant was packed. It was just before Christmas and there were lots of big groups, so maybe that's why. Lots of people had steaks then the huge desserts - so maybe the desserts. I had the sirloin - which they said was their best steak. It was one of the worst steaks I ever had. It is tough. Not juicy. It has to be corn-fed. Maybe I'm a steak-snob coming from great steak restaurants from Chicago, but this is one place I will never come close to again. I did not finish it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Huge portions and not overly expensive”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Steakers is an American style restaurant serving food such as ribs, steak, burgers etc. I had a shellfish soup, followed by the Steakers Combo, which is lamb shank, pork ribs and beef steak.

The portions were very large, and I had to leave some of my main as I was full. A shame, because the food was excellent.

Not much Norwegian food available, but there are many other restaurants in the city if that's what you're looking for.

I liked the idea of filling in a card with your choice and the way you like your steak cooked. Be careful to cross your 7s though, because I got starter 1 instead of starter 7.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlanRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
2 reviews
“Really bad”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The restaurant was cold and the dishes became cold too quick. The potatoes where almost raw. The butter and garlic shrimps where really small, mini-babies! The biff was ok. The service was not what we expected in a expensive restaurant

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1ViviJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful steak”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had arrived without a reservation on a busy Friday night and were quickly offered a table with the only proviso that they would need it back two hours later. Service was quick and pleasant and the waitress was helpful in describing the dishes.

My 300g sirloin was one of the best steaks I have had in a long time: tender, cooked to perfection, and with a mild peppercorn sauce!

The fish (cod) and chips were good, though the fish was a little bland.

Creme Brulee was tasty with a lovely crunchy topping.

All-in-all, thoroughly recommended despite Norwegian prices!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank digitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steakers also viewed

 

Been to Steakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing