We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Self catering apartments are excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viking Hotell Tromso
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
London, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Self catering apartments are excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

We decided to go self-catering, and definitely made the right decision. There's a Spar about 80m away, and it's great to have a base (and cheaper!)

The Viking apartment we're in is in the basement. Newly refurbished, it's clean, modern and well appointed. A small but fully functional kitchen, lovely bathroom and shower, and two bedrooms. Flatscreen TV, DVD player, stereo and free wifi. You can also get parking in the huge underground car park about 200m away. The only small negative is that there are no windows in thebluving room/ kitchen side, and the people above really thump around. But generally not at night, which is the main thing.

The location is fantastic, and the service in the main hotel is friendly and excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    162
    74
    33
    21
See reviews for
111
152
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed here with 7 of my family and we really enjoyed our stay in Tromso and the Viking Hotel. The apartments were modern and clean with a kitchen and living area. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CiaraMallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

The hotel does not look spectacular from the outside, but the room is a decent size with comfortable beds, a flat screen TV and best of all (because I was there in the dead of winter), heated bathroom floors. Breakfast was also quite good with a good selection and decent spread. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially when I was under the weather a little bit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igotthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

We stayed at the apartment branch of the Viking Hotel in Tromso for 5 nights. We were greeted by an exceptionally friendly staff member who promptly checked us in & advised of some of Tromso's key attractions. Free tea and coffee at the reception too!

The apartment was fantastic. Modern amenities, fast internet, fully equipped kitchen. Washing Machine and Dryers are located on ground level. If you're staying in the 3 bedroom apartment on the very top level you are fortunate to have an outside deck area which runs around the perimeter of the apartment and is perfect for late night Aurora watching.

During our stay in Tromso we booked a Dogsledding tour with Lyngsfjord (amazing experience!) and a Northern Lights expedition with Guide Gunnar (lots of anticipation and fun) - I highly recommend both activities! If you're not sure what activities you want to partake in make sure you visit the information centre down by the water, the staff are very helpful and efficient!

Tromso was our last stop in Norway and it certainly impressed - wonderful people and scenery. I can confidently say this was my favourite hotel and destination of my 6 week holiday. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_1986Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

This is a great place to stay. The staff treat you as if you're the first guest to ever stay there. They're full of enthusiasm, tips on where to eat and things to see, and are very helpful if you need info on places to visit.
The owner was wonderful with our small boy and treated him like a little prince on his first visit to Norway. We particularly liked the location as it was walking distance from Polaria, the Polar Museum, the shops and Church. We would definitely stay here again. The three of us fitted into a studio apartment just fine, although, we'd probably go for the one-bed apartment next time. Also, one not facing the road as the morning traffic can wake you.
Tip: Go self catering. It's easier and cheaper and the supermarket is very close..
Tip 2: Keep your receipt from The Polar Museum as you get a discount at The Tromso Museum, and vice versa. Actually, do it the other way round, as The Polar Museum is more expensive and you'll save more money that way. The Tromso Museum was full of information and cheaper that Polaria, so if you only have time for one, I'd make that your first choice., unless you like bearded seals ... very cute!
This was our first trip to Norway, and given another review which warned of gruff people, we just wanted to say that wasn't our experience. Nearly everywhere we went, we found friendly people who were very welcoming, warm and helpful. In fact, the woman in the tourist information office stayed open late just to give us information on something we needed. for the next day.
We'll definitely be going again, and will also definitely stay at the Viking Hotell an Apartments.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thoroughmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

me and my girlfreind stayed for 3 nights the staff were very freindly the manager booked a northern lights tour for us and even told us how to cook fiskepudding which we bought there will stay there again next time we go thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olga051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

Rooms are small and claustrophobic!breakfast was very poor!
The manager and owner is rude and impatient!
it is well overpriced for what you are actually getting but becuase is Norway everybody pays more!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabrieltheangel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotell Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotell Tromso

Property: Viking Hotell Tromso
Address: Groennegata 18-20, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viking Hotell Tromso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Hotel and Apartments offers accomodation for any guests in any situations. Single and double hotelrooms in traditional ways that includes a nice breakfast, though in a rather small breakfastarea. New and very popular apartments with 1-4 bedrooms, fully furnished and with kitchens ready to use as you wish (breakfast not included). Free internet access from both hotelrooms and apartments. Our serviceminded staff is always present in the lobby, offering our guests free coffee and tea :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Hotell Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotell Tromso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing