We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Felt like a Viking. Neeh, just kidding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Hotell Tromso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viking Hotell Tromso
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Tromso
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Felt like a Viking. Neeh, just kidding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It's close to the City "centre" and the room was simple and ok. The little waffle stand in the reception was a nice touch. Friendly reception too. For a weekend trip we did not need anything else. We did not try the breakfast, so cant say anything about that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tattooed_Goldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    135
    59
    24
    17
See reviews for
87
126
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Friendly staff, nice room with comfy bed. Very good location! Only minus was that there were no shampoo/conditioner and no hairdryer. The breakfast was horrible! (Hard bread, not a lot to choose from, and some food even seemed like it wasn't fresh)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LePPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Nicely furnished clean apartment with bedroom, living room & kitchenette (grocery store nearby). Central location, some uphill walking and stair climbing is involved. No central heating. Electric bedroom heater had a noisy fan. Upon request it was changed to a new heating blower that was noisier.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Centrally located hotel, room was very clean and well decorated. Our room was located next to a lift, however we didn't hear the lift at all or any of the guests outside. The staff are very friendly, helpful and cheerful, even at 5 am in the morning! The waffles in the reception area at 5pm were delicious. The hotel also has free wifi and the breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pregnana Milanese, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We spend a weekend in one apartment (2 persons) and it was lovely. Central position and the apartment was furnished of everything. The only thing that they must improve is the yard and the exterior of the house. Very recommended, in particular if you don't want to have dinner in restaurant which are very expansive! Fair price!

Room Tip: Ask for the attic apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gauss_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Called and booked a room for one night, and asked what kind of rooms they had. The receptionist told us they had a nice suite that was suitable for our familiy. Considering the price ( 2000 NOK for one night ) and the room being called a suite, we expected a nice, spacious room.

Check in went smooth, and we were guided towards the room, that was ringht beside the reception. We were really surprised when the stairs behind the room door went down to a small basement apartment. There were no windows in the sitting room, and not much lighting so it was a really dark and not very cosy. The two bedrooms were really small, and in one of the rooms the bed was so close to the walls on each side, we had to climb in from the end of the bed. Felt a bit claustrophobic sleeping there. The windows were leading right out to the street, and people walked by all the time. In the middle of the night a concert ended nearby, and people kept passing the window, laughing and talking for at least one hour.
The bathroom was also tiny and unpractical, and not very clean.
The whole suit was in really bad shape, and some of the furniture was broken. We also heard alot of noise from the reception/bar during our stay, because it was right outside the door.

Breakfast was served in a tiny room, and wasnt very good. There wasnt much choice on what to eat, and the bread was dry.

Will never stay at this hotel again, and wont recommend it to anyone. When you stay at a hotel in Tromsoe, the price is high either way, so I recommend people to stay at one of the bigger hotels, the value is so much better there.

Room Tip: Stay in one of teh big hotels, not this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fasttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in March with my husband and 2 adult children in a 2 bedroom apartment. Enjoyed the apartment's facilities (though the layout was a little strange) and it's location was good...a few steps from the main street and a supermarket, and a short walk to the very centre of town. It's managed by/part of the Viking Hotell and the staff on the desk were pleasant and helpful. However, for some reason my pre-paid credit (specially designed to work for foreign travel) card did not work at the hotel although it worked everywhere else in Tromso. Thus I had to pay the bill using my normal credit card which unfortunately this resulted in more than twice the charge for currency exchange etc. However, apart from this irritation, the apartment was good; I'd recommend it and choose it again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
9.4 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#5 of 19 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotell Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotell Tromso

Property: Viking Hotell Tromso
Address: Groennegata 18-20, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viking Hotell Tromso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Hotel and Apartments offers accomodation for any guests in any situations. Single and double hotelrooms in traditional ways that includes a nice breakfast, though in a rather small breakfastarea. New and very popular apartments with 1-4 bedrooms, fully furnished and with kitchens ready to use as you wish (breakfast not included). Free internet access from both hotelrooms and apartments. Our serviceminded staff is always present in the lobby, offering our guests free coffee and tea :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Viking Hotell Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotell Tromso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing