We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viking Hotell Tromso
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, good location, friendly staff”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We visited Tromso for a long weekend, a family of three with a teenage daughter.

Took a one bedroom apartment with a sofa bed in the living area. The apartment was clean, but somewhat basic. However, it was centrally located and convenient. Shops and restaurants at walking distance. For a short stay it was great.

Staff were certainty very helpful and friendly.

A few things which could have made our stay better -
We had informed the hotel that we could we are a group of three, but beddings were only for 2. As we returned late on our first day, we made do with the blanket that was in the room. The next day after informing the front desk, they promptly provided extra beddings and towels.

Apartments were not in the same building as the hotel, but a few meters away. The stairs to the apartment looked a bit like a makeshift temporary structure and entrance to the apartment was through a rather strange alley but it was all fine, not a concern.

Kitchen appliances were adequate, although it would have been nice to have a chopping board and a frying pan.

Toiletries was sparse. Just soap in a dispenser on the wall, and no shampoo. Hair dryer is provided though. However, bathroom and the shower was good.

Our mattress was little soft to what we were used to, but we slept very well. Must have been pretty tired after a day out!

Overall, for short trips I would certainly recommend this place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jasszir88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    172
    75
    33
    21
See reviews for
119
154
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We rented a 2 bed apartment which was very spacious for three of us

It came with a fully functional kitchen

The apartment was very modern with all the mod cons including central heating , hot water , kitchen ware etc.

The living room had great views over the water body with snow cladded mountains in the backdrop

We also saw northern lights from our living room on the last day and took some great pictures

Drawbacks :

the walk from the apartment to the city center is approx 15 - 20 mins in icy conditions

There was sheets of ice in front of the apartment but no effort was made by the staff to clear them off and help the visitors

The apartment did not have any hotel staff on site and neither it did have any intercom facility to speak with the staff , we had to use our mobiles on intl roaming to call

We complained about bathroom exhaust not working on the first day and this was not looked into at all by the staff

Overall it was a pleasant stay barring a few blemishes noted above

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kunalkrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and were very pleased with it. As mentioned, the price is reasonable. We (2 adults and 3 teenagers) had an appartment with 2 bedrooms, and a living room with a sofa bed. It was tastefully decorated and very cosy, which made us feel at home.
The hotel is within walking distance of all that Tromso town has to offer. The staff are young, friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Room number 40 is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joec918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My friend and I needed two separate bedrooms and a kitchen to our special diet, so we booked with this apartment instead of normal hotel rooms because the cost is generally high in Tromso and it made more sense to have a big deluxe apartment than two single rooms from the same hotel. We had a beautiful big apartment with a huge bathroom incl sauna, bathtub with a TV, a high tech shower room and washing machine. Great location, all walking distance to any meeting points from tours we booked and to a supermarket nearby. Please do book the "Deluxe" apartment, as I heard from another customer who booked a normal apartment and they were very disappointed. Luckily we were leaving the next day and they were going to take our apartment with extra cost though. We booked through booking.com

Room Tip: take the "Deluxe" apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiky007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Booked online for a deluxe apartment last November. Arrived as planned to be told there had been a mistake and our deluxe apartment had been already let. This was at 8.30pm and we could only take a standard room. They gave us back around £120 in cash to make up for the problem. The apartment we got, was noisy, on the ground floor,looking out onto the main road. This meant folk looking in while walking by. Really very poor.
Now the real grief...on getting home we contacted the online booking company (clues in the name) they contacted the hotel, who to be blunt, lied. They said they gave us the money then put us in a DELUXE apartment. Not sure why they would lie but on contacting them ourselves, they quite bluntly say we where not in the apartment we DID stay in. Our word against there's. I hope anyone going here will make sure any changes are in writing and take photo's.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank macwheeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Staff were all lovely and helpful and spent the time we needed them to with our various questions and booking arrangements for tours. I had problems trying to get a hair dryer which was irritating as the hotel details say that they are available. However, we were able to use he hotel washing machine to do out laundry which was handy.
Our room was small which was ok but there was nowhere to store our rucksacks and there was no wardrobe as such just a place to hang two coats, no drawers at so even though we were there for 4 nights I didn't feel completely relaxed as the room resembled a jumble sale. Also the room service was lacking, we only had our beds made and the room cleaned once, personally I feel the sort of price they charge I would expect my room to be serviced daily.
I think overall this that hotel is vastly overpriced and would have rather spent a little more and stayed at one of the bigger chains.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chilliexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a twin room in the main hotel. It was divided by the en suite bathroom so we both had our own semi-private space, which was nice.

The breakfast was typically Norwegian and you could eat as much as you liked. There were tea and coffee available all the time in reception. At 5pm the reception staff would bring out the waffle machine and batter, cheese, jam, and sour cream for you to make your own waffles which were lovely. I proved so inept at this that everything I approached the waffle machine, a member of staff would leap up and make one for me!

The hotel is centrally situated and within easy walking distance of the city centre. The bus from the airport is 70kr and a taxi about 180kr.

I have read some other reviews of this hotel. To the people that found the staff unfriendly, I wonder if we were in the same hotel? I found them to be friendly, charming and helpful. It is my experience that people tend to respond in the way that you treat them.

I would certainly recommend staying here and am looking at booking my next stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwanningAround66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
ABC Hotell
ABC Hotell
#17 of 18 in Tromso
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotell Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotell Tromso

Property: Viking Hotell Tromso
Address: Groennegata 18-20, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viking Hotell Tromso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Hotel and Apartments offers accomodation for any guests in any situations. Single and double hotelrooms in traditional ways that includes a nice breakfast, though in a rather small breakfastarea. New and very popular apartments with 1-4 bedrooms, fully furnished and with kitchens ready to use as you wish (breakfast not included). Free internet access from both hotelrooms and apartments. Our serviceminded staff is always present in the lobby, offering our guests free coffee and tea :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Viking Hotell Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotell Tromso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing