We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viking Hotell Tromso
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and looking for a hotel that was reasonably priced in Tromso. I am so glad we picked this hotel. The room was a little small, but since we wanted to be out and about the size of the room didn't bother us. The staff at the hotel were amazing, they helped us with all of our little questions and helped us find our way around on the buses and gave advice on places we could walk to in order to get a good view of the northern lights. Best part about this place: they have free breakfast AND free waffles in the evenings from 5-9 pm. The food in Tromso is SOOOO expensive that this helped us keep on budget. Plus the waffled were delicious and they offer coffee/tea 24/7! This hotel was very close to everything, supermarkets, bus stops and the Mack brewery. I recommend this hotel if looking for a reasonable place to stay with great service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    167
    75
    33
    21
See reviews for
117
152
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed in one of the 2 bed apartments for 4 nights with our 2 children and it was perfect for what we needed, warm, clean and comfortable! Located just up the hill from the hotel meant that we had views over the moutains but were very close to everything, with a eurospar a few minutes walk away.

The bedrooms were small & a little dark, but had plenty of storage and really they were only used for sleep, so not a problem - living room was great, nice big comfy sofa & good sized dinning table too. Shower was brilliant - water pressure makes for an excellent invigorating wake you up shower!

The only thing I would say is that the kitchen was lacking in untensils and serving stuff etc - though it was clean and tidy, but it was a bit of a juggle with cooking & serving implements as we ate in most nights so not to have to pay the ridiculous prices charged in the restaurants - burger king was £35 for 2 kids happy meals & 1 burger meal!!

The kitchen is also devoid of any of the basics except for salt - I realise that this is standard, but having to buy sugar, oil etc and leaving most of it behind is a little frustrating considering the price of the apartments! But really this is my only grumble, oh except for the pillows, one pillow each and they were far to soft, though bed very comfortable.

One other after thought - ice! There was a lot of ice when we were there, though the main road was clear everywhere else was a nightmare, there was a lot of slipping and sliding going on especially on the hill, we mostly avoided the pavements because they were awful - I ended up buying some great little ice crampons that go over the toe of your boots - made all the difference, so do take some if you have them as they are, of course, twice the price in Norway!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a visit to Tromso (split into two visits by a trip round the coast on the MS Nordlys). We booked both before and after stays in the Viking hotel .The hotel was very easy to find only 200 metres from the bus stop from the airport. We were given a room on the fourth floor looking out to the front of the hotel (the best view) To be honest the room was slightly small. but I was told there were bigger rooms available. There my negatives end because everything else about the hotel was fine. The thing that made this hotel was the staff from Ronja (the receptionist during the evening) to the girls that clean the rooms and all the other staff that made this hotel work. every thing was done with a smile and nothing was too difficult. The breakfast was advertised as continental, which it was, but with added things such as several types of bread and bread rolls with various fish dishes eggs meats, cheeses and salad together with pastries and jams this meant that would be plenty for anybody.
All day (24 hours) there was free tea and coffee in the reception and between 5 and 9 in the evening there was free self cook waffles with cream and jams to put on them.
In the reception area was a tv with about 20 channels many of which were in English with Norwegian sub titles (Odd but true)
The whole hotel has had some form of refurbishment over the last 12 months which meant that the rooms were of modern décor. So don't be put off by the outside appearance because once inside we were met with warmth and friendliness throughout our stay
Well done to all the staff.

Bob and Diane Manning

Room Tip: This hotel has apartments as well as rooms. the apartments are not in the same building so it could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank agadir-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was a little apprehensive when I read mixed reviews about this hotel, however I cannot fault the apartment we stayed in for four nights. It was modern, clean, and very importantly, warm and cosy. Being conveniently located near to all of Tromso's attractions, cafés, restaurants, bars and shops, it was perfect for us. The fully equipped kitchen meant that we had the option of preparing our own meals and thereby saving money on eating out every night. I definitely recommend this apartment at Viking Hotel. The staff were fantastic too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antoniamcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I spent a long weekend in Tromso with a group of friends and the Viking was the perfect base from which to explore. We had a three bedroom apartment which was well appointed with everything we needed for the weekend. It also had a kitchen which is useful for midnight snacks if you want to avoid paying £18 for a kebab at the local takeaway (I kid you not). It's not the Ritz but it is a nice place and the staff are great. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frankymRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountains
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Not a 5 star hotel but the value at the Viking was the best we found in Norway so have rated it as such and here's why. 1) free guest laundry. Other hotels wanted $150 NOK just to clean a shirt. We like to travel light, and having a washing machine sure beats doing laundry in the sink every night. 2). Friendly, helpful staff who had a positive, caring attitude towards guests. One evening there was a large group of young people who were a little loud. Although we didn't have any trouble, the hotel staff went out of their way to ask if the noise was bothering us. And they worked with us on rates when we stayed there multiple times. 3) free waffles with berries and sour cream in the evenings. Food in Norway is very expensive so a free tasty dessert was very welcome. 4) the airport bus stops right in front, which allowed us to get a rental car at a good rate and just take the bus to get it at the airport. 5) Breakfast had a reasonable selection of items and the yogurt with berries was wonderful!. 6) Nice focused reading lights over the bed, with dimmers.

On the down side some comments from other reviewers also held true for us. The rooms are small, but we stayed several times at the Radisson where they weren't much bigger. Same can be said for the fold-in shower, which was not any smaller than others we experienced. Our room also got warm but we did not have the smoke issue when we opened the window to cool it off. The beds and comforters are more cushy at the more expensive hotels but we slept extremely well at the Viking as it is away from the main thoroughfares and quiet.

This is a small hotel and you and the staff will get to know each other quickly! It is not directly on the water but only a 5 minute walk to ferries, busses, shopping and the information center.

Room Tip: Rooms with good views are in the front, no view but very quiet in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockyMountainDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just ok. Single bed was tiny and uncomfortable. Room temp was hard to adjust (warm). Opened window and enjoyed the cigarette smoke from those waiting outside the hotel entry. Then a lengthy conversation at 1am to 2am from someone outside. Breakfast was in traditional Norwegian Hotel culture "basic" and almost tragic. Mass produced seafood salad etc... uff. Will I stay again... NO. Those looking for youth hostel type quality... then enjoy. Room was no more than 2m x 3,5m.

Room Tip: Avoid main street facing unless you wish to enjoy cigarette smoke all nite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brynulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
ABC Hotell
ABC Hotell
#17 of 18 in Tromso
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotell Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotell Tromso

Property: Viking Hotell Tromso
Address: Groennegata 18-20, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#6 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Viking Hotell Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Hotel and Apartments offers accomodation for any guests in any situations. Single and double hotelrooms in traditional ways that includes a nice breakfast, though in a rather small breakfastarea. New and very popular apartments with 1-4 bedrooms, fully furnished and with kitchens ready to use as you wish (breakfast not included). Free internet access from both hotelrooms and apartments. Our serviceminded staff is always present in the lobby, offering our guests free coffee and tea :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Viking Hotell Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotell Tromso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing