We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nano size room with nano size bed in the noisy basement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotell Tromso
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nano size room with nano size bed in the noisy basement”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were misled by the web site of apartments vikinghotell.no that says:

"All apartments have a separate and well equipped kitchen with stove, ceramic top, refrigerator/freezer, microwave, dishwasher, etc....All beds are 150 cm or 180 cm wide and there is a lot of space in our bedrooms."

We thought it is ok to take studio apartment since we were only one tiny couple and no need in huge apartments.

When we entered the dusty apartment we understood that it is far from the description: no freezer, no microwave, no dishwasher, no coffeemaker, the bed is 110 cm wide that is obviously not for two adults, and the apartment is not really an apartment, it is may be good to hold cleaner stuff or some sort of storage.
Somehow we felt cheated.

We stayed for 4 nights and paid 990 NOK per night plus 115 NOK per day for the nano parking place, overall 600 eur for 4 days.
(Later we found twice cheaper parking places but need to walk a bit.)
Now we understand why the roads are full of driving homes, by this one can save a lot of money.

There is no ventilation in the room so need to open the window that leads to the noisy street right under pedestrian pavement. The window is close to the garbage cans that are emptied in the morning by garbage collector car, plus noise comes from passing cars, walking and talking pedestrians.

There were several surprised in this apartment, Norway and Tromso as well.
On the day we arrived the neighbor apartment was taken by a group of drinking youngsters who just opened all the doors and put their music on full loudness while going outside for a smoke. After been driving for ten hours from Finland to Tromso it was too much for us. Thanks to the staff they helped to calm them down a bit after our complaint.
But the story continued at night when been completely drunk two guys put their bodies into our window (it is in basement) and started to talk with us when we were asleep and naked on the bed. Luckily they were no aggressive as one of the vikings mottoes suggests.

It seems Norway is full of surprises, one of them was when we were driving to Tromso through mountain wavy road and were overtaken by the guy who was speeding at least 150 km/h where the speed limit was 60 km/h or something.
May be it comes from viking times principles.

Tromso old city itself is very small and can be walked around in few minutes. There are a few restaurants, mainly pizzas and hamburgers. There is Thai restaurant nearby, we did not try it was closed (Monday).
The adventure trips in mountains offered by tourist office are really expensive and that is why we did not bother to buy anything from them but instead climbed on our own in some beautiful fjords, thanks we had a car.
The nature is really stunning and worse seeing, Arctic cathedral is also must visit place,
any other attraction there is overmarketed and expensive, except free botanic garden, open air and some art museums.

The seafood in the supermarkets is really fresh and much cheaper and more natural than in Finland. The meat is more expensive and mostly frozen. The pack of cigarettes cost 12 eur that means you must get healthy and green soon.

We were in July and the weather was really cold, windy and rainy, 10 C.
Next time need to take more warm clothes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank PopperMopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    163
    75
    33
    21
See reviews for
113
152
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Le Tignet, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nothing is too much trouble for the terrific staff at this hotel only five minutes walk from the centre of town. However, the rooms, although adequate were also very small and the breakfast (included in the room price) pretty basic. However, there is free tea and coffee available from early morning and throughout the day and in the late afternoon there are free servings of good waffles. I'd stay here again but mainly because of the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff who can't be faulted.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We rented an apartment here for two adults and two teenagers. Having a kitchen makes a world of difference given the high price of dining out. The apartment (a new one this season) was wonderful - very spacious and well-equipped. There was a strong smell of fresh paint, which was a bit troublesome, but that should be gone by next month. Apartments have access to the laundry facilities at the hotel (across the street) and they had waffle-makings in the lobby every evening from 4 to 9pm. The staff was helpful and responsive, and called a taxi to take us to the airport -- cheaper than the bus if you have 3 or more people.

Room Tip: The apartment we stayed in had a double bed in one room, a single in another, and a second floor wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Staying in this hotel was a real pleasure. I arrived in Tromso without a room on the busiest evening of the summer season and all the hotels were booked. I finally had the second last room in this hotel, where I found the staff welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. They went out of their way to give me information, organised an early breakfast etc.

The room was excellent, clean and comfortable, everythng you require for a nights stay. The homemade yoghurt for breakfast was excellent

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during our three day stay in Tromso. Four of us shared a family room and whilst small it was comfortable and all we needed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic but adequate. Hotel was well situated for exploring the area. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the foyer as well as comfortable chairs. Every afternoon you can make yourself free waffles. All in all a great little hotel and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TassieRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
212 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were a group of friends who visited Tromsø in february. The apartment was on the 3rd floor about 75 metres from the hotel. A good place to stay. There was some confusion between Twin beds and double beds and with 5 guys, we had a challenge with that. That apart, the accomodation and all the facilities were excellent. There was a jacuzzi which good but sat on an elevation in the bathroom. The apartment is not the best choice for families with babies or older people. May be they have other accomodation at ground level and then it should be ok. The services were OK. Even though check in was supposed to be at 1200, we did not get the accomodation till after 1300. Plan for it. its not easy to get big apartments ready if people are checking out the same day. Ideal is to take an afternoon flight into Tromsø.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children and seniors, check for apartments at lower levels. If the apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurtdigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The apartment I've stayed in is located 100 meters from the hotel itself, looks nice and has all the amenities needed. Heating worked very good and you should consider that when you are above Arctic Circle :). Unfortunately the Wi-Fi broken down for 2 days, the staff could not provide a spare router to solve the issue and there was a little bit of hustle about it. The hotel and apartments don't have a laundry service! If you want you can use the washing machine and dryer (for free) but there is no liquid detergent for gentle wash cycles (30 degrees) and takes 3-4 hours to get you clothes back. Also there is no option for ironing.
Overall is a good apartment to stay in if wi-fi works and you can get along with lack of proper laundry service, even if you want to pay for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduard_N1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ABC Hotell
ABC Hotell
#17 of 18 in Tromso
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotell Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotell Tromso

Property: Viking Hotell Tromso
Address: Groennegata 18-20, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#6 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Viking Hotell Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Hotel and Apartments offers accomodation for any guests in any situations. Single and double hotelrooms in traditional ways that includes a nice breakfast, though in a rather small breakfastarea. New and very popular apartments with 1-4 bedrooms, fully furnished and with kitchens ready to use as you wish (breakfast not included). Free internet access from both hotelrooms and apartments. Our serviceminded staff is always present in the lobby, offering our guests free coffee and tea :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Viking Hotell Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotell Tromso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing