We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and good stay”
Review of Enter Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Enter Viking Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at a 3 bedrooms apartment in March for couple nights. The apartment itself is located at another location rather than the hotel location. Since the road was full of ice, it was kind of difficult for us to walk up and down from the apartment. The apartment is small but with what people needed to stay. Wifi worked perfectly. The only concern was that there was only 1 bathroom for 4 of us to share. But I don't think I should complain about it. It is not too far to all the attraction, tourist information and bus stops. At the hotel, we can use the laundry for free. There is only 1 washer and 1 dryer and it will take you over 3 hours for washing and drying. It opens 24 hours. If you have over 3 people heading to Viking, you should consider taking a taxi instead of the airport bus because it is cheaper and stop in front of Viking. Overall, we had a pleasant stay. Thank you Viking!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorkHardPlayHard2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 478 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Like all my reviews for our Norwegian trip, this review has to acknowledge the cost of Norway.

The hotel is quite basic in terms of its furnishings and decor. Our bathroom had fold-back shower doors to create space. The shower was very good. Breakfast is well catered for and the staff regularly refresh the cold buffet and are polite.

The hotel is well situated in Tromso with all major attractions within easy walking distance. Judging by other reviews the apartments may be the better bet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glennjones14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in an apartment, it was excellent, just as described on the website, we stayed in a two bedroom apartment, it was well equipped with all mod cons and free wifi. It had a jacuzzi, sauna, 60 inch flat screen tv and piped music system in the bathroom.
The whole apartment was well fitted out with good quality furniture and appliances. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had a great stay and Tromso, was a lovely place to visit. We went to see the lights and were lucky enough to see them on two nights. To top off our stay, our daughter and boyfriend got engaged in the artic cathedral, a holiday we will always remember.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert550808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently visited Tromso and enjoyed our stay at the Viking Hotel. The hotel is fairly small and basic, however it is was more than adequate for our needs. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, nice breakfast provided, centrally located, rooms were clean and warm, comfy beds, fridge in the room, clean bathroom with lots of hot water and heated floor. We didn't really have any complaints. If you wish to try save some money during your trip and have more to spend on activities this hotel is one of the best options!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenni_rad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment, there were 3 of us in total. It was small but met our needs (some extra space in the bedroom would have been a bonus because you couldn't walk around the bed). The underfloor heating in the bathroom was a treat (it was a good size too but pity no bath for soaking in after coming in from a cold day or night but he shower had good power & plenty of hot hot water). WIFI worked out for us but note that one of our group is a techy so managed to get it working. Kitchen had good quality utensils, pity no dishwasher though.

Overall a very great choice for a trip to Tromso. The location is perfect (next to supermarket, brewery, Polaria, on right side of town for airport), the staff are professional & available 24 hours.

Areas for improvement: curtains or blackout blinds for bedrooms. Recycling bins.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daubyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just stayed in 2 bed apartment at the Viking Apartments in Tromso. It was nice and clean, everything worked and was comfortable but we were in the lower ground floor with tiny windows - silly me not to ask for a higher floor - which was disappointing seeing as we booked weeks in advance. But if you don't ask you don't get.

Well located,. We stayed there because there were 3 of us which was awkward in a hotel - by far the best option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veeeee321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from my second visit to this hotel, stayed in the same room (thankfully, lovely view to wake up to) service and hotel were just as I had left it the first time, brilliant.

The staff here are the most amazing thing about this hotel, they are so friendly and beyond helpful.

I'll be returning once again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geraldine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enter Backpack Hotel
Enter Backpack Hotel
#16 of 18 in Tromso
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Enter City Hotel
Enter City Hotel
#6 of 18 in Tromso
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#7 of 18 in Tromso
568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enter Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enter Viking Hotel

Address: Groennegata 18-20, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: $87 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Enter Viking Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Hotel and Apartments offers accomodation for any guests in any situations. Single and double hotelrooms in traditional ways that includes a nice breakfast, though in a rather small breakfastarea. New and very popular apartments with 1-4 bedrooms, fully furnished and with kitchens ready to use as you wish (breakfast not included). Free internet access from both hotelrooms and apartments. Our serviceminded staff is always present in the lobby, offering our guests free coffee and tea :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Enter Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotell Tromso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing