We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New modern style hotel in Tromsø”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
GreenLeadersGold level
Moss, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“New modern style hotel in Tromsø”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

New hotel opened May 2014. Nicely placed almost in the ocean and neighbour to the very famous and highly recommended pub and restaurant house Skarven. Has a fantastic seaview and also you can see the snowwhite mountains nearby.
The staff is serviceminded and I will also recommend the restaurant and of course the roof top lunch bar with an even more fantastic view.

Room Tip: High up will give you an even better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hi Erik

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit to The Edge and Tromsø.
We are happy to read your appraisal of our service, restaurant and view :)

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Tromsø.

Please feel free to contact me at marianne.hoybakk@choice.no.

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    481
    110
    32
    22
See reviews for
223
597
81
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bretagne
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel is 5 minutes from the Hurtigruten terminal and thus very convenient. The hotel opened in May 2104 , it is a modern building, 11th floor, no charm but beautiful panorama views once inside, at least from our corner suite! reception can be very busy but on the whole helpful if you need service ( reservation of taxi or restaurant) but this is Norway so don't expect too much! Breakfast buffet is excellent. But why so dark and low ceiling in the restaurant, when most of the time it is grey and dark outside in this part of the world? excellent wifi and fun sky roof bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineBindert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit to The Edge and Tromsø. We are delighted to read your appraisal of our skybar and breakfast.
We always listen to our guests and we appreciate that you are pointing out things we can do better.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Tromsø.

Please feel free to contact me at marianne.hoybakk@choice.no.

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our family reunion party was held at The Edge. Booking rooms went smoothly and the rooms we got were great, clean and tidy. We lived in a suite. The beds were just right. The bathroom was large and the showers were good. Breakfast offer had everything (omeletts, pancakes, all kinds of bread, cereals, juices, vegetables, salads. . The staff were perfect helpers with the event. Only thing to complain about was the main course of the meal. The meat was overcooked :(
Good location, next to a shopping center, restaurants. Bus from the airport is just next by.
Fresh free newspapers from the reception desk. We will stay at this hotel next time in Tromso.

Room Tip: Junior suites give you av view of the Harbor to the north and the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit to The Edge and Tromsø.

We always listen to our guests and we appreciate that you are pointing out things we can do better.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us :)


Best regards,
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
marianne.hoybakk@choice.no
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

this time in tromsø was the special one.a surprice gift to my vife for 35 wonderfull years.
like to try something new,and ended up at the edge..near too the harbour.
the service from all the staff was superb.
special thanks too sebastian at the frontdesk.a serwiceminded person too the topp.
the room--1002 was super.and the wheelchairacsess was also taking care of.

wi will be back.....sometime inn the future.

regards arve and inger marie andersen from bergen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brannmann2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Arve og Inger Marie,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are happy to know that your stay with us was a pleasant experience and that you enjoyed your 35th anniversary. Congratulations :)

Very glad to hear that Sebastian delivered good service and I will make sure that he gets the information.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to us :)

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
marianne.hoybakk@choice.no
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Heading home from work in hammerfest, had to overnight and was booked to Thon but I cancelled after seeing this hotel on the net. Awesome new hotel,right on water.huge modern comfy rooms.brilliant breakfast. Book this you won't be disappointed. There's a roof bar,but I went around the corner of the hotel for supper in the Sun. If I'm overnighting again I'm staying here. Lovely place and friendly staff.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Johnnie,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are happy to know that your stay with us was a pleasant experience and that you enjoyed our hotel and service from staff :)

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
marianne.hoybakk@choice.no
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The rooms at the end of each floor, with wall to wall glass are wonderful. This stylish hotel offers free elaborate breakfasts - the best we had in 3 weeks in Norway. Good location in walking distance to the downtown area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Martinex,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am truly glad you had such positive experience during your stay with us :) We really appreciate this feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Tromsø.


Best regards,
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
marianne.hoybakk@choice.no
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Possibly our favourite hotel in Norway.
Very modern hotel. All the staff were very friendly.
The room was huge, with all the facilities that we could have asked for, and beautiful views
High quality bathroom products, and good selection of teas and coffees in the room.
The bed was very comfortable!
Choice of food at breakfast was also amazing!

Room Tip: Get a room on as high a floor as you can - the views are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit to The Edge and Tromsø. We are delighted to read your appraisal of our rooms, staff and food :)

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Have a great summer!

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel The Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel The Edge

Property: Clarion Hotel The Edge
Address: Kaigata 6, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel The Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2014, this central Tromso hotel is located at the harbour, overlooking Tromso Sound and the Arctic Cathedral. It features free Wi-Fi, modern rooms and on-site dining. Contemporary furnishings are featured in all rooms at Clarion Hotel The Edge, as well as a large flat-screen TV and desk. The bathrooms include a shower and hairdryer. Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson restaurant serves New York-style dishes made from local ingredients. Guests can book access to a nearby gym. Polaria Aquarium and the 19th-century wooden Tromso Cathedral are both within 300 metres of the hotel. Tromso Airport is 6 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel The Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing