We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Central Tromso”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AMI Hotel Tromso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AMI Hotel Tromso
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstone, Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Central Tromso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights for a last minute birthday trip. The hotel itself is just above a park and we arrived to snow and winter darkness even though it was only 3pm and the view from the hotel which was revealed the next day is great.

The hotel stay was for bed and breakfast and there was cereal, bread, cheese, waffles, hard boiled eggs. The hotel also does has a free tea, coffee and chocolate machine in the guests kitchen which was really good.

The good thing about this hotel was the guest kitchen which we used whilst in Tromso to cut down on the cost of eating out. The lounge and dinning area made it a very sociable meeting place and we met people from around the world. Here we swapped trip advice and sightseeing info etc ... This style of hotel would be good if you were travelling on your own and in fact several people staying were doing just that.

We hope to go back again and consider this hotel a really good find.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodlandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    104
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
31
72
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

Thank goodness there is a reasonably priced accomm option in Tromso!! We stayed one night in a double room with shared bathroom and had a great stay.

The room was clean & spacious and even had a sink, tv & fridge! Our shared bathroom was clean & i never had to wait to use the toilet or shower. Breakfast was good & the kitchen had plenty of gear but only one stove so you may have a short wait at peak times. There were free hot drinks all day - yummy hot chocs.

Location is also very good. The hotel is up a hill but the path was well gritted so we had no problems with the ice & snow even when carrying our big packs.

I also stayed at City Living for a couple of nights (excellent but more expensive) however I would recommend saving your money and going with AMI instead.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mir222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed there for 5nights and found it was very basic and simple but
comfortable.Since in Norway,everything is so expensive that we sometimes cooked there.The breakfast was good,they even offererd free hot drink (coffee,tea,chocolate...)all day.There was a slope just in front of the hotel,kids enjoyed sliding on the snow with sledge(I don't know what it is called) which you can borrow from hotel .We went Tromso to see northan light.We joined tour and although aurora activity forecast said that acvivity was very quiet ,we had a chance to watch it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed there for two nights just before New Year and enjoyed our stay very much. The location of the hotel as well as the whole "concept" is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveliina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed here with a family group of adults for a long weekend when we hoped to see the Northern Lights. The Hotel used to be a training school and is well organised to make the stay as easy as possible for travellers. The rooms vary, ours was small and cramped but others were bigger. No matter really 'cos all we did in our rooms was sleep and get dressed etc. The main thing is they were clean and warm. Downstairs the communal areas included a comfy lounge with TV and internet, an adjoining dinng area and use of an extremely well equippped kitchen. Eating out is very expensive here so we were pleased to be able to buy pasta and stuff from the local store and get a decent meal every day without breaking the bank. The location couldn;t be better, town centre was a 5 minute walk away and being on top of a hill the views are good. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was great with travellers chatting to each other and passing on tips about what to do, where to go etc. We tried two trips for the Northern Lights. We didn't rate the Northern Lights Bus at all. We felt cheated 'cos the driver made it obvious he didn't expect to see the lights that night yet didn't call it off and refund our money. So we paid £65 each to sit on a bus for a 4 hour round trip. When we got to our destiantion we got off the bus and stood for less than 20 minutes before he said no lights tonight, time to go. We didn't even get the promised hot drink and biscuits! None of the 16 passengers that night were impressed. Two nights later we tried the (www.lyngsfjord.com) dog sledding trip. It was amazing fun and the Northern Lights showed themselves to us at the end of a fantastic adrenalin fuelled ride. The Samis looked after us and fed us and gave us a night to remember for the rest of our lives. Worth every penny. Don't miss the cable car, spectacular views at the top.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Highastan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutendaal, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

Stayed at this hotel when I participated at the Midnight Sun Marathon. Nice, cosy and simple hotel. I very much liked the free WiFi and hotel computer. Only when walking on the floor it was very noisy and the walls were not that thick. The staff was really friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank smartens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darvel, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of January and had a great time. Bedrooms, shower room & toilets were always clean. The view from the hotel was fantastic as it was up the hill from the main town centre. A very nice touch was you can take in your own food to cook, as you have use of the kitchen with all the utensils, cutlery & crockery. The also provide tea/coffee or juice with bread, cheeses & jams throughtout the day and only charge a small fee should you feel a bit peckish. If I ever return to Tromso (which I hope I will) I would def stay at the AMI again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orcamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#14 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMI Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMI Hotel Tromso

Property: AMI Hotel Tromso
Address: Skolegata 24, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AMI Hotel Tromso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel with reasonable prices and views. Quiet neighborhood in the city center. Single, double and family rooms with shared and privat bathrooms, breakfast included. Ideal for travelers that want affordable accommodation. Cooking facilities in common kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your AMI Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ami Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing