We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, Clean accomodations”
Review of AMI Hotel Tromso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMI Hotel Tromso
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

AMI was a great value for the money (especially in expensive Norway). The room was nice and clean. Our room had a shared bathroom and shower, but a sink in the room. We were on the 4th floor (no elevator) and the roof line definitely made the room smaller (tall people beware). But the view was good. We didn't spend much time in the room, so it was good for us, but there's not a whole lot "hanging out" space in the room. There's a quiet lounge/tv/computer on the 4th floor that I didn't see anyone use during our 4 day stay in Tromso. There is free wifi in the hotel and our room had a small refrigerator. There was a sprinkler head about 18 inches above the pillow of one of the twin beds in the room, which I thought was a curious location.
The breakfast was simple, but adequate (bread, hard boiled eggs, jam/jelly, cold cuts/cheese). The staff was friendly.
The hotel is pretty centrally located and walking distance to everything to do in Tromso. Downtown is a 5-7 minute walk. It is at the top of a hill, which can be a bit of a workout after a day of walking around. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor has nice views, although the roof line effects the size of the room. If you're tall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeneralCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 221 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you like individual, characterful hotels without the international uniformity of the chains, then you will probably enjoy the AMI. The location is very good, although you will benefit from spikes on the bottom of your shoes in icy conditions to ascend and descend the path through the park in front of the hotel. The view over Tromso from our rooms was stunning, although the room itself was not spacious. It did have a fridge though, and we could have saved some money by making use of the cooking facilities in the guest kitchen. We didn't, but this is a big plus of this type of hotel where the atmosphere is informal and friendly, where people talk to one another in the sitting/dining room. The copious buffet breakfast was excellent. This is a really good value hotel with character.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorindaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Me and my brother stayed at AMI a week or so ago and I thought it was so fab that I decided to write my first ever Tripadvisor review in order to spread the word to anyone planning a visit to Tromso in the future and as a thank you to all the previous reviews for helping me make the right call!

First of all, It's excellent value for money (certainly by Norwegian standards! Roughly £45 per person per night...) and the rooms are very clean, bright, tidy and snug - much bigger and less sterile than some hotels you would get in the UK.

The BIG bonus is there is a kind of hostel-like set up downstairs, with a communal living area and a kitchen you can knock up your own food in (saving ££££) and FREE tea and coffee/hot chocolate 24/7!

Also, they serve up a big buffet breakfast included in the room cost, with a little treat such as home-made cake popping up on the table here and there - and any leftovers from breakfast are sometimes left in the fridge for people to take later on if they fancy it.

Location wise, it is very central, you are just up the hill from the "main throng" of Tromso (which is basically one pedestrianised street..) and you just walk - or use the free sledges from the hotel ;) - to get down the slope and into town, everything is within easy walking distance.

Finally, the service from the staff was top draw - all of them were ever so friendly and helpful with everything from tour bookings to local info on the weather and ideas for where to eat and drink cheaply - especially Sandra who was a real star, with some superb tips and help which made our stay even better!

We had mixed fortunes with the lights and are planning to go back to Tromso again in the future to have another crack at them and I can 100% guarantee that we will be staying at AMI again when we do!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I spent 8 night (from 25. February) in AMI Hotel, Tromsö There is no luxus here, but it is just great and very practic for tourist. This little hotel is the best what a simple tourist can find in Tromsö. The hotel is clean and comfortable, and has a nice view to the city. The stuff is friendly and helpful.
What you can need in Tromsö, everything is available in walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Péter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the Ami Hotel in Tromso where we hoped to see the Northern Lights. The Ami is clean and comfortable. We stayed in the attic whose window provided a fantastic view over the town and the cathedral over the water. The main advantage of the Ami Hotel to us was that we were able to cook our own food, which in an expensive country like Norway and on a limited budget was very useful indeed. The facilities are great, the bedrooms have a fridge and the kitchen is well equipped and next to the dining room where we ate the meals we produced. A great breakfast was provided by the hotel every morning which was plentiful, boiled eggs, cheese, cold meats, bread, fruit and orange juice etc.
Free coffee and chocolate, or tea, were also available all day. The dining room also had a TV and Internet access, where each evening guests could check electro-magnetic activity to gauge the possibility of seeing the Northern Lights and share their expereinces / photographs with other guests.
The hotel was very well run and always kept clean and tidy.
Bedrooms were available with their own bathroom, or with shared facilities.
The hotel is on top of a hill over looking the town, only a short walk, but quite steep for anyone who has difficulty with hills, especially on icy pavements.
Unfortunately the Northern lights didn't make much of an appearance while we were there due to cloud cover, but we had a lovely holiday just the same, in this very beautiful country and in this warm and hospitable hotel. We will definitely stay there again, on our next quest to see the Northern Lights!

Room Tip: We loved the room on the left in the attic, but there is no lift so you need to be fit. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nest T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We found this place using Trip Advisor, and we couldn't be happier. We're in room 42 which offers a great view of the city, mountains, and fjords. Plus it's on the top floor so no one trampling on top of you. The place is clean, our room is great (complete with sink, fridge, couple nice black chairs, single bed, queen bed, t.v. and a great view). So if you don't mind the hostel atmosphere, this is a great, clean place to spend a couple of nights (a bit outdated if anything, but clean which is always a good thig!). Plus you can't beat the price!!

Room Tip: Top floor was a hit with us. Great views!! #42
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ggeewwllss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Situated in the centre of Tromsø, 5 minutes walking from the pedestrian street and most of the restaurants. It's next to a little park in a quiet street.
It's a budget guesthouse, so don't expect any luxury. Rooms are kind of basic, but clean and having everything one needs.
Downstairs in the common area you find a kitchen guests can use. Breakfast buffet is pretty good.
Good value (for Norway)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR0TTAMUND0S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enter Backpack Hotel
Enter Backpack Hotel
#17 of 18 in Tromso
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#8 of 18 in Tromso
531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.3 mi away
Enter Amalie Hotel
Enter Amalie Hotel
#14 of 18 in Tromso
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMI Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMI Hotel Tromso

Address: Skolegata 24, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: $75 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AMI Hotel Tromso 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel with reasonable prices and views. Quiet neighborhood in the city center. Single, double and family rooms with shared and privat bathrooms, breakfast included. Ideal for travelers that want affordable accommodation. Cooking facilities in common kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your AMI Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ami Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing