We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smarthotel Tromso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smarthotel Tromso
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Tromso
Nottingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We came to Tromso for some of us to take part in the Midnight Sun half marathon. The Smart hotel was the cheapest we could find. It is great. I really don't understand what previous reviewers are complaining about, this hotel never pretends to be anything other than what it is. Yes the rooms are small but they have everything you need. The beds are really comfortable and there are really good black out curtains to keep out the midnight sun. Showers are great and the tv's have programmes to please just about everyone.
Breakfast at around £9.50 each is very good value considering prices in Norway (everything is SO expensive to british tourists). The only gripe I have is that they say breakfast is served until 10 am but once certain items got used up they weren't replaced even though there was half an hour or more of breakfast service left, so the choice became a bit sparse, that was disappointing.
Staff were great and very helpful and friendly and the lobby was a great meeting area where coffee, tea, fresh water and fruit juices were available and as far as we could make out, free.
We would absolutely return to the Smart Hotel in Tromso and are hoping to get back there in January.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilianBakersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    122
    69
    16
    3
See reviews for
17
104
64
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Do not be big or tall...
Then it is ok. Our bed was quite small for two.
Location is great. Center but quite.
Ideal for the marathon run.
A good deal compared to other hotels where you pay ridicoulous prices.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joerg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We needed a place to stay for a night and chose Smart Hotel. Now we've concluded that it might not have been that smart after all. We could have spent about 200 NOK more and have breakfast included and most certainly two blankets instead of fighting over the small one we got.
In other towns it might be a good idea to choose Smart Hotel, based on the price compared to other hotels, in our opinion this is not the case in Tromsø

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Western Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel room was very small but given Norway is very expensive it was good value for money.
The bed was comfortable but a bit of a challenge for the person on the far side if they needed to get up in the night. The bathroom was clean. There is a good sized lift and a luggage room. The decoration of the room is minimal, the walls are the concrete tilt slabs and they have sayings on them, like all walls seem to throughout the hotel. The staff were friendly. The hotel is close to eating places. There is a breakfast room but we did not use it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The rooms are very small, but the price is great, same as the breakfast. The location is also good. My only complaint would be that on my first night, a drunk chap was trying to get into my room and there are no phones in the rooms to call reception!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The good:
- clean rooms
- good position (although that's quite easy in Tromso)
- nice staff

The bad:
- too minimalist
- rooms far too small (had to step over the luggage to get to the bed)
- no wardrobe (need to keep everything in the luggage)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just the facts;
-We chose to stay here as we were only looking for a place to stay in between a tour and a flight that morning.
-I booked for one night via Expedia.
-I was charged approximately 3 times the rate.
-I was quickly contacted by the hotel to confirm their mistake, requesting bank details to refund the money.
-Two weeks later, and a couple of enquiring emails, my money reappeared in my account, finance only refund once a week apparently.
-Upon arrival to the hotel we were upgraded to a executive room due to the error, on their initiative.
-We found a former inhabitants supplies in the bathroom.
Summary
Well my relationship with Smarthotel didn't really work out as either of us would have liked. Things got messed up and no matter how they tried to fix it, well, it never really got better. I see, sadly, that this isn't the first time smarthotel Tromso have messed things up along the same lines. Sadly that isn't going to look good in the reviews, but, well, it's just what happened. I guess it was always destined to be just a one night stand.
I for one did like the motif though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driver x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.5 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 19 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
ABC Hotell
ABC Hotell
#17 of 19 in Tromso
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#5 of 19 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smarthotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smarthotel Tromso

Property: Smarthotel Tromso
Address: Vestregata 6, Tromso, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smarthotel Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Tromsø, this hotel is just 200 metres from Storgata shopping street. It offers brightly decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi access and a flat-screen TV. All rooms at Smarthotel Tromsø have Dux beds, a work desk and a private bathroom with shower. Light dishes like sandwiches and salads are available in the lobby shop. Tromsø Smarthotel offers an ironing service and a 24-hour reception. The Hurtigruten Terminal and Polaria Aquarium are both 8 minutes’ walk away. The Polar Museum is 800 metres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Smarthotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing