We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and cosy”
Review of Coffee by Elli - CLOSED

Coffee by Elli
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Good coffee and homemade cakes. Nice atmosphere. We accept orders on cakes and bakery.
sydney
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Cute and cosy”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

In an expensive part of an expensive Country where none of the restaurants on offer look particularly nice, it was by chance we stumbled out of the cold and into Elli's. It was loverly to be warmly greeted by her and get the very personal service and attention in her cafe. You can see its her little business and she is going a great job. Whilst nothing super special, the bagel and Coffee I had was nice and probably better than most alternatives in Tromso. The cafe is warm and cute inside and the kind of place you'd like to spend a few hours with a book and a good coffee. I also liked how she was physically mixing ingredients for one of her cakes whilst we were in there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrrplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Dry, boring bagels and poor selection. I had high hopes for this cafe but left disappointed. On the plus side, the staff is very nice and the little cafe has a cosy atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sture A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Cosy cafe, tasty cakes”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Coffee by Elli is small, but very personal place. Elli makes everything herself, she is always smiling and gives the place a touch of beeing at her place. This is the place for a quick stop, reading, socializing with a friend or two (space is limited) or just watching people passing by. The cakes, bagels and food is very tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lile_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb coffee”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have a coffee business, and the coffee by Elli was sublime. Make your way there for a wonderful cup of coffee, and meet the people....was worth the trip there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank charleshaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NordNorge
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great taste! My new favourite”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Coffee by Elli is a small and intimate coffeehouse squeezed between to others shop and if you don't look for it, you'll probably miss it. And you really shouldn't!
The cakes are all homemade and absolutely divine! The owners are so nice and the atmosphere is laidback and with goodfeel. The prices are very good too, and you get a lot for the money!
Next time you're looking for a relaxing break, go to Coffee by Elli!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelExplorePassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee by Elli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing