We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“African food in Norway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afrika Oase

Afrika Oase
Ranked #83 of 110 Restaurants in Tromso
Cuisines: African, European, Grill, Scandinavian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“African food in Norway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This african restaurant was a nice experience. We had the chance to speak in french with the lady (she comes from Rwanda) and had a really good dinner. Food was really good and they serve multiple type of juice. Prices are okay for Norway, specially if you keep in mind all the products used for the food that aren't so Norwegian! The restaurant is in a nice house and the general ambiance was good. Is it located next to the Polar Museum.

Note that international card aren't accepted.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank b-noy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exotic experience above the arctic circle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have visited the Afrika Oase in July and we had a great time. The host let us taste a few African juices and they were delicious. The food was also very good.
The kitchen is just a few meters away from the dining room and you can see everything is cooked like we were guests at their house.
The woman that runs the place was both waitress and chef for that night so it took a little longer than normal to get served, but it was certainly worth the wait!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank torcedor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“NO lutefisk here...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Lol, They might have it, but we recommend you try the wonderful African food. It is worth the visit. It is a nice place to visit while there...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank charleshaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Welcoming venue, with excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Having been on the Tromso Diet (breakfast in the morning and then just snacks later on) I was really looking forward to a hot meal but I needed it to be good. I was a bit nervous, I have had some strange African dining experiences in the past - with places shut at random times, unskilled staff and unbalanced meals. Checked it out on Sunday as we were passing and while there was a sign outside advertising hours and was only giving it an 80% chance of being open.

We walked around Prestvannet and back into town and then to the restaurant, I told my partner that if it wasn't warm we'd go somewhere else. We went through the door of the traditional Norewegian building to find a warm cosy interior with the embers of dying fire.

The friendly patronne, from Rwanda, revived the fire with a few more logs and bought us the menus. So far so good. We chose from the menu and then she came back with tasting samples of all the African fruit juices on the menu. The starters we had ordered arrived beautifully presented on large oversized pasta bowls. Local ingredients were paired with home made African sauces and the combination worked briliantly. It was not as fiery as some African food I have eaten but after a diet of cold food it really hit the spot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sevif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
300 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fantastic Buffet spread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Having booked a buffet for 7 people in advance, we were extremely satisfied to have gone to eat here. There was so much food that even with seconds and thirds, we were unable to finish it. Using local products mixed with african sides and spices, Afrika Oase gave us something great and out of the ordinary, especially this far north. Separate from the buffet, the tropical juices are not to miss, with almost a dozen to choose between, as well as a hefty variety of imported and norwegian craft beers. Finally, the desert, a bigne' with ice cream was probably the best thing we ate the whole night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank oddholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afrika Oase also viewed

 

Been to Afrika Oase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing