We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the harbour but average food”

Kaia Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 141 Restaurants in Tromso
Cuisines: Norwegian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 23, 2019

The best aspect of this place is undoubtedly the view. I had a window seat and a lovely view of the harbour. At twilight, the light changed dramatically and was really striking (blue/grey).
The food I have to say is just okay though. I had the Arctic fish and chips and, given the location, I really expected the fish to be better. As it was, it was okay but it lacked flavour. I did like the cone it came in though - nice presentation. The chips were rather tastless and overcooked (a bit brown). The coleslaw was a bit weird too and tasted a bit like yoghurt. The salad was a salad. It wasn't bad. It was perfectly reasonable and a big portion but it was nothing special.
The staff seemed fine. The menu is quite small but that's okay. It's nice enough inside, especially by the window. I guess I was a bit underwhelmed but it wasn't a bad experience really.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank violet339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 617 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2019

Excellent restaurant with a splendid view of the harbor. Menu with really good Norwegian specialties. Friendly and helpful staff. Lower price than other rooms. Excellent craft beer.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EdmondDantesNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

Nice food served in this quayside restaurant, some of the servers were very good whilst others did their best to ignore you. Both the fish and chips & the reindeer burger was very tasty.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank OldGuysStillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

Good wholesome food.
Welcoming, friendly service
Great location overlooking the harbour
Great find
Highly recommended

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank missi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2019 via mobile

We tried the salmon and cod fish and burgers, they were all delicious. The beers are great also.
You can enjoy the fantastic view in the outdoor seating.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank taraneh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaia Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Tromso, Troms
Tromso, Troms
 

Been to Kaia Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing