We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy nice place with delicious local dishes ”

Kaia Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 141 Restaurants in Tromso
Cuisines: Norwegian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 22, 2019 via mobile

We tried the salmon and cod fish and burgers, they were all delicious. The beers are great also.
You can enjoy the fantastic view in the outdoor seating.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank taraneh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 617 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2019

We went twice and ate well both times himself had reindeer I had fish. It was nice to sit and watch the sea service great food delicious

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Angellous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

We dined at Kaia on a Tuesday evening, and both had fish and chips. The batter on the fish tasted strongly of old cooking oil. Service was very slow despite the restaurant being half full. That sums up a disappointing experience - try somewhere else.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WilliNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019

This restaurant and bar was unexpectedly excellent. It may not look as glamorous from the outside as the surrounding restaurants but don't be put off.
It was really busy when we entered but they offered us a drink and a seat at the piano to wait. About half a drink later, we had a table by the window with a lovely view of the fjord.
The restaurant was very clean, service was exceptional and a good selection of dishes and drinks to choose from.
We ordered the marinated crab, fish soup, fish & chips, baccalau and the apple cake for dessert. All were well cooked and tasty. The bill was also moderately priced for Norway.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Thefoodandwinecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

This is a relaxed restaurant on the harbour front. Suitable for drinks or a meal, the location offers pleasant views. The staff were friendly and there was a good selection of beers and spirits. The menu was simple but the dishes tasty. I had a reindeer stew with mashed potatoes and vegetables followed by an apple cake dessert. The prices are typical of the area. Worth a visit.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank PeterSa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaia Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Tromso, Troms
Tromso, Troms
 

Been to Kaia Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing